Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Imperium (2006)

por Robert Harris

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: Cicero (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3,8761293,250 (3.89)157
A tale inspired by the writings of Tiro, Cicero's confidential secretary, traces the life of the ancient Roman orator from his beginnings as a young lawyer through his competitions with Pompey, Caesar, and Crassus in the political arena.
Adicionado recentemente porbobbedh, dscox, JohnnyF93, Agnofinis, CJForrest, lycomayflower, Rojamuk, hlkulengowski, biblioteca privada, nicacio
  1. 21
    Rubicon: The Last Years of the Roman Republic por Tom Holland (YossarianXeno)
    YossarianXeno: Rubicon and Imperium are both exceptionally well-written and researched accounts, one non-fiction and the other fiction, of the politics of Rome covering much of the period.
  2. 00
    Letters to Atticus por Marcus Tullius Cicero (Utilizador anónimo)
  3. 00
    Julian por Gore Vidal (YossarianXeno)
    YossarianXeno: Both excellent fictional accounts of different periods of Roman history
  4. 00
    Fatherland por Robert Harris (HenriMoreaux)
    HenriMoreaux: Another great Robert Harris book
  5. 00
    The Accusers por Lindsey Davis (BookshelfMonstrosity)
  6. 01
    Vote for Caesar: How the Ancient Greeks and Romans Solved the Problems of Today por Peter Jones (bergs47)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 157 menções

Inglês (118)  Alemão (3)  Dinamarquês (2)  Holandês (2)  Italiano (2)  Francês (1)  Espanhol (1)  Todas as línguas (129)
Mostrando 1-5 de 129 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
I read this after "Dictator" which is the final book in this series; maybe that's why this wasn't as interesting. There are so many Roman names (sometimes not always called the same) which makes it hard to follow. "Dictator" provided a list of characters; this did not.

This tells of Cicero's rise to fame as a Roman senator and orator. It is told from the perspective of Tiro, his enslaved scribe who is known for a method of shorthand. There is political intrigue, battles, and speeches. Julius Caesar makes appearances but is not the leader he will become.

I read it because I loved "Dictator' - maybe should have read this first, but due to the confusion of characters, might have avoided "Dictator." ( )
  maryreinert | Jun 14, 2024 |
Part one of a novelization of the life of Cicero. I was inspired to read this by my recent readings of the Americas Founding Fathers, and their fascination with all things Roman and especially with Cicero. And now I understand their appreciation. History may not repeat itself, but it does echo and often rhymes. Read this book. I'm on to part two. ( )
  dhaxton | Apr 12, 2024 |
Very entertaining book which is ideal material for an audiobook. ( )
  Lokileest | Apr 2, 2024 |
Very much in the tradition of Graves, Imperium takes the available documented era and spins it into a narrative form. Harris' scheming Cicero is interesting as a character but falls short of matching the compelling personality of his Claudius. Because of the framing device of narrating through the POV of a slave, we never get inside the mind of Cicero himself but are always observing from the outside which leads to a more passive "and then they did this" style of story.
It's a good yarn but doesn't rise above that. ( )
  A.Godhelm | Oct 20, 2023 |
July 2010 choice for the Urban Coffee Company book group.[return][return]This is the story of Cicero's rise to Consulship, making use of many of his speeches (still available ~2000 years later). Lots of political intrigue and the choices and sacrifices that have to be made in order to further a career. [return][return]All the greats are here - Cicero, Crassus (who thwarted Sparticus and funded the political career of....) Julius Caesar; Verres (who had plundered Sicily almost to the point of bankruptcy), with Mark Anthony, SUlla etc as supporting characters.[return][return]Harris states in the Author's note "Although Imperium is a novel, the majority of the events it describes did actually happen; the remainder at least *could* have happened and nothing I hope demonstratively *did not* happen". It's an easy read, and should be used as an alternative way of absorbing historical knowledge and inspiring further reading, especially amongst those (like myself) who fell out of interest with "learning History" a long time ago. ( )
  nordie | Oct 14, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 129 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
In his new novel, “Imperium,” the British author Robert Harris fictionalizes Cicero’s less-known early career as a young lawyer on the make. He paints an engrossing picture of the caldron of Roman politics and presents a Cicero for our own times, a man who is the lineal ancestor of the modern career politician.
adicionada por srdr | editarThe New York Times, Marcel Theroux (Oct 22, 2006)
 
The result is an experiment as bold as it is unexpected: a novel that draws so scrupulously on the Roman source material that it forgoes much of what are traditionally regarded as the prime features of the thriller. Although there is detective work, there is no detective; although there are twists and turns, there is rarely any artificial ratcheting up of suspense. Instead, Harris trusts to the rhythm of the republic's politics to generate his trademark readability, a rhythm that the Romans themselves enshrined in their literature as something relentlessly exciting: in short, a thriller. Genres ancient and modern have rarely been so skilfully synthesised.
adicionada por souloftherose | editarThe Guardian, Tom Holland (Sep 2, 2006)
 

» Adicionar outros autores (14 possíveis)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Harris, Robertautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Carlsen, MonicaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Jones, SimonNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Piggott, ReginaldCartographerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
van Horn, MiebethTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Zwart, JannekeTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence a Série

Cicero (1)

Pertence à Série da Editora

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
'Innumerabilia tua sunt in me officia, forensia, urbana, provincialia, in re privata, in publica, in studiis, in litteris nostris . . .'

'Your services to me are beyond count - in my home and out of it, in Rome and abroad, in private affairs and public, in my studies and literary work . . .'

Cicero, letter to Tiro, 7 November 50 BC
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
IN MEMORY OF
Audrey Harris
1920-2005
and for
Sam
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
My name is Tiro.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Power brings a man many luxuries, but a clean pair of hands is seldom among them.
The art of life is to deal with problems as they arise, rather than destroy one's spirit by worrying about them too far in advance.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (2)

A tale inspired by the writings of Tiro, Cicero's confidential secretary, traces the life of the ancient Roman orator from his beginnings as a young lawyer through his competitions with Pompey, Caesar, and Crassus in the political arena.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.89)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 29
2.5 14
3 191
3.5 65
4 397
4.5 61
5 183

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 208,717,568 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível