Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Jane Steele por Lyndsay Faye
A carregar...

Jane Steele (original 2016; edição 2016)

por Lyndsay Faye (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
8997017,953 (4.04)178
'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths ** JANE STEELE HAS BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2017 ** Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors. A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?… (mais)
Membro:heroineinabook
Título:Jane Steele
Autores:Lyndsay Faye (Autor)
Informação:G.P. Putnam's Sons (2016), 427 pages
Colecções:Library Checkouts
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:ebook, historical-fiction, lady-power, library-check-out, 2018, british-period, bronte, meta-fiction, reviews

Pormenores da obra

Jane Steele por Lyndsay Faye (2016)

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 178 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 70 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
The story of Jane Steele (born in the 1830s) as told my herself with reference to her favourite book -Jane Eyre. Yes 'Reader, I murdered him' - the difference in their stories is that she does kill.
The more I read of this book the more I enjoyed it and the characters.
Will look out of more of her books.
A NetGalley book ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
Jane Steele is a young woman in nineteenth century England, who reads a book called Jane Eyre and sees in it some similarities in their circumstances, inspiring her to write down an account of her own life. And there are similarities, from the cold aunt to the harsh boarding school to her later job as a governess. But while they share similar personalities -- both are loving and loyal and brave -- Steele has a decidedly different reaction to mistreatment, which results in her needing to avoid a detective named Sam Quillfeather. She's still shocked by what she finds in her employer's cellar, but her willingness to take action will be necessary to save that same employer from the man from the East India Company.

This novel is written in the style of a Victorian novel and despite the protagonist's propensity to needful murders, retains that feel through out. I enjoyed it enormously. Jane is a wonderful character and the way the novel echos and diverges from its inspiration was a lot of fun for this Jane Eyre fan. This is well-written entertainment. ( )
  RidgewayGirl | Jul 12, 2021 |
4.5* This was a little slow in the middle but I loved the plot, character development, and the big reveal! ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
It’s been a long time since I read Jane Eyre, so I cannot speak to how closely Lyndsay Faye’s new novel follows the structure of that classic novel, but it is very clear that Jane Steele is an adaptation, with a twist: Jane’s actions in the book point toward psychopathic tendencies – she’s a murderess. I was intrigued, and a little nervous, about reading this book, because I wasn’t sure how the author would portray the protagonist, based on the description. However, it soon becomes clear that Jane only murders bad people, typically men who are abusive to people she cares about. The fact that she cares for so many of the people she encounters in the novel lead me to realize that Jane isn’t really a psychopath at all, but a tool for vengeance in a time when justice, especially for women, was rare. The story follows her early years, banishment to a cruel boarding school, homelessness, brief employment writing the last words of executed prisoners, to finally working incognito as a governess at the estate Jane was supposed to inherit from her family. I enjoyed reading this Jane’s story, but the introduction of Jane Steele’s familiarity with the actual Jane Eyre novel seems out of place to the narrative. It’s a fine adaptation, but reading that Jane Steele is a fan of the novel Jane Eyre brought a discordant feeling to this reader. Other than that one negative, I enjoyed getting to know Jane Steele, who survives a childhood of horrors, but gets her revenge in the end. Other Jane Eyre adaptations I’ve come across recently are Ironskin by Tina Connolly, a historical fantasy, a YA title called simply Jane by April Lindner and last year’s Re Jane by Patricia Park.

( )
1 vote KellyWellRead | Dec 17, 2020 |
Reader, I was disappointed.

When I heard "Jane Eyre as serial killer," I expected some wickedly delicious hijinks, along the lines of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (though infinitely less stupid as PPZ ended up being). I was hoping that Jane would become a sly and unreliable narrator that messed with us and made us root for her diabolical ways. I hoped for an analogous plot that would start with the (hopefully) gruesome murders of Mrs. Reed, Eliza, Georgiana, and John and concluding with Bertha and Jane jointly taking out Mr. Rochester and then running off to the Caribbean to sip mimosas and high five over the very bad man they killed. Alas.

I was hoping for *American Psycho* meets Charles Dickens at his most devilish, and I instead got Charlotte Bronte meets Ann Radcliffe. Sigh.

Jane Steele is an orphan like Jane Eyre, and the novel starts with her resentment at being dependent on her aunt's grudging charity. Her cousin Edwin is a disgusting pig, and the novel begins with a confession: "Reader, I murdered him." Delicious. Unfortunately, the promise at so sly and cryptic a confession does not pan out. Jane's killings are all in self-defense or are completely understandable if you also justify Bob Ewell "falling on his own knife" in *To Kill a Mockingbird* (which, yes, we all accept that explanation, because Bob Ewell is a very bad man). Despite promises of Jane being wicked, she doesn't actually know how to be truly bad.

Don't even get me started on the Rochester character. He's so good, it's boring. Rochester is a very bad man, and changing him almost completely doesn't really fit the book's premise.

What I *did* like was the whole Anglo-Sikh history and conversation. That part would be useful for introducing the colonial aspects of the English empire and that Jane Eyre the novel only hints at with Bertha. This would be a useful companion to Jane Eyre, especially if you taught Wide Sargasso Sea for that reason.

If romance and history is your thing, you will probably love this novel very much. I tend to prefer satire and dark lit-fic, and this did not fulfill my particular tastes. ( )
  DrFuriosa | Dec 4, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 70 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Foi inspirada por

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This book is humbly dedicated to Miss Eyre and Mr. Nickleby.
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths ** JANE STEELE HAS BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2017 ** Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors. A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (4.04)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 5
2.5 3
3 42
3.5 17
4 83
4.5 25
5 66

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 160,564,054 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível