Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

His Majesty's Hope

por Susan Elia MacNeal

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: Maggie Hope (3)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
6055839,561 (3.59)41
Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. Historical Fiction. HTML:NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.
World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive??a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad??and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war??and of her own past.
"You'll be [Maggie Hope's] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes."??O: The Oprah Magazine
From the Trade Paperback e
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 41 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 59 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Elise is the daughter of Clara and Maggie's half sister. She is a nurse at the Charitie hospital and discovers that the Nazis are euthanizing children with deformities. Working with a local priest, she looks for ways to save lives.

Maggie has just completed her SOE training following her prior mission protecting Princess Elizabeth. In London, she reconnects with Hugh for one night and finds that David has found Mr. Wright. However, her next mission comes quickly: carry radio supplies to Germany and plant a listening device in her mother, Clara's, study while attending party with a Nazi officer who is part of the underground resistance. Her mission is quickly completed at the party where she also meets Elise, but Maggie is offered a potential position with another Nazi official that seems too good to pass up.

The two women ultimately must work together to help Maggie and others escape but the results of the mission leave Maggie with physical and mental scars that may end her intelligence career.



  4leschats | Jun 13, 2024 |
book 3-KIRKUS REVIEWA dangerous trip to Berlin becomes a life-altering experience for a British spy.Maggie Hope is a Brit raised by an aunt in America who returned to London, where she learned many things about the supposedly dead parents she barely knew. Her father is a scientist working to break German codes, her mother a Nazi agent whom Maggie outwitted in her last adventure (Princess Elizabeth?s Spy, 2012). Now she has undergone rigorous training to be sent to Germany, where her quick wits and excellent German just may let her pull off a dangerous mission. She is parachuted into Germany, where she is posing as the girlfriend of Gottlieb Lerner, a Nazi who is really a devout Catholic involved with local priests working to thwart Nazi plans. Her job: deliver radio crystals and plant a microphone in the home office of her mother, Clara Hess. Maggie meets her half sister Elise, a nurse who has recently discovered that the government is busily carrying out their secret plan of race purification by killing children and others whom they consider defective in any way. Elise is boldly hiding a British pilot and the Jewish husband of a fellow nurse in her mother?s attic while working to find proof of the mass killings. When Maggie gets a chance to work for a Nazi involved in the program, a horrified Lerner tries to get her to return to Britain, but Maggie is determined to get proof that the program exists.Maggie continues her winning ways with more thrills and romantic problems, but this time, the horrors of her experiences add depth to the already pleasing adventures.
  bentstoker | Jan 26, 2024 |
Oh dear. Such a disappointment. Partly because the series had been a bit on the fluffy, fuzzy side and with this book it is neither of those. It is dark and the main character loses her charm by the end of the book. Granted the story line is about the SOE and Hitler’s Germany (maybe too close to home to read?) but there is also an overwhelming thread of Catholicism from two of the characters to the point that there is much quoting of scripture. Given the fact that the CC was silently complicit to some extent, this is interesting. It was new to me, however, that two well known bishops and more priests did stand up and condemn Hitler and the camps. Nonetheless, this was a disturbing read in some ways: it seems to change its mood from the previous books; the main character undergoes a fundamental personality change; and the ending clearly hints at a sequel. The train went off the tracks for me. ( )
  PattyLee | Dec 14, 2021 |
Wonderful third book in a series for which I anxiously await the fourth book!

Review listed here ( )
  knittinkitties | Aug 23, 2021 |
The third installment in this series is a little less fun and a little more dark than expected. That’s only because it exposes one of the most gruesome operations of the Nazis. The story revolves around how this exposé affects the lives of Maggie, Elise and Father Licht. Even on a broader level, this book describes how the actions in war might seem relevant during the situation but are more harder to accept in hindsight. Maggie’s character grows a lot in this book; she is courageous and able to quickly think on her feet in dangerous situations but she is still sensitive and finds it hard to reconcile with the evil in the world and her own actions. Even though there was hardly any mystery in this book, I think it’s a setup for character development and hopefully, better mysteries in the next books. ( )
  ksahitya1987 | Aug 20, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 59 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
MacNeal, Susan Eliaautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Blanchette, Dana LeighDesignerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Duerden, SusanNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Stvan, Thomas BeckDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Wiggins, MickArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence a Série

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The right of personal freedom recedes before the duty to preserve the race.  There must be no half-measures.
-Adolf Hitler
In the higher ranges of Secret Service work, the actual facts in many cases were in every respect equal to the most fantastic inventions of romance and melodrama.  Tangle within tangle, plot and counter-plot ,ruse and treachery, cross and double-cross, true agent, false agent, double agent, gold and steel, the bomb, the dagger and the firing party, were interwoven in many a texture so intricate as to be incredible and yet true.  The Chief and the High Officers of the Secret Service reveled in these subterranean labyrinths, and pursued their task with cold and silent passion.
-Winston Churchill
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Idria Barone Knecht
Thank you
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The urn the ashes came in was beautiful -- shiny and black, with an enamel swastika on one side.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. Historical Fiction. HTML:NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.
World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive??a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad??and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war??and of her own past.
"You'll be [Maggie Hope's] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes."??O: The Oprah Magazine
From the Trade Paperback e

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Susan Elia MacNeal's book His Majesty's Hope was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Autor LibraryThing

Susan Elia MacNeal é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal no LibraryThing.

página de perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.59)
0.5 2
1 5
1.5 2
2 8
2.5 3
3 38
3.5 23
4 68
4.5 4
5 23

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 207,122,722 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível