Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

The Astonishing Color of After por Emily…
A carregar...

The Astonishing Color of After (edição 2019)

por Emily X.R. Pan (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
8062920,862 (4.05)3
"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.… (mais)
Membro:browsingcovers_01
Título:The Astonishing Color of After
Autores:Emily X.R. Pan (Autor)
Informação:Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (2019), 480 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

The Astonishing Color of After por Emily X. R. Pan

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 3 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
This book was not for me. Leigh Sanders Chen has a Caucasian father and a Chinese mother. Her mother suffers from depression, and eventually takes her own life, leaving the two bereft. Together, they travel to Taiwan to meet her grandparents, from whom they were estranged following the mother's decision to marry an American. I did not much care for the chapters about Leigh and her male BFF, which were a little too much YA. I was also aghast that the father abandoned the daughter with the maternal grandparents when she needed him. I liked the Chinese setting, and the backstory, especially when told during dreams occasioned by incense/smoke from various character's memories. And, I liked the twist about one of the grandmother's friends towards the end of the book. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
diverse teen fiction (magical realism mental health; character-driven story returning to roots/visiting grandparents in China)
It's unclear whether or not you can trust the narrator (it's not inconceivable that she, too, could suffer from mental illness) until 100 or so pages in when her dad also witnesses the unnatural phenomena surrounding her mother's reincarnation as a bird. Also, I couldn't figure out if she was supposed to have synesthesia (experiencing emotions as color) or if she was just really, really, annoyingly artsy.

Aside from that, I liked that the story had diverse characters, and also appreciated that they were coping with and struggling to understand the mother's unexplained depression/suicide. I feel that this could be really helpful for some readers out there. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
4*
This was a beautifully written book dealing with grief after a suicide. I felt a strong connection to Leigh, the main character, having just dealt with a suicide in my own extended family this past summer. The language in this was definitely flowery and there were spots in the middle that started to feel a little drawn out. The presence of family in this was wonderful and I loved that Leigh was able to connect with her Grandparents in Taiwan after the death of her mother. I was nervous about the magical realism aspect of this book but it wasn't too much. The flowery nature of the writing and the whimsical feel of the characters made the minor magical realism just enough for me to handle. ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
I didn't want to like this as much as I did -- at first the color device feels forced and parts of the story were predictable. But it also went in ways I did not expect, and the the colors came to be more than a device. Ultimately the voice and characters won me over and the emotions rang so true. ( )
  erikasolberg770 | Nov 9, 2020 |
this book is special to me in so many ways.
tw: depression, suicide, a lot of grief, racism.
there are so many remarkable things worth mentioning. the atmosphere, writing, concept...so much potential. so many cultural references that i can relate to on so many levels. (im chinese but i wasnt born in taiwan or china so its amazing to see how similar our traditions are) ive also been to taiwan, the scene in jiufen, oooof. more than half of the book i was very annoyed at leigh but i came to understand that she's a teen, grieving, alone. the characters, we honestly dont know much about them. i find that the pacing of this book is too slow for my liking. the romance... its cute but there isnt much to talk about.


"It's okay to be afraid. But not okay if be afraid means you do nothing. You must not do nothing. That's not life worth living." (im well aware of the broken english here, but the message is clear)

"Once you figure out what matters, you'll figure out how to be brave."

*read this for asian readathon! ( )
  jocelynchu | Aug 30, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
If I should see a single bird --Emily Dickinson
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
My mother is a bird.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.05)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 3
4 43
4.5 6
5 24

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 162,556,397 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível