Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Lethal Target: The Line of Duty, Book 2 por…
A carregar...

Lethal Target: The Line of Duty, Book 2 (edição 2018)

por Janice Cantore (Autor)

Séries: The Line of Duty (2)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
404505,646 (3.6)Nenhum(a)
"Police Chief Tess O'Rourke thought she'd taken care of her small town's drug problem last year. But now Rogue's Hollow residents are up in arms over a contentious vote on legalizing the sale of marijuana within city limits. And when an eighteen-year-old is found dead from a possible overdose, Tess wonders if the local pot farms might be involved and begins to fear that a new, deadlier drug supply chain has cropped up. As tempers flare and emotions boil over, Tess faces the possibility of losing the town's support. With her relationship to Sergeant Steve Logan on shaky ground, Tess could really use a friend, and she feels drawn to Pastor Oliver Macpherson's quiet presence. But the anger she holds over her father's death prevents her from embracing his faith and finding peace. Battling storms within and without, Tess is shocked when a familiar face from her past shows up in town to stir up more trouble. And his threats against Tess may prove lethal"--… (mais)
Membro:Ms.Jewell
Título:Lethal Target: The Line of Duty, Book 2
Autores:Janice Cantore (Autor)
Informação:Two Words Publishing LLC (2018)
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Lethal Target (The Line of Duty Book 2) por Janice Cantore

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Mostrando 4 de 4
Readers return to the small Oregon town of Rogue’s Hollow in Lethal Target, the second book in Janice Cantore’s Line of Duty series. This time Tess O’Rourke investigates the murder of a favorite high school student with no enemies. The crime is especially puzzling and the family is vocal about Tess’s lack of skills in bringing the perpetrator to justice. Add extra layers of drug raids, legal pot farms, and a journalist’s vendetta, and you have a suspense-filled drama that keeps the pages turning. This novel gets a recommended rating from me.

Rogue’s Hollow is a fictional town, but Cantore’s description of setting and citizens truly bring it to life. The author brings back characters from book 1, Crisis Shot, including this reader’s favorite, Oliver Macpherson, the local pastor whose wife was murdered in the previous novel. Tess is faced with a number of problems and obstacles in her investigation, as well as danger and threats, both physical and emotional. For such a small town, Tess finds herself in a pressure cooker that could undo her. I liked that Cantore explores the emotional side of her characters as they struggle with choices and doubts. Spiritual issues are at the heart of this book as well. Short chapters keep the novel fast-paced, and I really enjoyed the clues shared with the reader before Tess discovers them. That certainly amped up anticipation. I also found the community debate over legal pot farms interesting. Lethal Target is my book club’s selection this month, and I anticipate a lively discussion of how people deal with the legalization that many find immoral or a danger to society as a whole. Marijuana is not legal in my state, but it certainly could be in the future.

If you like the suspense genre, then Lethal Target is an excellent choice. Great characters, wonderful setting, relevant issues, and spiritual truths make this an outstanding novel.

Recommended.

Audience: adults.

(I purchased this book from Amazon. All opinions expressed are mine alone.) ( )
  vintagebeckie | Feb 27, 2020 |
Title: Lethal Target (The Line of Duty)
Author: Janice Cantore
Pages: 416
Year: 2018
Publisher: Tyndale
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars.
Chief of Police Tess O’Rourke has her hands full even in the small town of Rogue’s Hollow. We met Tess in the first novel in the series titled, Crisis Shot. Now, in the sequel, we see that Tess has much to do with the towns’ cannabis growers and now a murder to solve that appears to be unsolvable. Not only is Tess having challenges in her job, but also her personal life as well
The story begins with her not celebrating her birthday due to a tragedy that occurred on her birthday years ago. Tess respects the small town’s pastor, but desires to hear nothing of God and the Bible he longs to share with her. Tess admires the way the pastor is healing after losing his wife, which happens in the first book, and how he comforts others when they are faced with grief.
Tess loves to walk the town streets and develop a presence, so people don’t view her as untouchable. However, one man decides she must face his wrath but isn’t sure how to carry out his revenge. Until one moment comes when he is offered cash in an opportunity to do just what he wants to do to her. Readers are kept in suspense aa to the identity of the person behind the money and encouragement to do great harm to Tess.
While Janice’s novels can be read as stand alone, I found reading a series from the first book helps bring understanding to the background of the current story. Janice keeps readers guessing and turning pages to see what will happen next as she ramps up the suspense! Having been a police officer herself, Janice is able to bring her expertise as to the crimes and she isn’t quick to bring about an ending. I love that she takes time to develop a believable plot and the theme of faith throughout the story.
Janice Cantore’s novels are well worth the time to enjoy and share with others as you read or when you are finished. I cannot wait to see where Janice takes Tess next in the series conclusion releasing in 2019!
Note: I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book. The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.
Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/. Also follow me on Twitter@lcjohnson1988, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457 ( )
  lamb521 | Nov 8, 2018 |
3.5 Stars

In Lethal Target, Janice Cantore drops readers right into the turmoil and suspense in Rogue Hollow, OR. As police chief Tess O’Rourke deals with contention and high emotions among the citizens as the vote for whether to legalize marijuana sales in the city, the death of a young man only stirs the dissention.

If she doesn’t have enough on her plate, a man from her past who is determined to exploit her arrives, making her job even more difficult.

As a former police officer, Cantore brings knowledge, experience, and authenticity to her books. With several threads and suspects, Lethal Target was a little hard to follow at first, but I did settle into the story and the suspense until all was revealed. And the growing friendship between Oliver and Tess was a highlight. And while this story has no romance in it (maybe just hints at things to come but that’s pure conjecture on my part), the suspense makes up for t.

Disclosure statement:
I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. ( )
  Suzie27 | Oct 21, 2018 |
Tess and Oliver have both suffered traumatic loss. Oliver, the local preacher has maintained his faith through the difficult times, while Tess, the local police chief, has struggled to answer the “why’s” behind her loss for so many years. So, when the local Oregon pot farm starts stirring up trouble she is forced to confront her faith and maintain composure.



The many ongoing story lines, character insertion and varying plot narrations caused this to be a confusing read. While I fought to keep track of the ever-entering characters, the underlying story packed the suspense ripe for a TV-worthy drama. It was more than apparent Janice Cantore brought her impressive police knowledge in this unraveling of a homicide in small town Oregon.

Despite being book #2 of The Line of Duty series, Lethal Target maintains its ability to read as a standalone novel. However, for fans of Tess O’Rourke, The Line of Duty’s female heroine, be sure to check out book #1 Crisis Shot.



For the full review, visit: https://fortheloveofthepageblog.wordpress.com/



*Disclaimer: A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. All opinions are my own. ( )
  JillRey | Oct 15, 2018 |
Mostrando 4 de 4
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Belongs to Series

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Police Chief Tess O'Rourke thought she'd taken care of her small town's drug problem last year. But now Rogue's Hollow residents are up in arms over a contentious vote on legalizing the sale of marijuana within city limits. And when an eighteen-year-old is found dead from a possible overdose, Tess wonders if the local pot farms might be involved and begins to fear that a new, deadlier drug supply chain has cropped up. As tempers flare and emotions boil over, Tess faces the possibility of losing the town's support. With her relationship to Sergeant Steve Logan on shaky ground, Tess could really use a friend, and she feels drawn to Pastor Oliver Macpherson's quiet presence. But the anger she holds over her father's death prevents her from embracing his faith and finding peace. Battling storms within and without, Tess is shocked when a familiar face from her past shows up in town to stir up more trouble. And his threats against Tess may prove lethal"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.6)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,113,791 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível