Picture of author.

Stephanie Burgis

Autor(a) de Kat, Incorrigible

62+ Works 2,239 Membros 193 Críticas 2 Favorited

About the Author

Image credit: Author photo from official website https://www.stephanieburgis.com/about-me/

Séries

Obras por Stephanie Burgis

Kat, Incorrigible (2010) 465 exemplares
The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart (2017) 272 exemplares
Snowspelled (2017) 202 exemplares
Renegade Magic (2011) 158 exemplares
Stolen Magic (2012) 125 exemplares
Masks and Shadows (2016) 112 exemplares
The Girl with the Dragon Heart (2018) 89 exemplares
Scales and Sensibility (2021) 78 exemplares
Thornbound (2019) 70 exemplares
Moontangled (2020) 63 exemplares
Spellswept (2018) 56 exemplares
Congress of Secrets (2016) 49 exemplares
The Raven Heir (2021) 45 exemplares
Courting Magic (2014) 40 exemplares
The Underwater Ballroom Society (2018) — Editor — 40 exemplares
Frostgilded (2020) 30 exemplares
Claws and Contrivances (2023) 24 exemplares
Dueling Magics (2013) 23 exemplares
Touchstones: A Collection (2022) 21 exemplares
Spellcloaked (2021) 15 exemplares
The Art of Deception (2016) 15 exemplares
The Wrong Foot (2018) 12 exemplares
A Most Improper Boxed Set (2014) 12 exemplares
Undead Philosophy 101 (2012) 11 exemplares
Dangerous Flames 10 exemplares
House of Secrets (2016) 10 exemplares
Flying Magic (2016) 9 exemplares
Forbidden Magic (2017) 7 exemplares
Some Girlfriends Can (2004) 7 exemplares
Olivia, Invisible (2019) 5 exemplares
Futuristica: Volume 1 (2016) — Contribuidor — 5 exemplares
Shadow Duet (2017) 4 exemplares
Giant 4 exemplares
The Raven Throne (2023) 3 exemplares
Deadly Courtesies (2020) 3 exemplares
Fine Deceptions (2020) 3 exemplares
Fierce Company 3 exemplares
Locked Doors 2 exemplares
Spells for Home 1 exemplar
Foxwoman 1 exemplar
Crow 1 exemplar
Behind the Rules 1 exemplar
Accident of Birth 1 exemplar
Girl in Boots 1 exemplar

Associated Works

Running with the Pack (2010) — Contribuidor — 149 exemplares
Unidentified Funny Objects (1880) — Contribuidor — 90 exemplares
Willful Impropriety: 13 Tales of Society, Scandal, and Romance (2012) — Contribuidor — 82 exemplares
Bewere the Night (2011) — Contribuidor — 77 exemplares
Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E. Butler (2017) — Contribuidor — 57 exemplares
Letters to Tiptree (2015) — Contribuidor — 54 exemplares
The Lone Star Stories Reader (2008) — Contribuidor — 23 exemplares
Future Bristol (2009) — Contribuidor — 21 exemplares
Jabberwocky (2006) — Contribuidor — 11 exemplares
Belong (2010) — Contribuidor — 8 exemplares
Insert Title Here (2015) — Contribuidor — 6 exemplares
Wicked Women (2014) — Contribuidor — 6 exemplares
Beneath Ceaseless Skies Issue #166 (2015) — Contribuidor — 6 exemplares
Wax & Wane: A Gathering of Witch Tales (2016) — Contribuidor — 4 exemplares
Beneath Ceaseless Skies Issue #210 (2016) — Contribuidor — 2 exemplares
BSFA Awards 2021: Awards Booklet (2022) — Contribuidor — 2 exemplares
Daily Science Fiction: February 2020 — Contribuidor — 1 exemplar
Daily Science Fiction: May 2014 (2014) — Contribuidor — 1 exemplar

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Nome canónico
Burgis, Stephanie
Data de nascimento
1977
Sexo
female
Nacionalidade
USA
UK
Local de nascimento
East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Locais de residência
Wales, UK
Educação
Clarion West (2001)
Ocupações
fantasy writer
Relações
Samphire, Patrick (husband)
Organizações
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America

Membros

Críticas

"For God’s sake, is no one in this household available to bring me a cup of tea when I ring for it? Have I hired you all to do nothing?"
 
Assinalado
Jon_Hansen | 9 outras críticas | Mar 4, 2024 |
{stand-alone/ omnibus Good Neighbours 1-4; fantasy, magic, necromancy, romance, light & fun}(2022)

Told in the first person, this is a collection of short series about Mia (who has metallurgical powers, hitherto unknown in this world) who lives, with her dad, next door to the unfairly attractive, outrageous necromancer Leander Fabian. A light and fun fantasy romance.

This reads as obviously a collection rather than a novel even though the chapters follow a timeline because information is reintroduced at the beginning of chapters. In spite of that, it works fairly well as one narrative, which is how I read it; usually I rate individual stories in a collection individually and then average out for the book but I'm rating this one as one story.

1- Good Neighbours

Mia and her father have, despite the friendly warnings from the locals who are suspicious of spellcrafters (not realising that Mia has magical powers), recently moved next door to a necromancer's castle. But Mia has secrets of her own and is happy to leave her neighbour alone and be left alone - until he sends his undead minions to her home.

This was fun and it looked like Burgis had fun writing this story.

2- Deadly Courtesies

Mia perforce agrees to accompany Leander to the Necromancers' Ball to be his second in a duel, accoutred in a metal dress of her own design. And maybe her new ally will turn into something more than just an ally ... if she'll let him.

Not quite as light-hearted as the first but Mia proves she's no damsel in distress, even if she has to create her own magical dress.

3- Fine Deceptions

Mia's dad and Leander's mentor find an excuse to send them to the other side of the country together - everyone seems to know how they feel about each other except Mia herself. Once there, they find the city even more prejudiced against spellcrafters than anything they've yet experienced, to the extent that the local magic wielders are living in hiding in fear of their lives.

A little bit more serious but still fun.

4- Fierce Company

The prejudices Mia and Leander encountered in their last adventure follow them home to roost. And, more scarily perhaps, Mia meets Leander's family.

Also deals with serious issues but fun and with a happily ever after ending.

(January 2024)
3.5 stars
… (mais)
½
 
Assinalado
humouress | 5 outras críticas | Feb 12, 2024 |
This is a fun short story that inserts a scene from Georgie's POV at the end of Claws & Contrivances. (We see the result of this scene in C&C, but since it's not Rose's POV it wouldn't have made sense to see the scene itself.) It's a cute and fun scene, though naturally it makes no sense without having read C&C. This is a fun bonus, though, especially for fans of Georgie and Amina.
½
 
Assinalado
ca.bookwyrm | Feb 10, 2024 |
Very cute short story/chapter that takes place 3 years after the main book and adds to some of the side characters' storylines. This is absolutely optional, but it was very fun and fast to read.
 
Assinalado
ca.bookwyrm | Feb 10, 2024 |

Listas

Prémios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
62
Also by
19
Membros
2,239
Popularidade
#11,458
Avaliação
3.8
Críticas
193
ISBN
119
Línguas
5
Marcado como favorito
2

Tabelas & Gráficos