Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...
MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
16511127,559 (3.63)7
"In 88 B.C. it seems as if all the world is at war. From Rome to Greece and to Egypt itself, most of civilization is on the verge of war. The young Gordianus--a born-and-raised Roman citizen--is living in Alexandria, making ends meet by plying his trade of solving puzzles and finding things out for pay. He whiles away his time with his slave Bethesda, waiting for the world to regain its sanity. But on the day Gordianus turns twenty-two, Bethesda is kidnapped by brigands who mistake her for a rich man's mistress. If Gordianus is to find and save Bethesda, who has come to mean more to him than even he suspected, he must find the kidnappers before they realize their mistake and cut their losses. Using all the skills he learned from his father, Gordianus must track them down and convince them that he can offer something of enough value in exchange for Bethesda's release. As the streets of Alexandria slowly descend into chaos, and the citizenry begin to riot with rumors of an impending invasion by Ptolmey's brother, Gordianus finds himself in the midst of a very bold and dangerous plot--the raiding and pillaging of the golden sarcophagus of Alexander the Great himself." --… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 7 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Bethesda has been mistaken for a rich merchant's mistress and kidnapped for ransom. Gordianus to the rescue.

A romp of an adventure inspired by Ancient Greek novels. Unfortunately not as exciting as a more detailed summary of events might lead one to believe. ( )
  Robertgreaves | Dec 4, 2018 |
A disappointment. Also very artificial and unbelievable. The young Gordianus joins a bandit gang to rescue his slave, Bethesda, also his beloved. I have no desire to read upcoming volumes. ( )
  janerawoof | Mar 9, 2016 |
Steven Saylor is back with an exciting [second] prequel featuring Gordianus the Finder. And it is a fast-paced, thrilling ride into the ancient Delta of the Nile! Now 22, Gordianus' story takes us from Alexandria to a nest of bandits and then back to Alexandria trying to regain of the love of his life [and future wife] Bethesda. In the process, there are encounters with mime troops, kidnappers, gambling dens, cutthroats, ruffians and lions. This is one of Saylor's best! ( )
  dbsovereign | Jan 26, 2016 |
Raiders of the Nile is something of a departure for the Roma Sub Rosa books, in that it makes no pretense to being a mystery. The question of whether Bethesda or the actress she resembles was kidnapped is settled very quickly (the fact that it was Bethesda is even revealed in the cover blurb), as is who was behind the kidnapping. Gordianus does a very small bit of detecting to unravel a conspiracy near the end of the book. The author's note claims Greek novels as a major inspiration for the story, and that is an appropriate comparison. It is an adventure tale, not quite as fantastic as the ancients might have made it, but certainly a bit larger than life at times. ( )
  Unreachableshelf | Jan 25, 2016 |
This is the second of the prequel novels featuring Gordianus the Finder as a young man, now living in Alexandria where he has met his slave and future wife Bethesda. Following the travelogue approach of The Seven Wonders, this novel is a more straightforward narrative involving kidnapping, bandits and turbulent Egyptian politics. I found the storyline and the eventual resolution of the plot strands a little far-fetched, though as usual Saylor's characters are all well rounded and believable, even quite minor ones. A good read, though again not up there with the best of the Gordianus novels. ( )
1 vote john257hopper | May 7, 2015 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
"From Alexandrian streets to delta clearings, Saylor maintains his mastery of historical fiction, giving us enough description and color to set the scene without swamping us with his research."
adicionada por bookfitz | editarUSA Today, Robert Bianco (Mar 1, 2014)
 
"Fans of James Lee Burke or Lee Child will enjoy a two-millennium time shift to tour the dark corners of ancient Egypt."
adicionada por bookfitz | editarKirkus Reivews (Mar 1, 2014)
 
"Spot-on period detail and tight plotting elevate bestseller Saylor’s 14th novel featuring ancient Roman sleuth Gordianus the Finder (after 2012’s The Seven Wonders)."
adicionada por bookfitz | editarPublishers Weekly (Dec 9, 2013)
 
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
It irks me the Eurypyle, so glamorous,
For boorish Artemon has cravings amorous.
He used to go out shabby and threadbare
With wooden earrings poking from his hair.
Wrapped in a smelly oxhide cloak
Repurposed from a shield, he was a joke,
A good-for-nothing crook and a bore,
Seen now with a cook, now with a whore,
Making a criminal living.
Often I saw him in the stocks, giving
A yelp as he was slapped about
And had his hair and beard plucked out.
But now the son of Kyke appears
In a chariot, with gold rings in his ears,
Carrying an ivory sunshade -
Worthy of a pretty maid?
-Anacreon, c. 500 B.C.
Poetae Melici Graeci 43
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Like any young Roman who found himself living in the most exciting city on earth - Alexandria, capital of Egypt - I had a long list of things I wanted to do, but taking part in a raid to steal the golden sarcophagus of Alexander the Great had never been among them.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (2)

"In 88 B.C. it seems as if all the world is at war. From Rome to Greece and to Egypt itself, most of civilization is on the verge of war. The young Gordianus--a born-and-raised Roman citizen--is living in Alexandria, making ends meet by plying his trade of solving puzzles and finding things out for pay. He whiles away his time with his slave Bethesda, waiting for the world to regain its sanity. But on the day Gordianus turns twenty-two, Bethesda is kidnapped by brigands who mistake her for a rich man's mistress. If Gordianus is to find and save Bethesda, who has come to mean more to him than even he suspected, he must find the kidnappers before they realize their mistake and cut their losses. Using all the skills he learned from his father, Gordianus must track them down and convince them that he can offer something of enough value in exchange for Bethesda's release. As the streets of Alexandria slowly descend into chaos, and the citizenry begin to riot with rumors of an impending invasion by Ptolmey's brother, Gordianus finds himself in the midst of a very bold and dangerous plot--the raiding and pillaging of the golden sarcophagus of Alexander the Great himself." --

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 14
3.5 3
4 19
4.5 2
5 3

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 159,052,671 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível