Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Other words for home por Jasmine Warga
A carregar...

Other words for home (edição 2019)

por Jasmine Warga

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4082946,488 (4.4)4
Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.… (mais)
Membro:BlueSquirrel
Título:Other words for home
Autores:Jasmine Warga
Informação:New York, NY : Balzer Bray, 2019.
Colecções:ACQ Queue
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Donation:Sorority, IN-BOX-41

Pormenores da obra

Other Words for Home por Jasmine Warga

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 4 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
This book follows the story of a Syrian refugee and her mother who come to the united states. It shows the struggles that she has adjusting to the American way of life with her father and brother left at home. She does her best to keep up her pride for her religion and culture. This is difficult in the post-terrorism mindset of many Americans. ( )
  evelynlee | Apr 30, 2021 |
The message behind this book is beautiful, and full of meaning. It truly opens your eyes to the truth and to what you can't physically see, to what is hiding inside of people who suffer from racism, and hatred for just being different. Again, I highly recommend this book. There is something so pure about this story, also harsh because it shows the truth. And the author's note at the end is also amazing. This book has a true and magnificent purpose! ( )
  iamcmims | Apr 4, 2021 |
This is an phenomenal book. It is only the 3rd or 4th novel in verse that I have read. And I definitely want to read more like this as well as look out for more written by this author. The way she brings Jude and all the other characters to life is so incredible. Her word choice and line break decisions do so much to create the intended impact upon readers. Just as Jude goes through a range of emotions, so will readers of this book.

Another great thing about it is that it does feel like it is written to be accessible and relatable to so many ages, but in particular teenagers.

Content Warning: racism, mentions of war but no descriptions of physical violence ( )
  Sara_Cat | Mar 6, 2021 |
jude is a young girl who has to leave her country, her father and brother, her best friend and everything she knows behind. she goes to live with her uncle and does not feel at home ( )
  Karla1992 | Mar 1, 2021 |
An amazing children’s book about the hardships and inspiration of a refugee who comes to start a new life in America. It is a great book for students to read to learn about Muslim culture and immigration. I love how the main character looks at America as her new home but still honors her family and old home. ( )
  emwalker97 | Nov 22, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (2 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Jasmine Wargaautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculated
Stempel-Lobell, JennaDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Syed, AnooshaArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (4.4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5 6
4 26
4.5 3
5 46

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 157,666,739 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível