Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

A Closed and Common Orbit

por Becky Chambers

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: Wayfarers (2)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,7931735,183 (4.26)253
Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

National Bestseller!

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera??the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for??and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars… (mais)

Adicionado recentemente poremeraldik, readingwhetstone, Anechoe, jessicapartridge, jcm790, Amateria66, FatimaElf, biblioteca privada, chechesliger
  1. 60
    All Systems Red por Martha Wells (2wonderY)
    2wonderY: The ethical dilemmas and questions on the meaning of humanity inform both stories.
  2. 00
    Lock In por John Scalzi (g33kgrrl)
    g33kgrrl: Lock In deals with humans using adaptive technology and what that means; A Closed and Common Orbit deals with humans and AIs and AIs using adaptive technology and what that means.
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 253 menções

Inglês (170)  Italiano (1)  Todas as línguas (171)
Mostrando 1-5 de 171 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Didn't read the first book in the series (yet) so this read as a stand-alone for me, and I loved it.

Re-reading the series 2023 and still loving it. ( )
  Abcdarian | May 18, 2024 |
I quite enjoyed the first Wayfarer's entry, A Long Way to An Angry Planet, especially the large cast of well-drawn out and distinctive characters. Common Orbit draws out two minor characters from Book 1. I was initially saddened to realize I wouldn't spend time with any of the main crew from the first series installment, but in the end, I was impressed by what Chambers did with fewer characters "at home" versus a big group of beings making their way across the universe. Chambers delivers again, as long as you're not expecting conventional storytelling where, which is also true of Angry Planet. Her books are very much in the slice-of-life vein, with the journey granted more importance than the destination. However, while Angry Planet was positioned amidst a "road trip", Common Orbit's journeys are primarily interior ones rooted in survival and resilience. In both books, Chambers expresses a diversity of gender, sexuality, and cultural or societal norms in a matter-of-fact way that bucks the tradition of violence and denunciation that dominates headlines. All in all, I find it refreshing to spend time in the world's Chambers has created. There's a reason some have taken to describing her books as "comfort" or "cozy" sci fi, even if sometimes meant disparagingly. Readers who prefer to be discomfited or seeking something less character driven should look elsewhere. ( )
  mpho3 | May 17, 2024 |
My review of this book can be found on my YouTube Vlog at:

https://youtu.be/pKMV6JYCJX8

Enjoy! ( )
  booklover3258 | May 14, 2024 |
A Closed and Common Orbit is the second book in Becky Chambers' Wayfarer series. I absolutely loved the first book (A Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet), but I was lukewarm about its sequel.

This book follows technician Pepper, and an AI unit from the Wayfarer ship whose name is Sidra. The book goes back and forth in time: in one chapter we are reading about Pepper (then known as Jane) from her tenth year to her nineteenth, and in the next chapter we follow Sidra as she struggles to get used to her human-like appearance and to understand how life and social interaction works in Port Coriol. The changes of time and character are well-marked and caused me no confusion.

The first half, approximately, of the book was really absorbing and fun. I don't know when it stopped being enjoyable and turned into just a random book I was reading. I do know that I was dissatisfied with the ending of the book, and with some of the decisions that the characters made in the chapters leading up to the finale. I thought that the characters acted in ways that would not be typical for them, and although their choices could be construed as bravery, I saw it as an attempt to find roles for all the main characters in the denoument. I had to read the last two chapters two times apiece to try to sort out what the various parties were doing.

Reading the book wasn't a waste of my time, and I am curious to find out where Chambers goes next in her writing. There is a sequel available, which I plan to read. I hope it is more satisfying than this installment was. ( )
  ahef1963 | May 5, 2024 |
An "equel" (not prequel or sequel) to The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Focuses on a secondary character that makes a brief appearance in the first book and none of the main characters.

This is a quiet, well-written novel tracking the earlier lives of two characters (in flashback) after they have met. It is one of the better books I have read that models how we would navigate tolerance of/coexistence with other (alien) races. Doesn't delve much into what it means to be "a person" as I would have expected. ( )
  Dorothy2012 | Apr 22, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 171 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Chambers, Beckyautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Aquan, Richard L.Designer da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Doll, ChristopherArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Dulude, RachelNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Rodríguez, PatriciaNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Szafranski, Paula RussellDesignerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For my parents and for Berlaug, respectively
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lovelace had been in a body for twenty-eight minutes, and it still felt every bit as wrong as it had the second she woke up inside it.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Jane let out a sob she hadn't known was there. Oouoh sat up with a start. 'Oh - oh, what the fuck, he said. 'Shit, let's get you to the med ward, come on -'
Jane stared at him, 'What? Why? I'm fine.'
'Uh, no, you're ...your eyes are leaking.'
Jane laughed, which was heard to do while crying. 'No, no, this' she sniffed hard - 'it's just tears. It's okay.'
Oouoh was distraught. 'What about this is okay?'
'We do this. Humans do this when - when we're feeling a lot of things.'
'You leak?'
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

National Bestseller!

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera??the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for??and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.26)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5
2 13
2.5 5
3 102
3.5 27
4 399
4.5 78
5 378

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 206,413,813 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível