Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Date with Death

por Julia Chapman

Séries: The Dales Detective (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1065253,057 (3.71)14
"Samson O'Brien has been dismissed from the police force--quite unfairly, according to him. Now back in his home town of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales, Samson sets up the Dales Detective Agency while he fights to clear his name. However, the people of Bruncliffe aren't entirely welcoming to a man they see as trouble. Delilah Metcalfe, meanwhile, is struggling to keep her business, the Dales Dating Agency, afloat. When Samson gets his first case, investigating the supposed suicide of a local man, things take an unexpected turn, and soon he discovers a trail of deaths that lead back to the door of Delilah's agency. With suspicion hanging over someone they both care for, Delilah and Samson soon realize that they need to work together to solve the mystery of the dating deaths. But working together is easier said than done, and the couple must find a way to kiss and make up before more villagers wind up dead. Julia Chapman's Date with Death is the newest installation in the delightful Dales Detective Mystery series"--… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 14 menções

Mostrando 5 de 5
Not my usual read, but I found the whole series in colourful paperback at a local bookshop and was intrigued. I didn't buy the paperback, of course, I 'borrowed' a copy from Kindle Unlimited, but the advertising certainly worked! Also, who can beat a good Yorkshire setting?

Samson and Delilah - see what she did there? - find themselves reluctantly working alongside each other in the small Dales village where they both grew up. She runs the DDA - Dales Dating Agency - and is a computer tech, while he also runs the DDA - Dales Detective Agency - and is on the run from his career in the Metropolitan Police. When three men who signed up for Delilah's speed dating evenings are found dead, Samson is hired to investigate, and Delilah also gets involved.

I did like the characters, despite the cute names, and the supporting cast in Bruncliffe as a whole. Everybody knows everybody else's business, which both helps and hinders the investigation, and very few people are happy to see Samson return after fourteen years down south. The murders kept me guessing, and reading, mainly because I'm useless at picking up clues, and I have already bought book two! (For 99p - now that's Yorkshire economics for you!)

Only one detail - I couldn't help but imagine Samson to look a little like a cross between Fabio, of the old Mills and Boon novels, and a Chippendale - must be the long hair (which I'm guessing is because of his name!) and all the stripping off he does! ( )
  AdonisGuilfoyle | Jun 8, 2023 |
I went in with low expectations, but enjoyed this sweet and slightly ridiculous murder mystery set in a very chocolate box stereotype of the Yorkshire Dales. ( )
  atreic | Sep 12, 2022 |
Light-hearted crime story set in the Yorkshire Dales, which doesn't take itself too seriously. Samson returns to his home town after many years away and being investigated for some unspecified potential misdemeanor, whilst working as an undercover police officer in London. His return isn't welcomed by many locals, given his abrupt departure previously, but he sets up a detective agency in shared premises with Delilah (really), who is running the Dale's Dating Agency. It seems several of the latter's male clients have met an untimely death and Samson is soon asked to investigate by one of the victim's mothers. ( )
1 vote edwardsgt | Aug 30, 2021 |
It says in the blurb on the back of my edition that this novel is for fans of Midsomer Murders, and I can see what is meant by that: there is a continual insistence on the Dales setting (which becomes a little tiresome after a while) and an unfeasibly high body count.

The main characters, Samson (the PI) and Delilah (who runs a dating agency) were likeable, but there was so much setting of the scene, introducing of a myriad of characters, and filling in of the background and histories of the main families, that it took too long for the plot to get going. This is very clearly the first in a series; we never got to the bottom of why Samson had left London, nor what had happened with his family farm and his dad's sheltered accommodation.

Also, despite what the lawyer in the story says, after death a person's will is a matter of public record. ( )
3 vote pgchuis | Dec 28, 2017 |
After a 14-year absence, Samson O'Brien returns to his hometown in the Yorkshire Dales to lie low in the wake of a yet-to-be-revealed incident. O'Brien has been an undercover cop, so he plans to use his skills to earn income as a private detective. Delilah Metcalfe is struggling to keep her Internet dating business afloat. She sets her personal grudge against Samson aside to lease office space for his business since the rental income may be all that keeps her from bankruptcy. When Delilah realizes that a string of “accidental” deaths are linked to her recent speed dating event, she joins forces with Samson to find the killer lurking in their midst.

I found much to enjoy in this mystery debut. The pacing is a little too slow at the beginning of the book, but the reader's patience is rewarded with interesting and well-defined characters, a well-plotted with just the right number of red herrings, and a strong sense of place. The local landscape is integral to the plot and it's difficult to imagine it set anywhere else. The enigma surrounding Samson's sudden return to the Dales is left for development in future series installments, and I'm already impatient for more.

This review is based on an electronic advance reading copy provided by the publisher through NetGalley. ( )
1 vote cbl_tn | Apr 24, 2017 |
Mostrando 5 de 5
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Samson O'Brien has been dismissed from the police force--quite unfairly, according to him. Now back in his home town of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales, Samson sets up the Dales Detective Agency while he fights to clear his name. However, the people of Bruncliffe aren't entirely welcoming to a man they see as trouble. Delilah Metcalfe, meanwhile, is struggling to keep her business, the Dales Dating Agency, afloat. When Samson gets his first case, investigating the supposed suicide of a local man, things take an unexpected turn, and soon he discovers a trail of deaths that lead back to the door of Delilah's agency. With suspicion hanging over someone they both care for, Delilah and Samson soon realize that they need to work together to solve the mystery of the dating deaths. But working together is easier said than done, and the couple must find a way to kiss and make up before more villagers wind up dead. Julia Chapman's Date with Death is the newest installation in the delightful Dales Detective Mystery series"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.71)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2
2.5
3 6
3.5 5
4 9
4.5 3
5 2

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 201,577,128 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível