Página InicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Já deu uma olhada no SantaThing, a tradição de oferta de prendas do LibraryThing?
dispensar
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Flyover Lives: A Memoir por Diane Johnson
A carregar...

Flyover Lives: A Memoir (edição 2014)

por Diane Johnson (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
583365,523 (2.8)1
"From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--… (mais)
Membro:MissKito
Título:Flyover Lives: A Memoir
Autores:Diane Johnson (Autor)
Informação:Plume (2014), Edition: Reprint, 288 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

Flyover Lives: A Memoir por Diane Johnson

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 3 de 3
I received this book as a Goodreads Giveaway.

I'd like to apologize to the author for taking so long to post a review. I had a lot going on around my haven, including a new puppy and that has put me behind on my reading.

This book was a tad different from my regular reading material (which varies). It took me a little while to grow an interest in the book, but as I continued through I began to enjoy it more. Diane Johnson is a wonderful writer and this book shares some of her family history along with stories from various parts of her life. There's a lot of nostalgia in the book that I could relate to despite the generation difference. I most enjoyed the parts about the summer house and teenage years. As she stated, it seems to be more of a travel book and though I struggled in the beginning I am glad that I completed it. I can understand some people's frustration but I don't understand the extremely low ratings. I believe it is worth the read and I appreciate the opportunity to do so. ( )
  Luna.Falena | May 31, 2014 |
Very disappointing and I didn't finish it. I've never read Johnson and this sounded intriguing but it was not. I found it dull and flat. ( )
  ccayne | Mar 19, 2014 |
I don’t review books I don’t like; there is always the possibility that it is just me.

So all I will say is that I did not like this book. I read it, cover to cover, but I had to force myself to keep reading. I didn’t take anything away from it.

My favorite part was the beautiful cover. And that’s it.

Apologies. Most likely it is just me. ( )
  debnance | Feb 16, 2014 |
Mostrando 3 de 3
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (2.8)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 5
3.5
4 2
4.5
5

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 164,328,298 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível