Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.) por Matthew…
A carregar...

Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.) (edição 2011)

por Matthew Norman

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3374959,021 (3.98)8
"In the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Tom Perrotta comes DOMESTIC VIOLETS, Matthew Norman's darkly comic family drama about love, loss, and ambition" --
Membro:ImBookingIt
Título:Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.)
Autores:Matthew Norman
Informação:Harper Perennial (2011), Edition: Original, Paperback, 352 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Domestic Violets por Matthew Norman

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 8 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 49 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
I went into this with the wrong expectation. I'd read a few reviews and though it would be a laugh-out-loud comedy. The main character makes a joke of everything and there are a ton of one-liners, but there were underlying currents of sarcasm and sadness that jarred me. Once I got over that, I ended up liking the story. Tom is really juvenile and kind of frustrating, but I was interested to see where he'd end up. His father's story was just as interesting, and I was pleased at how everything came together in the end. Not surprised, but pleased nonetheless. ( )
  JustZelma | Dec 20, 2020 |
Eh. It was OK. Well written enough, interesting enough storyline, but not a whole lot going on. Kind of a beach read, or a book for when you don't want to think too much. I read it quickly, but most of it faded from my memory quickly so it certainly didn't stick with me or strike a chord. ( )
  MissWordNerd | Jul 14, 2018 |
Loved this book! Alternatively hilarious and touching. The office scenes alone had me rooting for Tom. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future. ( )
  dorie.craig | Jun 22, 2017 |
Domestic Violets is a total rarity in modern depressing fiction: a novel with witty dialogue,
a page turning plot that should never end, and real life characters emerging as a literary laugh out loud original.

Five pages in, what came to mind was "Can he possibly sustain this?!?"

Amazingly, Matthew Norman did.

His often oddball cast of characters remain honest, there is blessedly little foreshadowing,
and Pulitzer Dad treats us to a scathing one line review of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE.

A couple of minor wonderings: leaving a dog alone in a car?
alcohol after a cancer diagnosis? and a book left in a gym bag with a damp towel...?

No fatalities here with dogs or humans (thank the gods) so many readers who love sarcasm,
great plot twists, and true characters will be hoping that a successful bone marrow transplant
will give us many more years with a Great Sequel! ( )
  m.belljackson | Feb 14, 2017 |
Tom Violet is the less successful and not famous son of Curtis Violent, serial womanizer and celebrity, currently short-listed for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. Tom is stuck at a dead end job writing copyright for a firm that... well, even Tom isn't quite sure what they do. When the economy starts to tank and everyone begins losing their jobs, Tom decides to go out in a blaze of glory on his own terms. Now without a job but with a secret book of his own that just may be published, Tom has to deal with his father's drama with his most recent ex, Tom's attraction to a much younger woman at work, his feelings of insecurity, and other family issues, all at the same time. Fortunately, Tom tends to see the humor in every situation and tells his first hand account from a deeply sarcastic perspective, which makes this "domestic" tale hard to put down and seriously funny. Highly recommended for anyone with a sense of humor. ( )
1 vote voracious | Aug 26, 2016 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 49 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Kate & Caroline
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
I splash cold water on my face.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
When I was little, I read books because I thought that’s what people were supposed to do, because that’s what my mom did and what my dad did. While I stumbled and squinted my way through math and science and everything else useful in the world, I was always confident in words and stories and the things lurking in the brains of the characters who wandered in and out of my life. Sometimes I wish I’d been born to normal people — people to whom a book was just a book and people could be fixed like Fords.
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"In the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Tom Perrotta comes DOMESTIC VIOLETS, Matthew Norman's darkly comic family drama about love, loss, and ambition" --

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.98)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 3
2.5 1
3 16
3.5 9
4 54
4.5 12
5 28

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 160,587,953 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível