Picture of author.

Fabien Vehlmann

Autor(a) de Beautiful Darkness

81 Works 2,230 Membros 81 Críticas

About the Author

Séries

Obras por Fabien Vehlmann

Beautiful Darkness (2009) 530 exemplares, 29 críticas
Isle of 100,000 Graves (2011) — Autor — 119 exemplares, 5 críticas
The Vanishing (2006) 96 exemplares, 2 críticas
Satania (2016) 82 exemplares, 6 críticas
Last Days of an Immortal (2012) 71 exemplares, 6 críticas
Green Manor I: Assassins and Gentlemen (2001) 68 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Master of Knives (2007) 63 exemplares
The Red Cairns (2009) 59 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Clan of the Shark (2008) 56 exemplares, 3 críticas
7 Psychopaths (2007) 50 exemplares, 1 crítica
Eye of the Maelstrom (2010) 45 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Fourth Dimension and a Half (2011) 45 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Lowlands (2012) 42 exemplares
Green Manor (2010) — Writer — 38 exemplares, 4 críticas
Seuls - tome 8 - Les Arènes (2013) 37 exemplares
Spirou et Fantasio, tome 55 - La colère du Marsupilami (2016) — Autor — 36 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Isle of Brac: The Marquis of Anaon Volume 1 (2002) 29 exemplares, 3 críticas
The Black Virgin: The Marquis of Anaon Volume 2 (2003) — Writer — 24 exemplares, 2 críticas
The Providence: The Marquis of Anaon Volume 3 (2004) 21 exemplares, 1 crítica
The Chamber of Kheops: The Marquis of Anaon Volume 5 (2008) 20 exemplares, 2 críticas
The Beast: The Marquis of Anaon Volume 4 (2006) 19 exemplares, 2 críticas
Green Manor, Tome 3 : Fantaisies meurtrières (2005) 19 exemplares, 1 crítica
Last of the Atlases, Chapter 1 (2019) — Autor — 18 exemplares, 2 críticas
Les Cinq Conteurs de Bagdad (2006) 16 exemplares, 1 crítica
An Electric Monkey (Ian) (2003) 14 exemplares, 1 crítica
Infinity 8, Tome 3 : L'Evangile selon Emma (2017) — Autor — 12 exemplares
Le dernier Atlas - Tome 2 (2020) — Autor — 10 exemplares, 1 crítica
Lessons of Darkness (Ian) (2004) 9 exemplares
IAN : Intégrale (2007) 7 exemplares
La Nuit de l'Inca, tome 2 (2004) 5 exemplares
Ian (integral) (2012) 5 exemplares
Voyage en Satanie, Tome 1 (French Edition) (2011) 4 exemplares, 1 crítica
Seuls T14 : Les Protecteurs (2024) 4 exemplares
Satiana, 2 (2018) 3 exemplares
Coeurs de palmier (2002) 2 exemplares
Polaris - La Nuit de Circé (2018) 2 exemplares
Le Dieu-Fauve (2024) 1 exemplar
Samedi et Dimanche 1 exemplar
Ian Vol. 4: Metanoia (2020) 1 exemplar
De olympische oorlog (2021) 1 exemplar

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Data de nascimento
1972-01-30
Sexo
male
Nacionalidade
France
Local de nascimento
Mont de Marsan, France

Membros

Críticas

El mundo ya no es el mismo, ni tampoco aquellos que han sobrevivido. Aquí vivir es arriesgarlo todo…Ellos están SOLOS.

En el volumen 6 de la serie, Saúl está preocupado: no puede usar sus poderes a voluntad y algunos miembros del Consejo empiezan a preguntarse si realmente es el Elegido del Bien y su legítimo emperador. Las tensiones se disparan en Neosalem por las decisiones crueles que va tomando y, para reforzar su poder, organiza unos juegos, todavía más intensos que los anteriores, en los que Leïla participa, armada solo con un cuchillo. Con la ayuda de unos pocos amigos que le han permanecido leales, provocará una verdadera revolución entre los esclavos.… (mais)
 
Assinalado
bibliotecayamaguchi | 2 outras críticas | Mar 8, 2024 |
What a weird and wonderful comic. This darkly comic fairy tale brings to life the unsettling world of childhood imagination, reminding us that the whimsical and the disturbing are two sides of the same coin. Here are childlike sprites whose play inevitably ends in gruesome violence, and an enchanted woodland populated by charming mice in tailcoats but also predators and grubs. And of course, there's a (somewhat understated) darkness at the center of this book—the sprites have tumbled out into reality because the young girl who dreamed them up lies dead in the woods.

I feel like many comics of this kind excel at atmosphere but fall short on plot, but Beautiful Darkness acquits itself well on both counts, with a pleasing, if unsettling, fairy tale arc. And the artwork is perfect—vivid, expressive, and with plenty of nods to Victorian children's book illustrators.

Recommended to fans of gothic comics and weird fantasy, and a readalike for Emily Carroll's Through the Woods.
… (mais)
 
Assinalado
raschneid | 28 outras críticas | Dec 19, 2023 |
Wow, this is one of the weirdest books I remember reading. Deeply creepy and macabre (it's not for the squeamish), but beautiful with it. A little of The Gashlycrumb Tinies mixed with Lord of the Flies, depicted in a fairy-tale pallet. But that still doesn't give an adequate sense of what to expect. At heart, it's a slightly meandering story of how children behave in a group, with the kindnesses and loyalties and cruelties and jealousies that involved, with plenty of dark and deadly twists along the way. And the children are weird, tiny forest folk. I'm missing one of the most singular things of the book on purpose (and which you may well already know), because it actually has little to do with the plot, and also shapes expectations of the book so much that I feel like it is misleading to mention it. But you probably already know.… (mais)
 
Assinalado
thisisstephenbetts | 28 outras críticas | Nov 25, 2023 |
A gorgeously illustrated book, this tale wraps around and circles both its characters and its readers. It's easy to fall into and devour in one sitting, and the creepy moments are so incredibly tantalizing, it's hard for a horror-lover like me not to fall in love with this book. All that said, I admit I have a hard time slowing down enough to really focus on the way graphic novels tell so much story through illustrations vs words, and require readers to put together so many pieces to connect the dots. Here, I lost the story thread a few times, and I suspect this is one of those books that may require a few reads in order for everything to be clear. I do wish it had been a bit clearer, in how everything fell together, but the book is such an experience and has such wonderful art, it's hard to complain.

I suspect I'll wander through this one again in the near future and potentially update my review then.
… (mais)
 
Assinalado
whitewavedarling | 28 outras críticas | Sep 21, 2023 |

Listas

Prémios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Bruno Gazzotti Illustrator
Yoann Illustrator
Gwen De Bonneval Author, Illustrator
Matthieu Bonhomme Illustrator
Denis Bodart Illustrator
Hervé Tanquerelle Illustrator
Ralph Meyer Illustrator
Gwen de Bonneval Illustrator
Mark Bence Translator
Didier Gonard Designer
Gwen Auteur
Kerascoët Illustrator
Helge Dascher Translator
Horst Berner Translator
Fabian Göranson Translator
Edward Gauvin Translator
Deron Bennett Letterer
Scott Newman Production Manager
Hervé Tanquerelle Illustrations
Frédéric Blanchard Illustrations

Estatísticas

Obras
81
Membros
2,230
Popularidade
#11,501
Avaliação
½ 3.6
Críticas
81
ISBN
262
Línguas
12

Tabelas & Gráficos