Picture of author.

Emily Brightwell

Autor(a) de The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries

67+ Works 4,863 Membros 185 Críticas 7 Favorited

About the Author

Emily Brightwell is the pen name of Cheryl Arguile. She is the author of all 26 published titles in her Victorian murder mystery series, The Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries. Mrs. Jeffries and the Yuletide Weddings is her most recent addition to that series. The hardcover edition was was published in mostrar mais November 2009. Ms. Arguile was born in West Virginia. She has two children, Matthew and Amanda, who are now grown. She lives with her husband, and a black cat called "Kiwi". (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Disambiguation Notice:

(eng) Cheryl Lanham Arguile writes as her maiden name, Cheryl Lanham, and under the pseudonyms of Sarah Temple and Emily Brightwell.

Image credit: Emily Brightwell


Obras por Emily Brightwell

The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries (1993) 339 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade (2005) 161 exemplares
Mrs Jeffries Dusts for Clues (1993) 146 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Sweeps the Chimney (2004) 134 exemplares
The Ghost and Mrs. Jeffries (1993) 133 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Appeals the Verdict (2006) 131 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Holds the Trump (2008) 130 exemplares
Mrs Jeffries Stalks the Hunter (2004) 129 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Pleads Her Case (2003) 128 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries in the Nick of Time (2009) 127 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Forges Ahead (2011) 114 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Takes the Stage (1997) 110 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Pinches the Post (2001) 109 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries on the Trail (1995) 107 exemplares
Mrs Jeffries Takes the Cake (1998) 106 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Speaks Her Mind (2010) 105 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Plays the Cook (1995) 101 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Defends Her Own (2012) 87 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Rights a Wrong (2017) 55 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries and the Alms of the Angel (2019) — Autor — 54 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Delivers the Goods (2019) 52 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Takes a Second Look (2012) 48 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Takes Tea at Three (2013) 45 exemplares
Mrs Jeffries Pleads the Fifth (2014) 43 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Sallies Forth (2013) 39 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Serves at Six (2015) 27 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries Serves Two (2007) 26 exemplares
Prime Crime Holiday Bundle (2010) — Contribuidor — 24 exemplares
Remember Me (1996) 22 exemplares
Mrs Jeffries Aims to Win (2023) 13 exemplares
No Guarantees (1997) 12 exemplares
The Liberation of Layla (1992) 7 exemplares
Dying Young (2000) 7 exemplares
Lifeline (1991) 6 exemplares
Good Intentions (1998) 6 exemplares
Fighting Back (2000) 5 exemplares
Second Best (1996) 4 exemplares
Kindred Spirits (1990) 2 exemplares
Mrs. Jeffries 1 exemplar

Associated Works

Secret Loves (1994) — Contribuidor — 11 exemplares


Conhecimento Comum

Nome legal
Arguile, Cheryl Ann Lanham
Outros nomes
Temple, Sarah
Brightwell, Emily
Lanham, Cheryl
Data de nascimento
Local de nascimento
Richwood, West Virginia, USA
Locais de residência
Richwood, West Virginia, USA
Pasadena, California, USA
England, UK
California State University, Fullerton
Romance Writers of America

Fatal error: Call to undefined function isLitsy() in /var/www/html/inc_magicDB.php on line 425
Cheryl Lanham was born on 11 October 1948 in the Appalachian mountains of West Virginia, USA. Her family moved to Southern California in 1959 and she grew up in Pasadena. After graduating from California State University, she decided to work her way around the world and took off for England. She didn’t get much further because she met Richard James Arguile, the Englishman who became her husband, got married on May 1976, and had two children, Matthew and Amanda. While working in international shipping, she decided to pursue her dream and become a writer – which, of course, is the best job ever. She has written romance novels as Sarah Temple, and Young Adult novels as Cheryl Lanham. As Emily Brightwell, she is the author of the “Mrs. Jeffries” mysteries.

Cheryl Lanham Arguile returned to California, where she lives with her husband and a cranky old cat named Kiwi.
Nota de desambiguação
Cheryl Lanham Arguile writes as her maiden name, Cheryl Lanham, and under the pseudonyms of Sarah Temple and Emily Brightwell.



Book number five in the Victorian Mystery series starring Inspector Gerald Witherspoon and his very capable housekeeper, Mrs Jeffries.

When Inspector Witherspoon agrees to escort Lady Cannonberry to the ball being held at the home of Lucinda Marlowe he doesn’t expect that one of the guests will be murdered right in front of him. Of course, this means that he is the chief investigator, and that his household staff (along with Constable Barnes) will be assisting him, ever so tactfully of course. Victorian London is certainly a hotbed of crime but Mrs Jeffries and her staff are more than up to the task of ferreting out the information to make the Inspector look good when he solves the murder.

This time Mrs Jeffries and the rest of the staff have to also manage their “behind the scenes” investigation while evading Inspector Witherspoon’s cousin, Mrs Livingston-Graves, who is visiting (along with her demon cat). Their efforts to get her out of the way are almost more entertaining than the investigation itself.
… (mais)
BookConcierge | 3 outras críticas | Feb 12, 2024 |
I've had this on my shelf since 2005. A Victorian holiday mystery: when Sir George Braxton is found face down in a frozen pond with his head bashed in, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to solve the case. Only the help of his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, and her staff will allow the inspector to have a peaceful Christmas. A fast and fun read along the lines of a Christie mystery. I may now have to read all of them.
crabbyabbe | 4 outras críticas | Dec 21, 2023 |
Mrs. Jeffries is Inspector Witherspoon’s housekeeper. Witherspoon is currently one of the most successful crime solvers at Scotland Yard. Mrs. Jeffries is the secret weapon behind Witherspoon’s success. So secret that even Witherspoon doesn’t know it!

It’s Christmas, but that doesn’t mean murders stop.

Orlando Edison is a stockbroker dealing in mining ventures and is well known among the “upper crust.” Shortly before Christmas, Edison is found murdered and Witherspoon is given the case.

Even though Mrs. Jeffries and the house staff need to get all preparations done in time for Christmas, they also know Witherspoon will need their assistance.

Between the staff’s ability to gather information from the other household staffs, to investigate and gather information from others in a casual way without their contacts being aware, and Mrs. Jeffries’ filtering it to Witherspoon without him realizing it, the case should be solved before Christmas…they hope.

A fun, cozy series that takes place in Victorian England, with a cast of characters that each have their strengths and secrets, and a plot that keeps moving.
… (mais)
ChazziFrazz | 6 outras críticas | Oct 9, 2023 |


You May Also Like

Associated Authors


Also by
½ 3.7
Marcado como favorito

Tabelas & Gráficos