Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Lost for Words

por Stephanie Butland

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3683752,844 (3.91)11
"The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop. "The Lost for Words Bookshop pushes all my bookish buttons."--Red (Books to Read) "Quirky, clever and unputdownable."--Katie Fforde "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."--Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?"--… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 11 menções

Inglês (35)  Italiano (1)  Alemão (1)  Todas as línguas (37)
Mostrando 1-5 de 37 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Loveday doesn't like the company of people. She has burgundy hair, a nose ring and tattoos. She worked at the Lost for Words Bookshop in York which was owned by an older gentleman named Archie. Loveday had started working at the bookshop when she was 15, after getting permission from her foster-care person, Annabel. Loveday had an ordered life, happily living in a tiny flat not far from the shop. She didn't have many friends, as she was always afraid. She had a deep dark a secret that she thought she was hiding from everyone. One day she found a poetry book. She put notice in the shop's window. Nathan, a magician and poet, saw the notice and claimed his lost book. He took notice of Loveday, even though she was not the least bit interested in a relationship or even friendship. She was having enough trouble trying to rid herself of a college professor, who continually brought her flowers and chocolates. Loveday's life slowly began to change for the better when she allowed Nathan to befriend her. Then books began arriving at the shop, books from her younger days, the days before she was thrust into foster care. She was scared. Was someone going to find out her secret?

This is not the usual type of book for me to read. It seems to be a coming of age, mystery, and romance novel all in one. It is not a fast paced story. However, the author's style got me hooked from the very first sentence. ( )
  Raspberrymocha | Apr 11, 2021 |
Based on the cover of the book - I pictured in my head an entirely different novel - and that is why you never judge a book by it's cover. I thought this book would be cute, quirky, and fun. It was... to an extent - there was also some really deep emotional elements that I wasn't expecting. Loveday Cardew works at the Lost for Words Bookshop; it's her safe space and refuge and she's worked there since she was 16. Books are safer than people - her only real friend and family is Archie, the owner of the book shop. Readers learn pretty early on that Loveday came from a foster home - but finding out what happened to her family takes the whole book. There are flashbacks to when she was 9 living with her real family to when she was in her early twenties dating a college student to the present. Loveday is essentially a hermit but slowly she starts to open up more. She goes to a poetry night, she laughs at jokes, she goes on a date. Maybe it's never to late to change? Cute, heartbreaking, and sentimental. ( )
  ecataldi | Mar 11, 2021 |
Not the charming bookshop romance I was expecting. A good part of the book was spent s-l-o-w-l-y revealing a dark secret from the main character’s past that, honestly, wasn’t worth the buildup. And then it used another character’s mental illness as a plot device to bump up the drama. That only works if the author does their homework so the character doesn't come across as one dimensional. Maybe this didn't click with me because poems and poetry reading were a big part of the story line and I am without a doubt an unpoetic person. ( )
  wandaly | Mar 9, 2021 |
Charming! A good bookshop love story and "coming of age" all in one, with some poetry mixed in. The audio might be key here for the British accents and local York vocabulary, but this was pleasant throughout, though not "fluffy." Loveday Cardew is her own worst enemy. She keeps everything bottled up tight inside and as a result doesn't know how to let people in. Fiercely independent since her teens, at 25 this has become a bit of a liability. However as a bookshop worker - the right hand to eccentric shop owner Archie, she can get away with being anti-social and clinging to her routines of working and reading. Until Nathan shows up in the shop one day. Somehow, over a couple visits
and a little "magic" he entices her out of her shell and convinces her to go to Poetry Night at a local pub. This opens a world for Loveday and inch by painful inch, she learns to love and trust again, second-guessing herself the whole way (truthfully a little tiresome by the very end). She has been burned so often by those she loved that it's a monumental struggle to overcome. Little by little the story of her traumatic childhood gets parceled out to the reader - her memory jogged by several different donations of books that she believes were part of her family at one time. She also made an initial bad choice in dating Rob who hit her. She left the relationship immediately, but he still skulks around the store wishing for her back and stalking her in a passive-aggressive way. He is the true danger in the story, though Loveday believes her past is. As things go well with Nathan, she is face with divulging her story and she resists right to the bitter end, almost losing him in the process. It takes a tragic and dramatic event to finally bring them together and be honest with each other. Told from Loveday's point of view, the story unfolds at the pace she sets and keeps the reader engaged in the reveal of her past as she heals her present and looks to the future. ( )
  CarrieWuj | Oct 24, 2020 |
Quick but moving read. Loveday's world changed in a day when she was 10. Now a young woman, she is vulnerable, heartbroken and anxious. She works in a bookshop she loves with an avuncular, caring, generous, and humorous owner. She is independent, reourceful but terrified to trust anyone with the truth about her life.

But with a local poet/magician, besotted with Loveday, she slowly opens herself up to the world. She learns she is smart, brave, loving and lovable.

Wonderful novel about an extraordinary woman who comes to terms with her past, forgives, and makes amends. .

The only thing this novel is missing is a bookstore pet!
  Bookish59 | Sep 6, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 37 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop. "The Lost for Words Bookshop pushes all my bookish buttons."--Red (Books to Read) "Quirky, clever and unputdownable."--Katie Fforde "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."--Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.91)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5 1
3 15
3.5 7
4 36
4.5 10
5 25

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 158,970,000 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível