Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

The Lies We Tell por Meg Carter
A carregar...

The Lies We Tell (edição 2015)

por Meg Carter

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
171978,625 (4)Nenhum(a)
The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; one night Katy's house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked. And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy's current life... For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on a Train, THE LIES WE TELL is an addictive, complex and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect. Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, as the story reaches its explosive climax, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family - nothing and no-one are what they seem.… (mais)
Membro:TheEllieMo
Título:The Lies We Tell
Autores:Meg Carter
Informação:Canelo, Kindle Edition, 295 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:to-read

Pormenores da obra

The Lies We Tell por Meg Carter

Nenhum(a).

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

"Because the lies we tell are nothing compared to the lies we tell ourselves".
Meg Carter's debut was a thoroughly spine-chilling and tense novel that I found hard to put down from page one. Switching between 1989 and 2013, this is the story of Katy or Kat and Jude who were kind of "pseudo"-friends at school until an incident during a school trip leaves one injured and the other suddenly moves away. Now, all these years later, Jude suddenly gets back in touch with Katy just as eerie and unsettling things start happening in Katy's life. A really suspenseful plot full of secrets and lies that keeps you guessing and turning the pages.
I am usually not a great fan of books that keep going back and forth in time, but as the layers were revealed bit by bit and Katy was dealing with her repressed memories, it worked well here.
My only minor point of frustration, I couldn't buy into the weird relationship between Katy and her partner Michael. There was something seriously wrong there, but I suppose it fits the "the lies we tell ourselves"-theme.
But that aside, this is definitely a fantastic psychological thriller that will keep your attention throughout. 4.5 stars
Thanks to the publisher Canelo and to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Pet12 | Dec 3, 2015 |
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; one night Katy's house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked. And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy's current life... For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on a Train, THE LIES WE TELL is an addictive, complex and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect. Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, as the story reaches its explosive climax, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family - nothing and no-one are what they seem.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 155,572,280 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível