Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Truly Devious

por Maureen Johnson

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: Truly Devious (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,034937,962 (3.92)32
Horror. Mystery. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game."

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

.
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 32 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 91 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Takes a bit to give in to the sort of ridiculous setting, but it does get going in the second half. The problem with the love interest is that he's not at all interesting. I believe Stevie is into him, but when they have their romcom low moment, I didn't care that he was mad at her and was annoyed that she moped about it.

Is Leo supposed to be gay? There's nail polish, and at one point he calls himself a friend of Dorothy (he's referring to Dorothy Parker, not Oz), which (probably) would've been anachronistic. ( )
  caedocyon | Feb 22, 2024 |
This was really good! Didn't realize it was YA until i finished good. I really wish I had already put in a hold on the second book! ( )
  hellokirsti | Jan 3, 2024 |
2.5 stars ( )
  filemanager | Nov 29, 2023 |
I really enjoyed this book, but if I'd known that it didn't have an ending (unless To Be Continued counts as an ending) (it's a MYSTERY NOVEL, y'all) (And come to think of it, NEITHER mystery is solved) I never would have read it. I'll probably just look up the resolution online somewhere because I'm so irritated.

4 stars for (half a) story, 1 star for the bait and switch of pretending it's a fully formed novel, so I split the difference at 2 stars. ( )
  autumndragyn | Nov 23, 2023 |
3.5/5

YA murder mystery??? What an amazing genre I didn't know existed.

This was a fun read.

I liked the cuts back and forth between modern day and the 1930s.The DOUBLE MYSTERY. The intrigue!

I do think it's dumb that it's multiple books, because I didn't get any answers that mattered. I'd rather just read it all at once, and then they could cut down on the boring dragging stuff, too.

Overall, though, I didn't expect to like this as much as I did, so I'm happy about it! I was worried, because as much as I love murder mysteries, I am not a fan of the true crime podcast type thing. It feels a little invasive imo. Buuut I feel like the author handled things pretty well.

I was more interested in the flashbacks than in the modern-day story. There were boring parts that dragged. Sometimes, it just felt like nothing was happening. There were too many characters, and I DON'T CARE ABOUT DAVID!

In conclusion, it was fun, but I wish that they cut down on boring things I don't care about so we could get all of the answers in one book. ( )
  telamy | Nov 6, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 91 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (5 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Maureen Johnsonautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Nickolls, LeoDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Rudd, KateNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For anyone who has ever dreamed
of finding a body in the library
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
FATE CAME FOR DOTTIE EPSTEIN A YEAR EARLIER, IN THE FORM OF A call to the principal’s office.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Horror. Mystery. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game."

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.92)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 16
2.5 6
3 74
3.5 20
4 158
4.5 21
5 101

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 204,458,510 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível