Picture of author.
58+ Works 1,072 Membros 64 Críticas

About the Author

David Bowles stitches together the fragmented mythology of pre-Colombian Mexico into an exciting, unified narrative in the tradition of William Buck's Ramayana, Robert Fagles' Iliad, and Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology.

Includes the name: David Bowles

Image credit: By Larry D. Moore, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=74450975

Séries

Obras por David Bowles

My Two Border Towns (2021) 155 exemplares
Ancient Night (2023) 48 exemplares
Spring House (2006) 38 exemplares
The Prince and the Coyote (2023) 30 exemplares
Secret of the Moon Conch (2023) 18 exemplares
Lords Of The Earth: A Kaiju Novel (2016) 17 exemplares
A Kingdom Beneath the Waves (2016) 6 exemplares
The Blue-Spangled Blue (2009) 5 exemplares
Chupacabra Vengeance (2017) 5 exemplares
Adam's Daughters (2009) 4 exemplares
Kinal's Trek 3 exemplares
The Hidden City (Garza Twins) (2018) 3 exemplares
Hearts of Fire and Snow (2024) 2 exemplares
El espejo humeante (2022) 1 exemplar
The Rising Red (2012) 1 exemplar
Shattering and Bricolage (2018) 1 exemplar

Associated Works

Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms & Space (2022) — Contribuidor — 136 exemplares
The Other F Word: A Celebration of the Fat and Fierce (2019) — Contribuidor — 109 exemplares
The Sea-Ringed World: Sacred Stories of the Americas (2021) — Tradutor, algumas edições98 exemplares
Living Beyond Borders: Growing up Mexican in America (2021) — Contribuidor — 73 exemplares
Relit: 16 Latinx Remixes of Classic Stories (2024) — Contribuidor — 21 exemplares
Where the Veil Is Thin (2020) — Contribuidor — 19 exemplares
The Immortal Boy (2021) — Tradutor, algumas edições16 exemplares
Both Sides: Stories from the Border (2020) — Contribuidor — 12 exemplares
Apex Magazine 72 (May 2015) (2015) — Contribuidor — 4 exemplares
The Dark #047: April 2019 (2019) — Tradutor — 3 exemplares
Undead: A Poetry Anthology of Ghosts, Ghouls, and More (2018) — Contribuidor — 3 exemplares

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Sexo
male
Nacionalidade
USA
País (no mapa)
USA

Membros

Críticas

Gr 1–3—In a wistful and generous book, a boy and his father travel between two countries; readers learn firsthand
what borders do to families and livelihoods. This is a work meant to ignite conversations.
 
Assinalado
BackstoryBooks | 12 outras críticas | Apr 1, 2024 |
This is historical fiction you can really sink your teeth into. Nezahualcoyotl was king of Texcoco in later life but the book details his adolescence; there was much war and his father was killed so the young prince fled into the wilderness where he befriended a coyote. When he returns to civilization he’s taken in by a farmer and his family, falling in love with the daughter. Eventually, he reunites with his extended family and wins his way back to power. The tone is semi-mythological, Neza being presented as a multi-talented young man who is beloved by his people. It’s quite beautifully told and the poetry he wrote is worked into the narrative.

My only complaint about the book relates to the supplemental materials, the notes are clumped by chapter at the back but not tracked to specific pages nor arranged in a way that would make them easy to reference.
… (mais)
½
 
Assinalado
fionaanne | Mar 21, 2024 |
1.This book would be good for all ages.
2.This book starts with a boy and his dad on one side of the border then they visit their family on the other side each Saturday and it shows what their life is like and the kid begins to wonder why they cant just live on the other side of the border. His father explains to him that it doesn't work like that.
3.I would recommend this book to older elementary school level kids to help explain culture and different struggles that families go through. If you gave it a younger kid it might be hard for them to follow.… (mais)
 
Assinalado
Jennamh8 | 12 outras críticas | Feb 7, 2024 |
 
Assinalado
TaylorOnyx | 12 outras críticas | Dec 3, 2023 |

Listas

Prémios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
58
Also by
15
Membros
1,072
Popularidade
#23,987
Avaliação
4.0
Críticas
64
ISBN
136
Línguas
2

Tabelas & Gráficos