Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Binding

por Bridget Collins

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,9131078,679 (3.69)30
"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives. Young Emmett Farmer is working in the fields when a strange letter arrives summoning him away from his family. He is to begin an apprenticeship as a Bookbinder--a vocation that arouses fear, superstition, and prejudice amongst their small community, but one neither he nor his parents can afford to refuse. For as long as he can recall, Emmett has been drawn to books, even though they are strictly forbidden. Bookbinding is a sacred calling, Seredith informs her new apprentice, and he is a binder born. Under the old woman's watchful eye, Emmett learns to hand-craft the elegant leather-bound volumes. Within each one they will capture something unique and extraordinary: a memory. If there's something you want to forget, a binder can help. If there's something you need to erase, they can assist. Within the pages of the books they create, secrets are concealed and the past is locked away. In a vault under his mentor's workshop rows upon rows of books are meticulously stored. But while Seredith is an artisan, there are others of their kind, avaricious and amoral tradesman who use their talents for dark ends--and just as Emmett begins to settle into his new circumstances, he makes an astonishing discovery: one of the books has his name on it. Soon, everything he thought he understood about his life will be dramatically rewritten. An unforgettable novel of enchantment, mystery, memory, and forbidden love, The Binding is a beautiful homage to the allure and life-changing power of books--and a reminder to us all that knowledge can be its own kind of magic."--… (mais)
Adicionado recentemente porELucass, FinaleArtists, BCarroll, epiccoffeereads, BookDragon14, SiannaSue, drachwarrior, biblioteca privada, Irinna55
  1. 10
    The Watchmaker of Filigree Street por Natasha Pulley (Utilizador anónimo)
  2. 01
    The Raven Tower por Ann Leckie (helena2109)
  3. 01
    The Bear and the Nightingale por Katherine Arden (raizel)
    raizel: The books have a similar feel to them, fantasy with a historical background and lots of descriptions of weather.
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 30 menções

Inglês (101)  Holandês (3)  Húngaro (2)  Espanhol (1)  Alemão (1)  Todas as línguas (108)
Mostrando 1-5 de 108 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Didn’t like the story. Didn’t finish. ( )
  ramrak | Apr 5, 2024 |
This book was amazing! So compelling.... And the characters made me want to crawl inside the book with them. ( )
  decaturmamaof2 | Nov 22, 2023 |
This isn't supposed to be YA, but it is. ( )
  feralcreature | Oct 31, 2023 |
A wholly original and novel (no pun intended) concept for a novel, executed to perfection.

Emmett Farmer, a normal, everyday farmers son, happily working the families land with aspirations no higher than to take over the farm from his father when the time comes. That is until recovering from a debilitating illness, he receives a letter that will change his future forevermore. He has been summoned by bookbinder Seredith, an old spinster, rumoured to be a witch, to take his place as her apprentice. With no other option but to leave his family and follow his destiny, he leaves everything he knows and loves to become a Bookbinder, even though he has no idea what that actually is or entails.

Just as he gets his strength back from his illness and settles under Seredith’s tutelage, Emmett’s life is shattered yet again, this time leading to a new teacher, moving him even further from his old life and a discovery that will change everything he thought he knew about who he was and his past with earth shattering consequences.

This book was a pure delight to read, blending a touch of folklore and myths with a dash of magic, suspense and true love into a completely original and spellbinding novel of epic proportions. This really will be a book that you will remember forever, firing your imagination, consuming you all the way through to the very last page. Not only is it a stunning book outside its purple page edging, the contents are even more dazzling. I am finding it hard to review without waxing lyrical too much because it really has blown me away with the plot lines, characters and writing! It has been in my tbr pile for months and now I wish I had read this one sooner. I can safely say this will be a book that I will be reading again and has cemented itself as an all time favourite!

The Binding was published on 7 Jan. 2019 and will be published in paperback on 6 Feb 2020. If you haven’t already done so grab a copy now and see for yourself why it is labelled as ‘The most captivating novel of 2019′ on Amazon! If like me you already own a copy and it is buried in your tbr pile, dig it out and dive straight in, I promise you, you won’t be disappointed!

A massive thank you to the author Bridget Collins, publishers HarperCollins UK and NetGalley for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest and independent review. ( )
  DebTat2 | Oct 13, 2023 |
DNF just couldn't get into it I may try again one day ( )
  KitKat101 | Sep 13, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 108 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
“The Binding” succeeds in creating the magic it proposes: the experience of memory returning, a rush of recollection that can change the whole world, if only for one person at a time — or sometimes two.
adicionada por KayCliff | editarNew York Times, Naomi Novik (May 8, 2019)
 
The Binding is an unpretentious work of escapist fiction. The morality of the book is simple; the good are essentially noble and their enemies unambiguously wicked. The vaguely antiquated setting could as easily be Westeros or Hardy’s Wessex. At the heart of the novel is a love story that develops along a familiar trajectory, from immediate dislike to inexplicable flutters of the heart to full infatuation with its feeling of being “breathless and dizzy, as if my blood was too thin”. When the protagonists are happy, it’s spring outdoors. When things go wrong, a wet snow falls.... The Binding is a kissing novel par excellence, and on this level, it is like a wonderful meal made from a few simple ingredients: the feeling in your chest when you hold someone in your arms for the first time; the sight of a host of bluebells. In recent years, the state of the world has threatened to make us forget the simple pleasures of kisses and bluebells and thick novels that tell stories of heartbreak. Here is a book to help us remember.
adicionada por KayCliff | editarThe Guardian, Sandra Newman (Jan 4, 2019)
 

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Bridget Collinsautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Prekopp, CarlNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Nick
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
When the letter came I was out in the fields, binding up my last sheaf of wheat with hands that were shaking so much I could hardly tie the knot.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives. Young Emmett Farmer is working in the fields when a strange letter arrives summoning him away from his family. He is to begin an apprenticeship as a Bookbinder--a vocation that arouses fear, superstition, and prejudice amongst their small community, but one neither he nor his parents can afford to refuse. For as long as he can recall, Emmett has been drawn to books, even though they are strictly forbidden. Bookbinding is a sacred calling, Seredith informs her new apprentice, and he is a binder born. Under the old woman's watchful eye, Emmett learns to hand-craft the elegant leather-bound volumes. Within each one they will capture something unique and extraordinary: a memory. If there's something you want to forget, a binder can help. If there's something you need to erase, they can assist. Within the pages of the books they create, secrets are concealed and the past is locked away. In a vault under his mentor's workshop rows upon rows of books are meticulously stored. But while Seredith is an artisan, there are others of their kind, avaricious and amoral tradesman who use their talents for dark ends--and just as Emmett begins to settle into his new circumstances, he makes an astonishing discovery: one of the books has his name on it. Soon, everything he thought he understood about his life will be dramatically rewritten. An unforgettable novel of enchantment, mystery, memory, and forbidden love, The Binding is a beautiful homage to the allure and life-changing power of books--and a reminder to us all that knowledge can be its own kind of magic."--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Bridget Collins's book The Binding was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.69)
0.5
1 5
1.5 4
2 34
2.5 3
3 76
3.5 27
4 129
4.5 16
5 66

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 204,646,778 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível