Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Legacy por Greg Bear
A carregar...

Legacy (edição 1995)

por Greg Bear (Autor)

Séries: The Eon Series (Prequel), Thistledown (3)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,1761112,540 (3.39)24
A new world has been discovered via a time tunnel. It is called Lamarckia and it is home to novel forms of life, among them hybrids of plants and animals. But access is restricted and the story concerns an agent investigating illegal immigration to this new world.
Membro:Arend.D
Título:Legacy
Autores:Greg Bear (Autor)
Informação:Tor Books (1995), Edition: 1st, 349 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Legacy por Greg Bear

Adicionado recentemente porgoobertellii, EvFire, biblioteca privada, DocHath, McCoyD, BarbaraGriffiths, Mikeabriggs, Jimbookbuff1963, OrderMustBe, Arend.D
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 24 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Well written, but too much planetside strange ecology stuff and boating in there. Not my kettle of fish i'm afraid. Also, not really an Eon book at all, and in that sense disappointing. Two stars, but that's just a personal opinion. ( )
  freetrader | Aug 16, 2020 |
My suspicion is that Bear wanted to do a novel using the strange ecology and biology of Lamarckia and decided to incorporate it into his Way series.

This book is narrated by Olmy, military man, secret agent, and fixer for the Hexamon. We finally learn the details of the mission that got him the gratitude of the Hexamon and an extra bodily incarnation.

It’s a prequel to all the Way novels. Besides Olmy, the only characters that seem to be present from the other books is the gate opener Ry Ornis and Konrad Korzenowski, here still, of course, a downloaded mind residing in an implant in Olmy’s skull.

We hear more of Olmy’s upbringing. While he had Naderite parents, he has Geshel sympathies (hence the implants). He’s ambitious and serving in the Hexamon defense forces and, by his own admission, somewhat callow.

He is selected to go on a secret mission to Lamarckia, one of those planets accessed through the Way. Lamarckia has a strange biology. As the name suggests, life does not operate there on the principles of Darwinian evolution. The planet is divided into zones, ecoi, ruled over by a scion, an entity that creates new biological forms and “samples” (as in taking genetic samples) new lifeforms (even humans) entering its zone and generates new forms. This is not evolution by random mutation sieved through fitness criteria determined by the environment or sexual competition. In fact, there is no sexual reproduction. The different scions don’t reproduce with each other. It is speculated that there may be an intelligence, a queen, directing Lamarckia’s version of evolution in each ecoi.

The political aspects of the story involve a breakway group of Naderites, about 4,000, “divarticates”, who secretly settle Lamarckia and take two of the “clavicles”, the instruments that manipulate openings in the Way, with them. The group was led by Jamie Carr Lenk aka Able Lenk.

The various factions of the upper Hexamon government want to know what’s been happening on Lamarckia and the return of those clavicles.

Stripped of his implants to maintain his cover, Olmy is dumped on Lamarckia.

What he finds when he gets to Lamarckia is that 35 years have passed on the planet, not ten, due to the differential rates of time when passing through an imprecisely tuned gate. Second the colony has experienced famine and now is in the midst of a civil war.

Right from the start, Lenk’s conspiracy was undercut by people who followed him onto Lamarckia but had their own agenda. The inability to grow a lot of normal crops on the planet and its lack of metals further exacerbated the strife.
There were breakaway groups of radical feminists resentful of their status as little more than baby factories. Piracy exists. Children are kidnapped to prop up declining populations. Others have become wistful for the medicines and other technologies they abandoned in the Way. There’s even a small underground expecting a Hexamon agent like Olmy.

I liked the political aspects of the novel, and the final revelations of the personal rancor and slights behind a major political schism seemed realistic.

But I found the exploration of the alien biology tedious at times. Olmy goes on a voyage to finally complete the circumnavigation of Lamarckia and makes friends and starts a love affair.

It all goes wrong at the end. The brutality on Lamarckia ends with an ecological change unleashed by a breakaway group. Olmy, who has been appalled by what he sees in the colony, reconciles himself to it. It’s just another unpleasant episode in human history.

Of course, Olmy survives all this – but not before living a along and unpleasant life on Lamarckia before he is rescued. In keeping with a theme that runs throughout the series, there is an argument on the value of death in human societies.

I’d say, despite the biological speculation – a Bear specialty – this is the least appealing of the Way novels. ( )
1 vote RandyStafford | Dec 14, 2019 |
I've seen this labeled book 1 and 3 by different services, and after reading it, I think it made the most sense as book 3. It's a "prequel" to the other two (almost standalone) that describes one of the main character's origins, and it was better than Eternity. Legacy and Eon where both probably equally good books, though Legacy was far more about one man's struggles so might be easier and more engrossing. ( )
  Mactastik | Sep 4, 2019 |
This was a disapointing read from the usually reliable Bear. The best part of this book was the very discriptive way that Bear brought another world to life but too much of the book was on a boat and at times felt more like a O'Brien adventure. ( )
1 vote phollis68 | Apr 9, 2019 |
Very solid, both in terms of the SF speculation, characterization and overall writing, but it was a slog for me to finish. I've not read the books it is a prequel to. Fans of Eon and Eternity may find resonances and foreshadowing that make the story more engaging. It's your basic "fish out of water" story, with an agent (loosely speaking) of an advanced human society, sent to a planet colonized half a century earlier (with some time distortions involved) by several thousand rebels. The story follows the main character as he slowly learns about the lifeforms on the planet, reminiscent of James White's continent-spanning creatures in Major Operation, and the political and social intricacies of the colonies. Until the very end he is primarily an observer. Many things happen, characters change, but none of it really meant much to me. It was all just events in a row. Definitely something I kept feeling like I should like more than I did. ( )
  ChrisRiesbeck | Sep 2, 2015 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (2 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Greg Bearautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculated
Eggleton,BobArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Gold, AnnDesignerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Russo, CarolDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Belongs to Series

The Eon Series (Prequel)

Belongs to Publisher Series

Está contido em

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Bertha Merriman
A pioneer who lived in a tougher time
With love from a grandchild
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
PROLOGUE: JOURNEY YEAR 753

I stood on the lip of the souther bore hole, clutching a service line, and for the first time in my life, stared beyond the mass of Thistledown at the stars.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

A new world has been discovered via a time tunnel. It is called Lamarckia and it is home to novel forms of life, among them hybrids of plants and animals. But access is restricted and the story concerns an agent investigating illegal immigration to this new world.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.39)
0.5 1
1 2
1.5
2 15
2.5 8
3 64
3.5 16
4 54
4.5 4
5 13

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 160,644,815 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível