Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

A Certain October

por Angela Johnson

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
1416191,166 (3.94)Nenhum(a)
"Scotty compares herself to tofu: no flavor unless you add something. And it's true that Scotty's friends, Misha and Faclone, and her brother, Keone, make life delicious. But when a terrible accident occurs, Scotty feels responsible for the loss of someone she hardly knew, and the world goes wrong. She cannot tell what is a dream and what is real. Her friends are having a hard time getting through to her and her family is preoccupied with their own trauma. But the prospect of a boy, a dance, and the possibility that everything can fall back into place soon help Scotty realize that she is capable of adding her own flavor to life"--Provided by publisher.… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Mostrando 1-5 de 6 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
A tragic accident lands Scotty's brother in a coma and kills a classmate. She is used to sitting back and letting life happen to her. While mourning and recovering, she realizes her own power to make a difference reconciling relationships and beginning new ones. A coming-of-age story recommended for fans of Lauren Myracle and John Green.
Katie Z. / Marathon County Public Library
Find this book in our library catalog.
( )
  mcpl.wausau | Sep 25, 2017 |
Life's dramas can be loud and messy and outrageous, but sometimes as in Scotty's case, drama can be a quiet grief that passes slowly. Johnson once again uses her lowkey writer's voice to explore Scotty's guilt and grief in the wake of a train accident. An intelligent read for thoughtful teens. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Like Angela Johnson's other works, she writes about a tough topic, stays true to life, and makes the most mundane parts of our daily lives into a whisper of poetry. Some parts hit hard, and the ending was realistic, beautiful, and satisfying. I especially enjoyed the camaraderie between Scotty and her two best friends. ( )
  PaperbackPropensity | Sep 17, 2013 |
Scotty's life changes in a moment with a train accident that puts her brother Keone in a coma and takes the life of a boy she didn't really know. Scotty prevails with the help of her friends and strong sense of self. (She's not like tofu anymore!) Semi-affecting look at grief and recovery but hampered, for this reader, by a lack of memorable characters and plot. There's also a gratuitous sex scene (heavy petting... stopped only by the lack of birth control)... disappointing! ( )
  mjspear | May 16, 2013 |
There is gentle quality in Angela Johnson's writing that I just love. This despite the fact she is often writing about tough topics. Her award winner, First Part Last, was my introduction to her. My favorite is still A Cool Moonlight.
Our life can turn on a moment. As an older sister to an autistic brother, Scotty has a outlook on life that is influenced by her sibling. But when a casual action leads to tragic results, Scotty struggles like she never has before.
An homage to the obstacles our human spirit can overcome, indeed overcome with grace. Beautiful. ( )
  geraldinefm | Apr 3, 2013 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 6 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
In the future, when I imagine I might be famous or infamous for something I've done, I suppose people will ask what it was that brought me to that place.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Scotty compares herself to tofu: no flavor unless you add something. And it's true that Scotty's friends, Misha and Faclone, and her brother, Keone, make life delicious. But when a terrible accident occurs, Scotty feels responsible for the loss of someone she hardly knew, and the world goes wrong. She cannot tell what is a dream and what is real. Her friends are having a hard time getting through to her and her family is preoccupied with their own trauma. But the prospect of a boy, a dance, and the possibility that everything can fall back into place soon help Scotty realize that she is capable of adding her own flavor to life"--Provided by publisher.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.94)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 8
4.5 3
5 1

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 201,897,713 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível