Mythopoeic Awards1996

Given by Mythopoeic Society

Outros Nomes: Premio Mythopoeic Fantasy (Espanhol)
19 Works 7,429 Livros 119 Críticas ½ 3.9

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous two years that best

mostrar mais exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature, established 1992, honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. From 1971 until 1991, there was one award for all fantasy literature of any age level.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. mostrar menos

Stages:
Todos, Winner (184), Finalist (810)
Categorias:
Anos:
Todos, 2023 (25), 2022 (22), 2021 (22), 2020 (20), 2019 (26), 2018 (20), 2017 (27), 2016 (24), 2015 (29), 2014 (20), 2013 (28), 2012 (24), 2011 (24), 2010 (25), 2009 (23), 2008 (34), 2007 (20), 2006 (21), 2005 (26), 2004 (20), 2003 (16), 2002 (17), 2001 (20), 2000 (25), 1999 (18), 1998 (20), 1997 (13), 1996 (19), 1995 (19), 1994 (18), 1993 (17), 1992 (11), 1991 (8), 1990 (6), 1989 (7), 1988 (5), 1987 (13), 1986 (7), 1985 (10), 1984 (2), 1983 (10), 1982 (7), 1981 (5), 1976 (3), 1975 (7), 1974 (6), 1973 (7), 1972 (10), 1971 (4)

Winner 4

Finalist 19

ObraCategoriaAno
Waking the Moon por Elizabeth HandAdult Literature1996
Brittle Innings por Michael BishopAdult Literature1996
All the Bells on Earth por James P. BlaylockAdult Literature1996
The Book of Atrix Wolfe por Patricia A. McKillipAdult Literature1996
The Dragon Path: Collected Tales of Kenneth Morris por Kenneth MorrisAdult Literature1996
The Crown of Dalemark por Diana Wynne JonesChildren's Literature1996
The Boggart por Susan CooperChildren's Literature1996
Falcon's Egg por Luli GrayChildren's Literature1996
Wren's War por Sherwood SmithChildren's Literature1996
The Mennyms por Sylvia WaughChildren's Literature1996
J.R.R. Tolkien: Artist and Illustrator por Wayne G. HammondInklings Studies1996
The Fiction of C.S. Lewis: Mask and Mirror por Kath FilmerInklings Studies1996
The Hobbit: A Journey into Maturity por William H. GreenInklings Studies1996
C.S. Lewis: A Reference Guide 1972-1988 (Reference Publication in Literature) por Susan LowenbergInklings Studies1996
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Patterning of a Fantastic World por C. N. ManloveInklings Studies1996
From the Beast to the Blonde: On Fairy Tales and Their Tellers por Marina WarnerMyth and Fantasy Studies1996
T.H. White's The Once and Future King por Elisabeth BrewerMyth and Fantasy Studies1996
The Seed and the Vision: On the Writing and Appreciation of Children's Books por Eleanor CameronMyth and Fantasy Studies1996
When Toys Come Alive: Narratives of Animation, Metamorphosis, and Development por Lois Rostow KuznetsMyth and Fantasy Studies1996

Descrições

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous two years that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature, established 1992, honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. From 1971 until 1991, there was one award for all fantasy literature of any age level.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy.

(English, Member-written)
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award. (English, Member-written)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books are eligible for two years after publication unless short-listed during their first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature was established in 1992 and honors books for younger readers (up to age thirteen) in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which category a borderline book belongs to will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category. From 1971 until 1991, we gave one award for all fantasy literature.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible. Short-listed books from the previous year are automatically re-nominated for the next year’s long list.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth & Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award. Short-listed books from the previous year are automatically re-nominated for the next year’s long list.

From 1971 until 1991, the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award was a single award given for Inklings Studies until the establishment of the Myth & Fantasy Studies category. The first award under this new category was given in 1992.

Process

The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society. Anyone in the Society can nominate a book to any of the four award categories; selections of finalists and award recipients will be made by the relevant committee, which are comprised of Society volunteers. Authors, publishers, and/or their representatives may not nominate their own books, nor are books published by the Mythopoeic Press eligible. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

The Mythopoeic Society also awards the Alexei Kondratiev Award for the best Student Papers presented at Mythcon.

(English, Member-written)
URL: https://www.mythsoc.org/awards.htm
Outstanding works in the fields of myth, fantasy, and the scholarly study of these areas (Russian, Member-written)

Etiquetas

adventure(11,490) audiobook(4,617) British(4,673) children(7,667) children's(15,204) children's fiction(4,174) children's literature(7,950) coming of age(3,153) Discworld(3,613) ebook(7,124) England(6,697) fairy tales(5,864) fantasy(217,392) fantasy fiction(3,530) favorites(6,194) fiction(120,711) friendship(4,185) goodreads(4,408) hardcover(5,294) Harry Potter(28,463) historical fiction(5,768) horror(4,914) humor(3,960) juvenile(3,519) Kindle(4,542) literature(3,912) magic(36,640) mystery(3,743) novel(12,621) own(8,388) owned(4,224) paperback(4,134) read(21,280) romance(4,573) science fiction(14,956) Science Fiction/Fantasy(4,064) series(15,712) sf(5,084) sff(8,915) speculative fiction(3,600) to-read(62,580) Tolkien(4,589) unread(5,781) urban fantasy(6,104) witches(5,644) wizards(9,989) ya(20,744) young adult(32,761) young adult fiction(3,332)

Principais Membros

Kaethe (280 obras), xofelf (260), beserene (230), TerryWeyna (219), bookstopshere (215), RLNunezKPL (212), skullduggery (210), randys_bookbuzz (206), chilperic (204), Sakerfalcon (202), pinax (198), parasolofdoom (196), saskia17 (196), SESchend (195), Musereader (190), Ethaisa (189), gwyneira (188), Spunkypineapple (186), TaraWood (185), wisemetis (185), alaskabookworm (184), Larou (184), RedQueen (183), StormRaven (180), jennybeast (177), erinalbion (176), fugglestone (175), tootstorm (175), anglemark (174), ronincats (174), casebrad (173), slothman (171), wyvernfriend (171), MyFathersDragon (170), leennnadine (169), kamintra (168), malloyd (168), AltheaAnn (166), Cora-R (166), strangefate (165), fitzwater (161), boxofdelights (160), Maddz (158), ringman (157), vicwong (157), mffowler (156), trollsdotter (156), rtttt01 (155), shadrachanki (154), Crypto-Willobie (153), wealhtheowwylfing (153), malinablue (151), sangreal (150), geoffmiles (149), lorax (149), lquilter (148), esther_a (147), ScarletBella (146), tredegartrafalgar (146), casa_tali (145), tamaranth (145), buriedinprint (144), Chrisethier (143), quondame (143), fyrefly98 (142), ashleytylerjohn (140), Gingermcelwee (140), lafstern (139), megaelim (139), Rivendell (139), foggidawn (138), Leslie_L.J. (138), briarhills (137), maribou (137), EmScape (136), lizzy50usa (136), AbigailAdams26 (135), fred_mouse (135), avatiakh (134), macsbrains (134), SFF1928-1973 (133), souloftherose (133), agille37 (132), cshalizi (132), weber93 (132), sandstone78 (131), macha (130), calm (129), cattermune (129), Patrickvdh (129), Quaisior (129), Amiziras (128), quinaquisset (128), rarm (128), Ashlad (127), kleos_aphthiton (127), vmaganti (127), begli (126), Scorbet (126), cindywho (125), lyrrael (125), francescadefreitas (124), karenb (124), lycomayflower (124), astraplain (123), G_Riv (123), JohnAdcoxCarolBales (123), mkbird (123), bluelittlegirl (122), Ciarda (122), Damiella (122), jjmcgaffey (122), naokoken (122), agenbiteofinwit (121), cosmicdolphin (121), keachachu (121), LibrarianMaven (121), bertilak (120), bibliovermis (120), stansteiner (120), ginaruiz (119), Herenya (119), linlef (119), MadGastronomer (119), sbisson (119), aekfv20134 (118), krisiti (118), salimbol (118), tglovell (118), aabdelrahmanm (117), Linyarai (117), mavinger (117), thefirstdark (117), brizzzy (116), elusiverica (116), Kat_books (116), marineko (116), sister_ray (116), WestmereNZ (116), xenoglossy (116), eaduncan (115), madspinner (115), malinengdahl (115), nwhyte (115), Pages_Aplenty (115), sarahb6 (115), Wombat (115), amanda4242 (114), AndrewWheeler (114), iftyzaidi (114), sedelia (114), alo1224 (113), kathiallen (113), kdcdavis (113), phoebesmum (113), Sparrowing (113), amberwitch (112), bragan (112), ElleyOtter (112), kday_working (112), Markober (112), paulhurtley (112), smckinney (112), TadAD (112), vivir (112), crimsonraider (111), libraryofus (111), RealLifeReading (111), redrose (111), SharpSarcasm (111), Vierran (111), AsYouKnow_Bob (110), benitastrnad (110), hajarvin (110), JaredMcLaine (110), kokipy (110), snbooks (110), Stewartry (110)