Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep…
A carregar...

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams (original 2017; edição 2017)

por Matthew Walker

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,560678,792 (4.21)48
"The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert--Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab--reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better. Sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life, wellness, and longevity. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when we don't sleep. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remained elusive. An explosion of scientific discoveries in the last twenty years has shed new light on this fundamental aspect of our lives. Now, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker gives us a new understanding of the vital importance of sleep and dreaming. Within the brain, sleep enriches our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming mollifies painful memories and creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge to inspire creativity. Walker answers important questions about sleep: how do caffeine and alcohol affect sleep? What really happens during REM sleep? Why do our sleep patterns change across a lifetime? How do common sleep aids affect us and can they do long-term damage? Charting cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and synthesizing decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood, and energy levels; regulate hormones; prevent cancer, Alzheimer's, and diabetes; slow the effects of aging; increase longevity; enhance the education and lifespan of our children, and boost the efficiency, success, and productivity of our businesses. Clear-eyed, fascinating, and accessible, Why We Sleep is a crucial and illuminating book"--… (mais)
Membro:beyertr
Título:Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams
Autores:Matthew Walker
Informação:Scribner, Hardcover, 368 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams por Matthew Walker (2017)

Adicionado recentemente pormwhelen1, biblioteca privada, chaoscorgi, saRob, ChrisHigginson, swedezilla, ShaunCook, Yareni, BrandonGiesing
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 48 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 66 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Want to improve your health? It turns out that sleeping more and better is the key! From obesity, to memory, to learning, to cancer, to dementia, it turns out sleep is one of the most important factors for health outcomes!

In late teens and early twenties, I was a non-believer in sleep. But starting in my mid-twenties, it was like a hit a wall, and ever since, I've been unable to function on a poor night's sleep. Luckily, this has led to much better sleep hygiene!

My parents emphasized a good nights sleep when I was a kid, so the direction of this book isn't surprising to me, although it is stunning in its scope!

Sleep touches every aspect of our lives, so it is challenging to offer a concise summary. That said, I highly recommend you read the book, as it has numerous vital pointers.

A few fun tidbits:
- Drowsy driving is more kills more people than drunk driving. Drunk drivers have slow reaction times, but drowsy drivers drivers have "micro-sleeps" where they're unresponsive for a few seconds at a time
- Alcohol sedates our brain, and prevents the formation of new memories
- REM sleep is when we process emotions. Poor sleep the night after trauma? PTSD.
- One week of poor sleep can compromise your immune system even a year later.

The most fascinating frontiers that this book mentions are around lucid dreaming. I was also waiting (and still am waiting) for the author's analysis of mediation.

At the end of the day though, this book is somewhat depressing, in that it reinforces an epistemology where we need to know the mechanism behind something before prioritizing it. Have cultures for millennia known the vital importance of sleep? Yes! Books like this highlight the existential idiocy of Western culture... ( )
  willszal | Sep 28, 2021 |
Superb book, which made me understood my insomnia better. Also the benefits of deep sleep and REM sleep. ( )
  sujitacharyya | Sep 25, 2021 |
Damn, I've been neglecting sleep until I read this book. Must read, I feel much better during the daytime now. ( )
  mdibaiee | Sep 23, 2021 |
I liked it a lot, almost loved it as far as non-fiction, scientific/medical books go...I've changed my sleeping habits because of this well, clear and concisely written title. ( )
  Schneider | Sep 9, 2021 |
nonfiction/health science.
recommended for fans of Malcolm Gladwell and Steven Levitt, but also anyone who works, goes to school, has kids, drives a car, drinks caffeine or alcohol, has parents, competes in sports, has trouble sleeping, or is concerned about Alzheimer's, mental health, blood pressure, heart disease, cholesterol, or basically any other health issue.
Readers are invited to skip through and just read the parts that interest them (check the index or table of contents), or to read all the way through. Busy people will be happy to know that you can pick this up a few paragraphs at a time, and don't necessarily need long uninterrupted chunks of reading time in order to learn and enjoy. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 66 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Dacher Keltner, for inspiring me to write.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Do you think you got enough sleep this past week?
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert--Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab--reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better. Sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life, wellness, and longevity. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when we don't sleep. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remained elusive. An explosion of scientific discoveries in the last twenty years has shed new light on this fundamental aspect of our lives. Now, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker gives us a new understanding of the vital importance of sleep and dreaming. Within the brain, sleep enriches our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming mollifies painful memories and creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge to inspire creativity. Walker answers important questions about sleep: how do caffeine and alcohol affect sleep? What really happens during REM sleep? Why do our sleep patterns change across a lifetime? How do common sleep aids affect us and can they do long-term damage? Charting cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and synthesizing decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood, and energy levels; regulate hormones; prevent cancer, Alzheimer's, and diabetes; slow the effects of aging; increase longevity; enhance the education and lifespan of our children, and boost the efficiency, success, and productivity of our businesses. Clear-eyed, fascinating, and accessible, Why We Sleep is a crucial and illuminating book"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.21)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 5
2.5 1
3 39
3.5 13
4 107
4.5 17
5 126

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,501,343 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível