Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Truly Devious

por Maureen Johnson

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: Truly Devious (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,1355913,396 (3.95)28
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game." Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history. True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.  The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three. Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018… (mais)
Adicionado recentemente porbiblioteca privada, alexp24, shewrotewords, Estecker, ftbooklover, Rennie80, msevans, kresshagen
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 28 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 57 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Stevie Bell is accepted to Ellingham Academy, the setting of one of the most famous kidnapping/murder cases in history, and Stevie, who has been obsessed with the case for years, is determined to solve it. The case began in 1936, less than a year after the school's opening, when the wife and daughter of founder Albert Ellingham are kidnapped. His wife and another student are found dead, but his daughter, Alice is never found. Anton Vorachek is arrested and found guilty, but his guilt has always been in doubt because of his lack of English language skills, which would have made it impossible for him to have written the mysterious letter that arrived at the school that was signed "Truly Devious." Because Ellingham only accepts students who are academically gifted or have some unique ability, Stevie hopes that she can live up to expectations, while attempting to solve the case. Stevie agrees to work on an internet film project about the case with several of the students until one of them turns up dead. In addition to the original mystery, Stevie now has another case to solve.
Truly Devious alternates chapters describing the 1936 mystery as well as Stevie's story as she tries to understand her parents, her classmates, and a budding romance. The clues for both mysteries are expertly woven into this story of quirky teenagers who are trying to navigate the world of high school. Authentic dialogue, believable situations, and a twist at the end add depth to this excellent story. Overall, an exceptional young adult coming of age mystery.
( )
  ftbooklover | Oct 12, 2021 |
Well done YA mystery

This was a fun, light read for anyone who might like the prep school ambiance of Harry Potter without the witches and wizards and magic. Stevie is a solid female protagonist with typical high school problems and a passion for solving crime.

It's lightweight material, but entertaining nonetheless, a modern day teenage Murder She Wrote, and a nice beginning for a series. ( )
  CaseyAdamsStark | Sep 25, 2021 |
I love just about everything Maureen Johnson has written her characters are great and I love her stories. Her series tend to be quite different from each other but they are all good in their own right. Maureen Johnson is not only a great writer but she is also amazing on Twitter I highly recommend following her. ( )
  KateKat11 | Sep 24, 2021 |
This was such a good book, and I flew through it! For some reason, I didn't realize that it was the beginning of a series, and as it got closer to the end I was wondering how they were going to wrap everything up with so few pages left. Then I got to the end and saw "To Be Continued..." and I was like "Noooooooo!" Lol, I cannot wait for the next book to come out! If you like Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, or any murder mystery books, you will enjoy this book. I would also say that this is a good choice for fans of the series A Study in Charlotte. ( )
  Completely_Melanie | Sep 10, 2021 |
This review was originally posted on Once Upon a Chapter



The blurb for Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson snagged me at "unsolved disappearance" and really appealed to my love of true crime. The fact that this particular disappearance is a cold case and decades old only added to the appeal.

I really enjoyed Stevie and the friends that she makes at Ellingham Academy. She resonated with me because we both really enjoy true crime. That sentence right there will either tell you if we're similar or not. To people who don't understand they think that true crime "fans", if you will, actually enjoy the crime itself.

People who understand both Stevie and I will actually understand that it isn't the act of the crime itself that draws you in. What was the motive? Who did it? Why did they think they could get away with it? Did they get away with it? Was it a crime of passion? Is the criminal a psychopath, a sociopath, or something else entirely? What led up to the crime? Who was the victim? Why them? Was there even a reason for them becoming a victim? Were there survivors? It's more of a sociology fascination than it is anything to do with the actual act of the crime. Talking about true crime to those who find it morbid is uncomfortable for everybody involved if the participants don't understand that.

As true crime is what got Stevie into Ellingham to begin with, true crime comes up a lot. In this book, Stevie kind of hid her passion because of the social shame that often comes with it. I'm hoping in the next book she lets that shine a little bit more.

I was completely wrapped up in Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson. A free boarding school that was the site of a very disturbing disappearance? Yes please! I also really enjoyed the fact that this story was told on a dual timeline; present and during the time of the abductions and disappearances.

The one thing that threw me was the curve ball of an ending. Had it not been for the really odd ending and the fact that there were seemingly no answers just more questions, I would have given this book a 5 star. As it is, I'm am avidly awaiting the second book in the series. ( )
  stephaniedloves2read | Aug 8, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 57 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (6 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Maureen Johnsonautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculated
Nickolls, LeoDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For anyone who has ever dreamed
of finding a body in the library
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
FATE CAME FOR DOTTIE EPSTEIN A YEAR EARLIER, IN THE FORM OF A call to the principal’s office.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game." Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history. True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.  The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three. Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.95)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 9
2.5 4
3 43
3.5 17
4 103
4.5 16
5 66

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,127,348 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível