Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1) por…
A carregar...

Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1) (edição 2017)

por Vivian Shaw

Séries: Dr. Greta Helsing (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
9154423,811 (3.76)36
Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:In this delightfully witty fantasy adventure, Dr. Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, must defend London from both supernatural ailments and a bloodthirsty cult.
Greta Helsing inherited her family's highly specialized and highly peculiar medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although she barely makes ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's been groomed for since childhood.
Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.
Strange Practice is the first novel in Shaw's debut series, the Dr. Greta Helsing Novels perfect for fans of Neverwhere and V. E. Schwab.
… (mais)
Membro:Litrvixen
Título:Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1)
Autores:Vivian Shaw
Informação:Orbit, Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Coleções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:*1/2
Etiquetas:vampires, female protagonist

Informação Sobre a Obra

Strange Practice por Vivian Shaw

  1. 50
    Rivers of London por Ben Aaronovitch (andreas.wpv)
    andreas.wpv: Different type of protagonist and friends, but dealing with the un- or supernatural, solving crimes and preventing disasters. This is very similar though in style and tone, mood of the story. It is tense, yes, but holds no horror or exceeding brutality. The protagonist is human, and like a human, and the story has an undercurrent of kindness that many novels miss. And it is funny at times, from gentle humor to laugh out loud.… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 36 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 44 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Really fun fantasy with a great premise and characters. ( )
  mmcrawford | Dec 5, 2023 |
I liked but did not love this book about a Doctor to the monsters. Given that this book includes vampires, I was expecting and or hoping to like it more. ( )
  Bebe_Ryalls | Oct 20, 2023 |
A solid 3.5 star book, which could easily have been a 4 star book with some tweaks to the writing. And by some tweaks I mean an editor should have sat down and slashed all of the self-conscious and second-guessing asides, and 99% of the qualifiers as well. A little doubt among characters is fine, but the inability of the main characters to make a definite, unqualified sentence was off-putting and distracting. It was too "look at me looking at myself", which inevitably pulled me out of the story and, indeed, made me look at it. Examples:

"She always felt vaguely as if she ought to be draped in lace and ruffles, or possibly diaphanous peignoirs, whatever they were, in order to live up to the surroundings;" (emphasis in original) - why insert the phrase "whatever they were", what does this aside add to the story? My suspicion is that the author believes a protagonist who knows about peignoirs will somehow alienate readers, and that the aside is meant to keep Greta "relatable". Bad writing. Use the word with confidence or just scrap it altogether.

"She would not be the eleventh, if she had any say in the matter" (emphasis in original). This sentence is during a particularly dramatic scene, and comes at the pivotal moment in the action where Greta decides to fight for her life. Why, WHY is this moment diluted by the addition of "if she had any say in the matter"?! If someone has decided to fight off an attacker she is not going to be thinking about how much say she has in the matter, she is going to be thinking of how to survive. I think the author added this aside to show us how plucky our heroine is, but instead it creates a look-at-me-looking-at-myself moment that rings false and takes us right out of the action.

And so on and so forth throughout the book. Again, a good editor would have slashed out all the hedging and left us with a lean story that really zings along, but since that didn't happen we have to ask if the fantastic plot and characters outweigh the weak writing. For me, they did. As I moved through the book I became completely engrossed in the story, hedging asides and all, and I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next. Overall, a good read. ( )
1 vote blueskygreentrees | Jul 30, 2023 |
Nice fun read, didn’t expect to enjoy the characters as much as I did.

I do wish the story had some more plot lines and wasn’t so linear, but all in all still a very fun mystery / drama with a cast of great supernatural characters.

I wish we got more time of Greta with her two female friends/co-workers. The relationships with ALL the male characters are developed while we get practically no scenes of Anna and Dez. ( )
1 vote CasualShino | Jun 2, 2023 |
Really fun read. The premise is awesome and the book follows through. Good pacing, enough mystery and peril to keep it interesting, and an engaging cast of characters. ( )
  bjsikes | Jan 30, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 44 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
The greatest joys in Strange Practice come from the moments when the entire gang is just sitting together in the kitchen, drinking tea and brandy, talking over each other and trying to figure out the solution to some mystery.
 

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Vivian Shawautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Hampton, SuzannahNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Staehle, WillArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Distinctions

Notable Lists

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Laura Amy Schlitz, who told me not to stop.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Under the darkened city of London, old machinery roared on. Fans the size of small rooms spun into the darkness, pushing air through dead tunnels where no trains moved; rats, used to the dull echo of the machines, preened their whiskers atop switchboxes in dim chambers all but forgotten by the bustling world above.
The sky was fading to ultramarine in the east over the Victoria Embankment when a battered Mini pulled in to the curb, not far from Blackfriars Bridge. Here and there in the maples lining the riverside walk, the morning's first sparrows had begun to sing.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:In this delightfully witty fantasy adventure, Dr. Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, must defend London from both supernatural ailments and a bloodthirsty cult.
Greta Helsing inherited her family's highly specialized and highly peculiar medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although she barely makes ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's been groomed for since childhood.
Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.
Strange Practice is the first novel in Shaw's debut series, the Dr. Greta Helsing Novels perfect for fans of Neverwhere and V. E. Schwab.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.76)
0.5
1 5
1.5 2
2 15
2.5 3
3 49
3.5 20
4 104
4.5 11
5 47

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 208,731,146 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível