Página InicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Lie (2015)

por C. L. Taylor

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
17515124,512 (3.55)1
Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and Daughter. Jane Hughes has a great boyfriend, a job in an animal shelter, and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She's happier than she's ever been...but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist. Five years earlier, Jane and her best friends set off on what was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, but it rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of her friends. Ever since, Jane has tried to put the past behind her and lead a normal life. But someone out there knows the truth about what happened-and they won't stop until they've destroyed Jane and everything she loves.… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 1-5 de 15 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
4.5 stars.

Weaving seamlessly between past and present, The Lie by C.L. Taylor is a riveting mystery about a vacation gone horribly wrong.

Five years earlier, Emma Woolfe, Daisy Hamilton, Al Gideon and Leanne Cooper go on an extended in Nepal. The four women have been friends for years and although there is some tension between them, their friendship seems to be fairly solid. Hoping to take Al's mind off her recent breakup, Leanne proposes the women spend three weeks in Nepal and they soon set off on their journey. Initially, the trip goes off without a hitch; however, once they arrive at the Ekanta Yatra mountain top retreat, tension builds as jealousy and lies take their toll on their friendship. As their vacation takes a dark and sinister turn, Emma does not know who to trust and after a series of harrowing events, only two of the four women return home.

While the four friends initially enjoy some aspects of the retreat, Emma and Al are not as enthralled by Ekanta Yatra as Leanne and Daisy. Isaac, the charismatic leader, is charming and sexy. The first cracks in the women's friendship appear after Daisy makes it very clear that she interested in Isaac and she becomes jealous when he pays attention to her friends. The friends are soon divided and Emma is essentially ostracized as Leanne, Daisy and Al close ranks. As the situation worsens at the retreat, she uncovers some very unsettling secrets about one of her friends. After one of her frenemies begins a concerted campaign to turn everyone against her, Emma begins to fear for her life. Conditions at the retreat continue to deteriorate but her loyalty to her friends soon puts her in grave danger.

In the present, Emma, having changed her name to Jane Hughes, is living a peaceful life in Wales where she works at an animal rescue. Having recently entered into a relationship with Will Smart, she has finally achieved a measure of peace that is shattered once she begins receiving eerie messages that make it very clear someone knows who she is. Jane is also very troubled by the realization this person has inside information about what happened at Ekanta Yatra. Shaken and frightened, Jane/Emma grows increasingly alarmed as the situation escalates and once again, she does not know who to trust.

With the chapters alternating between past and present, the horrifying events from Nepal are slowly revealed as Jane tries to figure out who could be stalking her. The tension slowly mounts as Jane reflects back on the events that occurred at Ekanta Yatra as her stalker continues sending her threatening messages. Knowing she must turn to someone for help, Jane takes Will into her confidence but his reaction to her story is unnerving. With every passing day, she grows more and more fearful until finally, she is forced to go to the police, who eventually uncover stunning information that shocks and terrifies Jane.

Full of deceit and treachery, The Lie is an intriguing thriller that will keep readers on the edge of their seats from beginning to end. C.L. Taylor does an absolutely brilliant job building the suspense as the events from Nepal are slowly revealed while the situation in the present gradually becomes more dangerous. A dark and gritty tale about a toxic friendship that goes horribly wrong, I highly recommend this spellbinding mystery to anyone fans of the genre.
( )
1 vote kbranfield | Feb 3, 2020 |
Full review to come! ( )
  Floratina | Dec 7, 2019 |
Present day and Jane Hughes is happy working in an animal sanctuary and living in Wales. She has a new boyfriend and things are going well until she starts to get unsettling messages. Five years ago four friends, Emma, Al, Leanne and Daisy go on a holiday to Nepal and stay at an isolated retreat. The holiday of a life time becomes the holiday from Hell.

The premise of this book sounded really good and the story did draw me in. Told in past and present the reader follows Emma and Jane as their stories unfold. For the majority of the book I was totally engrossed and enjoyed it.

Both timelines did have a sense of dread and not knowing what was going to happen next. I found myself ploughing through the book very quickly as I wanted to know what was going on. The past sections especially I enjoyed as I think I can say the retreat was like a cult which I always find interesting.

The actual friendship between the four girls does ask the question to how strong it really was. With the envy and competition between the girls it did add something to the story.

For me however I felt the big reveal let the story down. I was expecting a big twist and it didn't really happen. The whys and hows did make sense and didn't spoil but just didn't have the wow.

I enjoyed the book overall and would recommend and read more by the author. ( )
  tina1969 | Dec 5, 2018 |
Another reading group book crashes and burns. I disliked the characters from the beginning and after the first chapter in Nepal I skim read those sections. I found the present day sections more readable but this was a really boring book which I couldn't wait to finish. ( )
  infjsarah | May 12, 2018 |
The title implies this story hinges on one big lie, but actually there are a number of lies told. ‘The Lie’ by CL Taylor is an examination of the group dynamic between four girlfriends who go on holiday together, seeking catharsis and finding horror. Before, during and after the holiday there is friction and bitching but once in Nepal they find betrayal, lies, bullying, intimidation and violence. Then five years later, the past threatens again.
The story is told in parallel – now, as Jane, who works at an animal rescue centre, receives a mysterious letter; and five years earlier, when Jane [then called Emma] went to a yoga retreat in Nepal with her friends, Daisy, Al and Leanne. When Emma starts to be suspicious of the retreat and the people who run it, it is too late to escape.
Unfortunately I didn't connect emotionally with Jane or her three friends. I found them unsympathetic at the beginning and inter-changeable, which meant it was longer before I ‘got’ the book. The age of the friends, and their partying, made this feel more like a chick-lit book than CL Taylor’s debut, ‘The Accident’. A yoga retreat in Nepal seemed an expensive place for the four of them to go, and when they arrive it is shabby and short of food: all things which set my alarm bells ringing.
It will make you never want to go on a yoga holiday.
Read more of my book reviews at http://www.sandradanby.com/book-reviews-a-z/ ( )
  Sandradan1 | Feb 15, 2017 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 15 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and Daughter. Jane Hughes has a great boyfriend, a job in an animal shelter, and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She's happier than she's ever been...but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist. Five years earlier, Jane and her best friends set off on what was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, but it rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of her friends. Ever since, Jane has tried to put the past behind her and lead a normal life. But someone out there knows the truth about what happened-and they won't stop until they've destroyed Jane and everything she loves.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.55)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5 1
3 12
3.5 2
4 10
4.5
5 8

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 164,592,376 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível