Retrato do autor

Margo Rabb

Autor(a) de Kissing in America

7+ Works 737 Membros 33 Críticas

About the Author

Includes the name: M. E. Rabb

Séries

Obras por Margo Rabb

Kissing in America (2015) 210 exemplares, 10 críticas
Cures for Heartbreak (2007) 203 exemplares, 14 críticas
The Rose Queen (2004) 92 exemplares, 3 críticas
The Chocolate Lover (2004) 79 exemplares, 2 críticas
The Venetian Policeman (2004) 54 exemplares, 1 crítica
Lucy Clark Will Not Apologize (2021) 52 exemplares, 2 críticas
The Unsuspecting Gourment (2004) 47 exemplares, 1 crítica

Associated Works

Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading (2009) — Contribuidor — 351 exemplares, 26 críticas
Who Done It? (2013) — Contribuidor — 135 exemplares, 5 críticas
New Stories from the South 2000: The Year's Best (2000) — Contribuidor — 53 exemplares, 1 crítica

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Sexo
female

Membros

Críticas

YA novel about teenagers, a quiz show, a cross country road trip, and grief.

The main character is navigating life after her father dies in a plane crash and she meets a dreamy boy who likes poetry and helps her cope until he moves across the country.

Lots of this resonated with me because I was fairly young when my own father died so I recognized a lot of her feelings and her struggles with her Mom and how they coped with things differently.

No clue how this one got on my radar but I’m glad it did.… (mais)
 
Assinalado
hmonkeyreads | 9 outras críticas | Jan 25, 2024 |
I really enjoyed the Missing Persons series when I read it back in the day. So I was pretty excited to see these books were released in a kindle edition. These are lighthearted cosy mysteries featuring two sisters, Sam and Sophie who ran away from their stepmum when their dad died to avoid being separated from each other. Sam is the older sibling, seventeen, just graduated school and supposed to be heading to college. When she learns her stepmum plans to send her fifteen year old sister to boarding school she makes a plan to appropriate the funds from their mum and dad's life insurance policies and savings, get fake identities and move across the country to ensure they're not separated.

Sam is a total badass. For all she's apparently a nerdy quiet type, she has skills. I really liked her and her plans to protect her sister. They're all each other has left so they plan to stick together. Plus her dad made her promise to look after her sister and I really liked the lengths she was willing to go in order to do so. I liked Sophie but I liked her a lot less than Sam. She was alright, she was just so flighty. Her decision to drive without a license was totally irresponsible and I have trouble relating because even as a child I was kind of uptight. I don't think I made any irresponsible decisions. Stupid ones maybe but not life threatening. Her preoccupation with Troy was annoying too. I didn't get the appeal.

The mystery is well plotted and interesting. I can't say I guessed who the kidnapper was. Or that she'd been kidnapped and not murdered. but I really enjoyed letting it unfold. I like the friendship that the girls develop with Gus and the fact that he takes them on as private investigator apprentices (or at least one of them and one secretary). It's not a perfect read but it's a great lighthearted cosy mystery for young adults. Or older adults as the case may be. 4 stars.
… (mais)
 
Assinalado
funstm | 2 outras críticas | Jun 22, 2023 |
Edgar Award worthy.

Sixteen-year-old Lucy Clark has all but been abandoned by her globe-trotting self-help guru parents. First her nana raised her and when she passed away four years ago, Lucy was sent to boarding school at Thornton Academy in Austin, Texas, where she was bullied non-stop by so-called Thing One and Thing Two. Unfortunately, her retaliation, dubbed the capital I-Incident, against one of the Things went a bit too far and she was suspended.

To finish out the semester, the head mistress arranged for Lucy to assist an elderly eccentric millionaire with dementia, Edith Fox, in New York. Lucy will live with her cousin, Nanette, in Edith’s Greenwich Village building under strict supervision and guidelines set by her parents, among them doing mounds of homework and eating nothing frivolous or sugary. Her diet should consist mostly energy shakes sold by her parents’ company.

Upon her arrival in the Village, Nanette who was to meet Lucy at 4 PM, is nowhere to be seen. While waiting on the front stoop, Edith walks by, introduces herself, hands Lucy, who only has a learner’s permit, the keys to her car and tells her to drive. According to Edith, there was a man in a hooded jacket following her. Edith explains that someone is trying to kill her. At first, Lucy believes Edith does have dementia but after listening to Edith and her friend Mimsy, she is beginning to think Edith is telling the truth. Subsequent events confirm that, indeed, someone is trying to do away with Edith and no one is believing her.

Lucy, who feels like her life has been one gigantic screwup and who has not gotten over the death of her nana, believes she must be the one to uncover the would-be killer. She needs this for her self-worth.

There is so much about this book that I like, beginning with the cast of characters. Edith, Mimsy, Lucy and her friend, Dyna are just so loveable. Because Edith and Mimsy are horticulturalists, there is a lot about gardens and plants…especially poisonous ones. But you also learn how plants enhance one’s life and how persistent they are. The plot of the book is actually believable, which can be rare in a mystery. The tension builds until it reaches a satisfying conclusion.
One review said “Colorful characters, humorous situations, twists, red herrings, poison, family secrets—it’s all there.” Another said “A beguiling, cozy mystery worth sinking into.”
In addition to being a great mystery, Lucy Clark Will Not Apologize is also about family, grief and self-esteem, told in wonderful prose.

All in all, Lucy Clark Will Not Apologize is just a totally enjoyable book. It is perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson’s Truly Devious series. If your teen likes this, steer her to Truly Devious or vice versa.
… (mais)
 
Assinalado
EdGoldberg | 1 outra crítica | Jul 9, 2021 |
Part coming of age, part teen detective, part how friendship endures, while containing lots of deceit and betrayal sums up this YA story. Lucy Clark was raised by her grandmother because her parents were far too self-absorbed and into fleecing the world with new age guru baloney. After Gram died, they stuck her in an incredibly toxic private school, one guaranteed to eat her soul piece by piece.
When her one act of rebellion costs her bestie, when Dyna's dad pulls her out of school, it seems like the world couldn't get any worse. When she's suddenly suspended and packed off to be a companion to an elderly woman in NYC who's supposedly suffering from dementia, it seems like the fates have decided to kick her to the curb. Instead, Lucy finds herself entering an adventurous new world that is at times, scary, but more often exhilarating and capable of life changing power. Read the book to find out how. It's a terrific story and deserving of a place in any library caring about providing good thoughtful fiction to teen readers.… (mais)
 
Assinalado
sennebec | 1 outra crítica | May 11, 2021 |

Listas

Prémios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
7
Also by
4
Membros
737
Popularidade
#34,456
Avaliação
½ 3.6
Críticas
33
ISBN
40

Tabelas & Gráficos