Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Hoarder (2017)

por Jess Kidd

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
5202645,972 (3.78)29
Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title The Hoarder.

Indie Next Pick

From the award-winning author of Himself comes a spellbinding and "magically entertaining read" (Good Housekeeping, UK) about a lonely caregiver and a cranky hoarder with a house full of secrets that "will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure" (BookPage).
Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness. A tragic childhood event left her haunted, in the company of a cast of prattling saints who pop in and out of her life like tourists. Other than visiting her agoraphobic neighbor, Maud keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence??until she meets Mr. Flood.

Cathal Flood is a menace by all accounts. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion crawling with feral cats, he has been waging war against his son's attempts to put him into an old-age home and sent his last caretaker running for the madhouse. But Maud is this impossible man's last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate, bonding over their shared love of Irish folktales and mutual dislike of Mr. Flood's overbearing son.

Mr. Flood's Last Resort is "a rare delight" (Cosmopolitan, UK) examining the space between sin and sainthood, a novel that "perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy" in which "the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants" (Shelf Awarenes
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 29 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 26 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Not like Things in Jars or Himself, but still an excellent mystery. Loved Maud and Renatta!!! Cathal broke my heart several times over. Jess Kidd once again spins an engaging tale with full bodied characters and a twisty riddle hiding in the past. Jess has a gift that she employs to our benefit, I am a fan and I will remain so, ever on. ( )
  HeatherPerdigon | Nov 5, 2022 |
Imaginative and charming, but not in a twee way.

5/2021: Upgrading from 4 stars to 5 because more than a year after reading, it’s still on my mind. ( )
  IVLeafClover | Jun 21, 2022 |
Oohh this was a delicious book! Quirky, mysterious, creepy and unique, this novel is written in the gothic suspense style with great finess and creativity. A dash of humor, a cast of unforgetable characters, and a devilish plot will have you flipping pages well into the wee hours of the morning.

The British title is The Hoarder. The Anerican title is Mr. Flood's Last Resort.

I cannot wait to read the author's two other books now! ( )
  vernefan | Aug 11, 2021 |
I really enjoyed this story. The Saints were a curious bunch; a wonderfully flawed collective of apparitions - lending just enough information to Maud to keep her going in the right direction, and keep me guessing as to what would happen next. Maud and Cathal were an excellent pairing for the story, and Renata was glorious! I loved them and was totally committed to finding out their story.

The haunting atmosphere over the entire story was truly magnificent, and the description of the house really brought it to life like a Frankenstein Monster of junk and National Geographic's.

The narration was truly perfect for this story.

I was so close to giving this 5 stars, but there were just a few moments that I struggled to follow. Nothing a reread wouldn't solve, though, and I know it is something I am likely to read again. ( )
  TCLinrow | Mar 17, 2021 |
I really enjoyed this story. The Saints were a curious bunch; a wonderfully flawed collective of apparitions - lending just enough information to Maud to keep her going in the right direction, and keep me guessing as to what would happen next. Maud and Cathal were an excellent pairing for the story, and Renata was glorious! I loved them and was totally committed to finding out their story.

The haunting atmosphere over the entire story was truly magnificent, and the description of the house really brought it to life like a Frankenstein Monster of junk and National Geographic's.

The narration was truly perfect for this story.

I was so close to giving this 5 stars, but there were just a few moments that I struggled to follow. Nothing a reread wouldn't solve, though, and I know it is something I am likely to read again. ( )
  TCLinrow | Mar 17, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 26 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Jess Kidd's second novel is a charming, touching magical mystery tour...In “Mr. Flood’s Last Resort,” Jess Kidd delivers another charming mix of magic and mystery, this time wrapped around a tale of family love and dysfunction..... Like her debut novel “Himself,” the rich language is accented by Kidd’s Irish upbringing...
 
In her quest for truth, Maud is accompanied by the spirits of various saints that intermittently drift in and out of the proceedings and contribute to the novel’s occasional narrative missteps...Saints aside, characterisation is where Kidd excels. Cathal Flood is wonderfully enigmatic and complex, and the first description of Maud’s landlady Renata, “emerging like a New Age butterfly from her ground floor cocoon”, is assurance if any were needed that this is a writer with a poet’s skill of balancing clarity and inventive flair..The descriptive skill and wordplay also extend to place...An amateur-investigator story, a black comedy, a family saga, The Hoarder knots together a number of genres, but with Bridlemere at its centre – part Bluebeard’s castle, part fly-tipped Manderley – its roots lie in the gothic tradition..
 

» Adicionar outros autores (5 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Jess Kiddautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
McMahon, AoifeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Eva
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
He has a curious way of moving through his rubbish.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Her jowls wobbling with delight as she riffled through her agency files, performing that alchemic magic she was renowned for: matching geriatric hell-raisers with minimum-waged staff.
"Mr. Cathal Flood, retired artist, mechanical engineer, and dealer in curiosities, lives alone in his substantial Victorian Grade II listed villa."
The office, like most offices, has the fake-cheerful feel f death row, with its jokey signs and personal possessions. This is a place that sucks up time and energy on pointless tasks and futile activities and leaves little to show for human endeavor but a growing collection of novelty mugs.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
the original British Title is The Hoarder, whereas in the US and Canada, the same book goes by Mr. Flood's Last Resort
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title The Hoarder.

Indie Next Pick

From the award-winning author of Himself comes a spellbinding and "magically entertaining read" (Good Housekeeping, UK) about a lonely caregiver and a cranky hoarder with a house full of secrets that "will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure" (BookPage).
Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness. A tragic childhood event left her haunted, in the company of a cast of prattling saints who pop in and out of her life like tourists. Other than visiting her agoraphobic neighbor, Maud keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence??until she meets Mr. Flood.

Cathal Flood is a menace by all accounts. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion crawling with feral cats, he has been waging war against his son's attempts to put him into an old-age home and sent his last caretaker running for the madhouse. But Maud is this impossible man's last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate, bonding over their shared love of Irish folktales and mutual dislike of Mr. Flood's overbearing son.

Mr. Flood's Last Resort is "a rare delight" (Cosmopolitan, UK) examining the space between sin and sainthood, a novel that "perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy" in which "the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants" (Shelf Awarenes

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.78)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 8
2.5
3 23
3.5 11
4 55
4.5 9
5 18

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 201,789,535 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível