Picture of author.

Adrian McKinty

Autor(a) de The Chain

28+ Works 6,385 Membros 451 Críticas 23 Favorited

About the Author

Adrian McKinty was born in Northern Ireland. He read politics and philosophy at the University of Oxford. He is a crime fiction novelist, blogger and book reviewer. His novels include the Sean Duffy series and the Lighthouse Trilogy. He made the Ned Kelly 2015 shortlists in the category of Best mostrar mais Novel with his title Gun Street Girl. He won the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Award for best paperback original with his novel, Rain Dogs. (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Image credit: Courtesy of Serpent's Tail Press


Obras por Adrian McKinty

The Chain (2019) 1,522 exemplares
The Cold, Cold Ground (2012) 756 exemplares
The Island (2022) 489 exemplares
Dead I Well May Be (2003) 429 exemplares
I Hear the Sirens in the Street (2013) 394 exemplares
In the Morning I'll Be Gone (2014) 363 exemplares
Gun Street Girl (2015) 301 exemplares
Rain Dogs (2015) 300 exemplares
The Dead Yard (2006) 248 exemplares
The Bloomsday Dead (2007) 248 exemplares
The Lighthouse Land (2006) 173 exemplares
Falling Glass (2011) 164 exemplares
Hidden River (2004) 153 exemplares
Fifty Grand (2009) 149 exemplares
Belfast Noir (2014) — Editor — 89 exemplares
The Sun Is God (1900) 81 exemplares
The Lighthouse War (2007) 75 exemplares
The Detective Up Late (2023) 73 exemplares
Deviant (2011) 56 exemplares
The Lighthouse Keepers (2008) 38 exemplares
Orange Rhymes With Everything (1997) 13 exemplares
Hang On, St. Christopher (2020) 6 exemplares
Lee (2013) 2 exemplares
Saari (2023) 1 exemplar
Sem título 1 exemplar

Associated Works

OxCrimes (2014) — Contribuidor — 73 exemplares
The Best British Mysteries 4 (2006) — Contribuidor — 25 exemplares
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10 (2013) — Contribuidor — 21 exemplares
Requiems for the Departed (2010) — Contribuidor, algumas edições13 exemplares
Shaken: Stories for Japan (2011) — Contribuidor — 12 exemplares
Reports from the Deep End: Stories inspired by J. G. Ballard (2024) — Contribuidor — 2 exemplares


Conhecimento Comum

Data de nascimento
Northern Ireland
País (no mapa)
Local de nascimento
Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Locais de residência
St. Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Denver, Colorado, USA
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK
Harlem, New York, USA
University of Warwick
University of Oxford

Fatal error: Call to undefined function isLitsy() in /var/www/html/inc_magicDB.php on line 425
Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. He studied politics and philosophy at Oxford University before moving to New York in the mid 1990s His first novel Dead I Well May Be (loosely based on his experiences as an illegal immigrant in the US) was published in 2003. In 2012 after moving to Australia with his wife and children he began publication of the critically acclaimed Sean Duffy series. In 2019 after giving up writing Adrian had a global hit with his standalone novel The Chain. Adrian's books have won the Edgar Award, the Ned Kelly Award (3 times), The Anthony Award, Barry Award, Macavity Award and the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. His books have been translated into over 40 languages.



I've long been a fan of Adrian Mckinty but it wasn't aware until recently that the author who wrote the Dean Duffy series was the same as the one who penned The Island. The man can flat out right, and deserves to be considered among Lehane, Rankin, and Bruen, as a top talent in the crime fiction genre, or any genre for that matter.

The Detective Up Late is the latest in the Duffy series. In the very early nineties Duffy is set to retire and move to Scotland with his wife and daughter. Unfortunately there is one last case that needs to be wrapped up before the move can be completed, the disappearance of a young Tinker girl.

Duffy vows that the case will receive the same priority as if she were an upper class lady, and doggedly pursues the case to the end, even as others urge him to let it go.

The book is a good read, and delivers all the goods one would expect from a writer of McKinty's skill.
… (mais)
norinrad10 | 4 outras críticas | Apr 13, 2024 |
Sean Duffy is in his last days of full-time employment with the Royal Ulster Constabulary. After several years as a detective, Duffy plans to work as a reserve 7 days per month until becoming eligible for a full pension. But first, he has one more case to solve: the disappearance of a 15-year-old girl, with evidence that raises the possibility of murder.

Duffy and his team begin in the usual way: interviewing the girl’s family and people who saw her the night she disappeared. Due to a holiday, a few days have passed and the trail is not easy to follow. Lucky for Duffy and team, some critical evidence is discovered by locals and they are soon interviewing suspects. But the path from suspects to arrest is a winding one, as is determining what actually happened to the girl. And as is often the case in these novels, connections emerge which add international intrigue to a “simple” missing persons case.

The novel ends with a tidy conclusion, which would be an acceptable way to wrap up the series. But I’ve heard Adrian McKinty may not be finished with Duffy yet, and that would be perfectly fine with me.
… (mais)
lauralkeet | 4 outras críticas | Apr 12, 2024 |
Sean Duffy 4 somehow seems more real than the others, and this is on top of my earlier reviews that talk about how real these novels seem.

It's 1985 and Sean has been reinstated as a Detective Inspector and McCrabben is now the lead murder investigator. A husband and wife are murdered. Their son has vanished but later turns up dead of suicide. Open and shut, right? Well, of course not or there wouldn't be a book. The investigation takes us up the north coast (I had no idea that you can see Scotland from Northern Ireland) and then over to Oxford. McKinty again has repurposed real events in service of the novel. I found it all quite enjoyable.… (mais)
Dokfintong | 28 outras críticas | Mar 30, 2024 |
The Cold Cold Ground. Book one: The Troubles Trilogy. A Detective Sean Duffy Novel. Adrian McKinty. 2012. The world is in a tizzy over the upcoming marriage of Charles and Di, and the pope has been shot when Oxford-educated Detective Duffy, the only Catholic in the Royal Ulster Constabulary, is called to investigate a murder of a gay man. Before he gets a handle on it, another murder occurs so he hunts for a serial murderer of gay men. However it doesn’t take him long to realize that the murders may be a cover for something else. Before it is over the IRA and M15 are involved. Duffy is a great character, the plots twists are exciting, and the setting is fascinating. Looking forward to reading more!… (mais)
judithrs | 64 outras críticas | Mar 19, 2024 |



You May Also Like

Associated Authors


Also by
Marcado como favorito

Tabelas & Gráficos