Picture of author.
36+ Works 4,900 Membros 169 Críticas 10 Favorited

About the Author

Ntozake Shange was born Paulette Linda Williams in Trenton, New Jersey on October 18, 1948. She received a bachelor's degree from Barnard College in 1970 and a master's degree in American studies from the University of Southern California in 1973. She adopted her African name while in graduate mostrar mais school. She wrote 15 plays, 19 collections of poetry, six novels, five children's books, and three essay collections. Her choreopoem, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow is Enuf, opened on Broadway in 1976 and received an Obie Award. She also received an Obie in 1981 for her adaptation of Bertold Brecht's Mother Courage and Her Children. Her trilogy, Three Pieces, won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry in 1981. She died on October 27, 2018 at the age of 70. (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Image credit: Photo by Lilithcat

Séries

Obras por Ntozake Shange

Sassafrass, Cypress and Indigo (1982) 574 exemplares
Ellington Was Not a Street (2004) 412 exemplares
Coretta Scott (2009) 314 exemplares
Betsey Brown (1985) 298 exemplares
Some Sing, Some Cry (2010) 210 exemplares
nappy edges (1978) 127 exemplares
I Live in Music (1994) 110 exemplares
A Daughter's Geography (1983) 91 exemplares
If I Can Cook/You Know God Can (1998) 73 exemplares
Three Pieces (1981) 73 exemplares
We Troubled the Waters (2009) 67 exemplares
Freedom's a-Callin Me (2012) 53 exemplares
Float Like a Butterfly (2002) 53 exemplares

Associated Works

Passing (1929) — Introdução, algumas edições2,703 exemplares
Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study (1992) — Contribuidor, algumas edições514 exemplares
Cries of the Spirit: A Celebration of Women's Spirituality (2000) — Contribuidor — 372 exemplares
African American Poetry: 250 Years of Struggle and Song (2020) — Contribuidor — 174 exemplares
Erotique Noire/Black Erotica (1991) — Contribuidor — 158 exemplares
Black Book (1980) — Prefácio, algumas edições132 exemplares
Black Women Writers at Work (1983) — Contribuidor — 128 exemplares
The Penguin Book of Women's Humour (1996) — Contribuidor — 119 exemplares
Deep Down: The New Sensual Writing by Women (1988) — Contribuidor — 116 exemplares
Tenderheaded: A Comb-Bending Collection of Hair Stories (2001) — Introdução — 91 exemplares
Nine Plays by Black Women (1986) — Playwright — 86 exemplares
The Virago Book of Wicked Verse (1992) — Contribuidor — 82 exemplares
Wild Women Don't Wear No Blues (1993) — Contribuidor — 77 exemplares
Honey, Hush! An Anthology of African American Women's Humor (1657) — Contribuidor — 76 exemplares
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology (2007) — Contribuidor — 75 exemplares
Choice Words: Writers on Abortion (2020) — Contribuidor — 74 exemplares
A Literary Christmas: Great Contemporary Christmas Stories (1992) — Contribuidor — 70 exemplares
Racism and Sexism: An Integrated Study (1988) — Contribuidor — 62 exemplares
Sugar in the Raw: Voices of Young Black Girls in America (1997) — Prefácio — 61 exemplares
Moving Parts: Monologues from Contemporary Plays (1992) — Contribuidor — 59 exemplares
Trouble the Water: 250 Years of African American Poetry (1997) — Contribuidor — 56 exemplares
May Your Days Be Merry and Bright: Christmas Stories by Women (1988) — Contribuidor — 52 exemplares
Midnight Birds: Stories by Contemporary Black Women Writers (1980) — Contribuidor — 46 exemplares
The Seasons of Women: An Anthology (1995) — Contribuidor — 46 exemplares
Sisterfire: Black Womanist Fiction and Poetry (1994) — Contribuidor — 46 exemplares
Modern and Contemporary Drama (1958) — Contribuidor — 43 exemplares
Moon Marked and Touched by Sun: Plays by African-American Women (1993) — Contribuidor — 43 exemplares
Prejudice: A Story Collection (1995) — Contribuidor — 42 exemplares
Dream Me Home Safely: Writers on Growing Up in America (2003) — Contribuidor — 39 exemplares
I Hear a Symphony: African Americans Celebrate Love (1994) — Contribuidor — 33 exemplares
A Way Out of No Way: Writing about Growing Up Black in America (1996) — Contribuidor — 33 exemplares
Catch the Fire!!! (1998) — Contribuidor — 29 exemplares
Best American Plays: 8th Series, 1974-1982 (1983) — Contribuidor — 19 exemplares
Wonders: Writings and Drawings for the Child in Us All (1980) — Contribuidor — 18 exemplares
Streetlights: Illuminating Tales of the Urban Black Experience (1996) — Contribuidor — 12 exemplares
Bittersweet (1998) — Contribuidor — 10 exemplares
360: A Revolution of Black Poets (1998) — Contribuidor — 9 exemplares
Heresies 6: On Women and Violence (1978) — Contribuidor — 2 exemplares
The Little Magazine, v. 11, #1, Spring 1977 — Contribuidor — 1 exemplar

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Membros

Críticas

This choreopoem is somewhere between a poetry collection and a play. I found the introduction in this new updated edition incredibly helpful, because while I feel like I have seen this book around and been aware of it for ages, I didn't really know anything about it. The introduction described how this grew from a collection of poems into a performance piece, and then how it was updated over time.

This book is that harrowing kind of beautiful, that gives dignity by bearing witness to people living through difficult/impossible situations, that recognizes people fighting for their joy where they can find it, people surviving how they can.

The introduction also places the work in time, from its very beginnings in the mid-seventies to the way audience reactions have changed over time, to the legacy it has created for itself.

If it isn't clear, while I would have enjoyed this collection without the introduction, that context and history increased my understanding/connection/enjoyment of this piece several-fold.

This is beautiful but difficult. Please check the content warnings.

Recommended for fans of The Vagina Monologues, Shonda Rhimes, The Color Purple
… (mais)
½
 
Assinalado
greeniezona | 22 outras críticas | Feb 22, 2024 |
There is a reason a lot of this author's work here was unpublishied to this point. This is a very uneven compilation of over four hundred pages. Some selections are very good and some are not. I liked her poetry best but the plays and essays are many times lacking. Shange rejects traditional language and spelling (could becomes cd) ala Jack Kerowuac. Also, there is constant namedropping that has the editor working overtime with footnotes.
 
Assinalado
muddyboy | Nov 26, 2023 |
 
Assinalado
hcs_admin | 7 outras críticas | Aug 18, 2023 |
Kadir Nelson did the beautiful illustrations. A children's picture book that tackles a difficult and complicated topic. This book will elicit questions from students and get them thinking
 
Assinalado
bklver | 28 outras críticas | Jul 27, 2023 |

Listas

Prémios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
36
Also by
50
Membros
4,900
Popularidade
#5,131
Avaliação
3.9
Críticas
169
ISBN
171
Línguas
3
Marcado como favorito
10

Tabelas & Gráficos