Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

The Last Ship por William Brinkley
A carregar...

The Last Ship (original 1988; edição 1989)

por William Brinkley

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
6131938,735 (3.45)13
Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

Hailed "an extraordinary novel of men at war" (Washington Post), The Last Ship is the book that inspired the TNT miniseries starring Eric Dane, Rhona Mitra, and Adam Baldwin, with Michael Bay as executive producer. The unimaginable has happened: the world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the USS Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain??152 men and 26 women??to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are the earth's last remaining survivors??and they've all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind?This thrilling tale of postapocalyptic suspense is perfect for readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstc… (mais)

Membro:Marjan.Max.Maric
Título:The Last Ship
Autores:William Brinkley
Informação:Ballantine Books (1989), Edition: 1st, 616 pages
Coleções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

The Last Ship por William Brinkley (1988)

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 13 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 19 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
This is a post apocalyptic novel. The plot moves along at a slow pace, perhaps too slow for some. The writer is rather eloquent. There is much reflection and little action. And it is good so. The main character is complex and invites you to put yourself into his shoes, so to speak. All in all, this is very worthwhile reading and considering it’s length you are in for days of enjoyment. ( )
  nitrolpost | Mar 19, 2024 |
This is a 30+ hour long book. Speech patterns akin to Brit college professor vice gritty sailor. combined with a propensity for verbosity using a plethora of words. This book could be 8-10 hours long with no problem. I learned a new word every day. The story is fascinating. I loved the plot and persevered to the end in spite of the authors writing style. ( )
  buffalogr | Sep 3, 2023 |
Ok but I wish there was a sequel. ( )
  Connorz | Jan 4, 2023 |
Unbelievably grandiose. And the sex scenes were creepy. ( )
  Castinet | Dec 11, 2022 |
This book lingered in my mind for weeks after I read it. I sometimes still flash on it. It is the story of the men on a warship after global thermonuclear war. They travel around the oceans and every time you think something is going to go right for them, something worse happens. Gives you a lot to think about. Well worth the read if you like lots of characters and huge books and post apocalytic fiction. ( )
  Luziadovalongo | Jul 14, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 19 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"A friend may well be reckoned the Masterpiece of nature" -- Emerson
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Gordon Kingsley
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
In bravura beauty, no ship has ever come off a Navy ways to be compared with the destroyer and she was a fine example of a noble breed.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (4)

Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

Hailed "an extraordinary novel of men at war" (Washington Post), The Last Ship is the book that inspired the TNT miniseries starring Eric Dane, Rhona Mitra, and Adam Baldwin, with Michael Bay as executive producer. The unimaginable has happened: the world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the USS Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain??152 men and 26 women??to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are the earth's last remaining survivors??and they've all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind?This thrilling tale of postapocalyptic suspense is perfect for readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstc

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.45)
0.5
1 7
1.5
2 21
2.5 1
3 23
3.5 5
4 38
4.5 3
5 22

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 206,403,856 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível