Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Crimson Bound: Rosamund Hodge por Rosamund…
A carregar...

Crimson Bound: Rosamund Hodge (edição 2016)

por Rosamund Hodge (Autor)

Séries: Cruel Beauty (related)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
5742932,089 (3.7)10
An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy--perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. When Rachelle was fifteen she was good--apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless--straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat. Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand--the man she hates most--Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?… (mais)
Membro:CaileyRaine
Título:Crimson Bound: Rosamund Hodge
Autores:Rosamund Hodge (Autor)
Informação:BalzerBray (2016), Edition: Reprint, 464 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Crimson Bound por Rosamund Hodge

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 10 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
This book had an enthralling first sentence: “In all your life, your only choice… is the path of needles or the path of pins.” It drew me in right away. I think it's a Rosamund-Hodge-thing; even with Cruel Beauty, my attention was captured with the first sentence.

The author’s writing style (descriptive writing and dialogue) is something to be admired. In some places, it is almost poetic, filled with metaphors and details. The following piece from the book is so cool:

“That is why I want you to come with me so you can be reconciled with God and find peace.”
“I’d rather confess to the devil,” said Rachelle.

I can see that fierce and feisty girl being rebellious and not caring about stating her honest and profane opinion, even if it gives others a rather disagreeable impression of her. I commend Rachelle’s strong, feministic and determined personality.

I enjoyed reading about the myths from the past that helped make the current story sense. The world building in the past and the present were perfectly interconnected.

However, at the start of the book I thought the story was more slow-paced, which I wasn’t a fan of, especially because I like fast-paced books. I enjoyed the second half of the book more, because it was filled with activity and liveliness.

Also, I grabbed this book because I highly enjoyed Cruel Beauty by the same author. I was looking for dark romance, which sadly wasn’t abundant in this book.

Anyway, I would recommend this book to readers who like to see a strong female protagonist with assertion and vigour in her soul. And of course… to anyone who likes magic. ( )
  Elowyn_G | Jul 21, 2021 |
Originally thought that this was supposed to be a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, as [b:Cruel Beauty|15839984|Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe, #1)|Rosamund Hodge|https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1371652590s/15839984.jpg|21580669] was for Beauty and the Beast. I saw it a lot more in the other and probably would have liked this a bit more had I not thought that.

There is a lot of beautiful visuals and fairly interesting worldbuilders. Unfortunately, it feels like it should be more interesting than it actually is. There are some interesting concepts in there (bloodbound made by murder, etc), but they're barely fleshed out. On top of that, apparently the world was ending and... no one seemed to care? Except some people knew all along and pass along magic swords to save the day? Meh.

Rachelle is interesting enough. She regrets what she's done but is making the most of it. On the other hand, Armand and Erec make a pretty terrible love triangle and neither seemed particularly likable to me. Writing a love interesting without hands was... an interesting idea. Still didn't care about him.

Also, what's with all of the makeup?

Overall, it's not the worst book ever, but Cruel Beauty is better. So it goes. ( )
  jpv0 | Jul 21, 2021 |
I loved this dark Little Red Riding Hood retelling. Rachelle and Armand are great characters. Their romance is not instant nor is it easy. I loved it. I will definitely be reading more by this author. ( )
  Emmybird01 | Jan 21, 2021 |
I regularly enjoy going into a book blind, with no notion of what the book is about or if it is based on something. In this case, I knew the story was based on a fairytale, but I had not read enough about it to know which one, nor did I look closely at the cover before diving in. That being said, it was pretty obvious to me that this was a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. I didn't know about the second tale until I was finished reading (although I have never heard of the Girl with No Hands, so that wouldn't have meant much to me).

I really enjoyed reading Cruel Beauty, so I had somewhat higher expectations going into this one. The writing style was still excellent, and characters were well developed and had complexity, which is something I really like about a great book.

I highly recommend this for fans of Cruel Beauty, Nancy Werlin's Impossible, and Heather Dixon's Entwined. ( )
  Mirandalg14 | Oct 23, 2020 |
This took me a while to get into, the first part of the book felt disjointed and didn't pull me in. However, the last part of the book made it worthwhile and all the pieces pulled together. ( )
  Tip44 | Jun 30, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Belongs to Series

Cruel Beauty (related)
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For my mother, who taught me one half of how to be brave, and my father, who taught me the other half
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This story begins with endless night and infinite forest; with two orphaned children, and two swords made of broken bone. It has not ended yet.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy--perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. When Rachelle was fifteen she was good--apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless--straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat. Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand--the man she hates most--Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.7)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 4
2.5 4
3 33
3.5 5
4 45
4.5 2
5 18

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,314,485 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível