Página InicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

How to Forget a Duke (Misadventures in…
A carregar...

How to Forget a Duke (Misadventures in Matchmaking) (edição 2018)

por Vivienne Lorret (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
565377,592 (3.13)3
The Bourne Matrimonial Agency has one rule: Never fall in love with the client. A simple thing to remember . . . unless you're a matchmaker with amnesia. The Duke of Rydstrom requires a wife. Preferably one with a large fortune and a complete lack of curiosity. The last thing he needs is a meddling matchmaker determined to dig up his dark family secrets. All Jacinda wants is to find a bride for a duke. How hard could that be? He's handsome, enigmatic . . . and hiding something. She's sure of it. Determined to discover what it is, she travels to his crumbling cliffside estate. Yet, by the time she washes up on his beach, she can no longer remember who she is or why the duke is so familiar to her. All she knows is that his kisses are unforgettable--and she intends to use every skill she can to discover what's in his heart . . . When Miss Bourne can't remember what brought her to his ancestral home, Rydstrom intends to keep it that way. Yet as the days pass, his true challenge will be safeguarding his secret while resisting this woman who--confound it all--may well be his perfect match.… (mais)
Membro:lubnaa101
Título:How to Forget a Duke (Misadventures in Matchmaking)
Autores:Vivienne Lorret (Autor)
Informação:Avon (2018), 384 pages
Colecções:Historical romance, A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

How to Forget a Duke por Vivienne Lorret

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 3 menções

Mostrando 5 de 5
Rounded up to two stars. Some people will like this book, it wan’t terribly written. But I didn’t enjoy it, and it was, in fact, a chore for me to get through. I only have two real problems with it, but they’re big enough that they impacted nearly every aspect.

The heroine is a termagant. I don’t inherently dislike tenacity and inquisitiveness in my leads, but those qualities are really cranked up to 11 in this one. She’s also selfish, contrary, sneaky, a liar, and thinks rules don’t apply to her, and that she should get to do whatever she wants- all at levels you usually only see in bratty children. I don’t find them endearing in a lead character.

Secondly, I didn’t especially care for the hero either. He felt very flat to me and has about four things he just keeps thinking and saying over and over. He also actively deluded himself for a major portion of the book, and kinda blew hot and cold with the heroine as well, sometimes practically at the same time. He’s been trying to keep the heroine at a distance, but they finally succumb to their passion and she’s straddling his hips and he’s mouthing her bared breasts and she says his first name instead of his title and he pauses to say ‘you mustn’t call me by my Christian name.’ ( )
  JorgeousJotts | Dec 3, 2021 |
I couldn't stand either of the main characters. ( )
  resoundingjoy | Jan 1, 2021 |
• I was worried going into this one because a lot of people in their reviews disliked Jacinda for being nosy - but she is very clearly modelled after Emma Woodhouse, which just shows me that those people have not read the novel in question. Despite my initial misgivings, this book was absolutely lovely. Jacinda snoops because she's wary of secrets since her father kept a family on the side and her mother died of a broken heart. And Crispin was a sweetheart, really. I also loved that this is set in a castle with a bailey and a donjon (no, not a dungeon lol), which reminds me of some of the medievals that I love. I didn't even mind the amnesia thing because it wasn't done in a morose manner and Jacinda kept all of her idiosyncrasies. ( )
  littlebookjockey | Sep 15, 2020 |
Eyre's cultured tones pair brilliantly with the first in the Misadventures in Matchmaking series of Regency romances. The Bourne Matrimonial Agency was founded by Jacinda and her sisters on two pillars: their mutual love of Austen’s Emma and their desire to prevent matches like the one that broke their mother’s heart. Jacinda’s disposition encapsulates all of Emma’s unapologetic curiosity, tenacity, and audacity. Knowing that Crispin Montague, Duke of Rydstrom, is hiding information from his application spurs her upon a quest to Sussex, where a carriage mishap leaves her with amnesia. Eyre displays Jacinda’s subsequent vulnerability without weakening her personality. When Jacinda enters the Rydstrom household, her wit and meddlesome gumption drive the bantering foreplay and bickering battle of wills. Rydstrom is pushed to accept chaos into his rigid order, learn trust, and cross boundaries. Eyre even gives Montague’s mute half-sister a strong, unique “voice”. Fans of Austen, Emma, or dialogue-driven slow-build romances will delight.

The improved review was published in Booklist September 15, 2018 issue. ( )
  ktoonen | Jul 19, 2018 |
Vivienne Lorret's print debut is the perfect blend of deep emotion, compelling characters and the sort of romance that goes straight to the reader's heart.

When Society matchmaker, Jacinda Bourne, takes on the task of finding a wife for the Duke of Rydstrom, she soon suspects that the handsome and infuriatingly gruff aristocrat must have something to hide. Why else would he require an heiress with a large fortune to her name and insist she have no interest in sharing the same residence as him? Determined to investigate in the name of upholding her agency's good name, Jacinda heads to Rydstrom's cliff-side estate, only to wash up on the beach with a serious case of amnesia.

The last thing Crispin needs is an overly inquisitive matchmaker looking into his affairs. But when Miss Bourne is confined to his home and the doctor insists she mustn't travel on account of her health, Crispin finds himself in a bit of a bind. Because he doesn't just have to prevent Miss Bourne from uncovering his greatest secret. He also has to stop himself from falling in love with the cheerful young woman whose presence beneath the same roof as him threatens to be his undoing.

This is a delightful story that keeps the reader wondering how the hero and heroine will ever find their happily ever after right until the last few pages. Of course it all works out perfectly in the end, but getting there is a wonderful ride that no fan of Regency romance will want to miss.
  BarnesSophie | May 12, 2018 |
Mostrando 5 de 5
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Belongs to Series

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

The Bourne Matrimonial Agency has one rule: Never fall in love with the client. A simple thing to remember . . . unless you're a matchmaker with amnesia. The Duke of Rydstrom requires a wife. Preferably one with a large fortune and a complete lack of curiosity. The last thing he needs is a meddling matchmaker determined to dig up his dark family secrets. All Jacinda wants is to find a bride for a duke. How hard could that be? He's handsome, enigmatic . . . and hiding something. She's sure of it. Determined to discover what it is, she travels to his crumbling cliffside estate. Yet, by the time she washes up on his beach, she can no longer remember who she is or why the duke is so familiar to her. All she knows is that his kisses are unforgettable--and she intends to use every skill she can to discover what's in his heart . . . When Miss Bourne can't remember what brought her to his ancestral home, Rydstrom intends to keep it that way. Yet as the days pass, his true challenge will be safeguarding his secret while resisting this woman who--confound it all--may well be his perfect match.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.13)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 3
3.5 1
4 5
4.5
5 1

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 164,546,730 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível