Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Rocket Says Look Up! por Nathan Bryon
A carregar...

Rocket Says Look Up! (edição 2019)

por Nathan Bryon

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
572368,558 (4.05)Nenhum(a)
Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book. Honored as a Chicago Public Library 2019 Best of the Best Book! A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science--Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity. Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium.… (mais)
Membro:SWstar
Título:Rocket Says Look Up!
Autores:Nathan Bryon
Informação:Random House Books for Young Readers, Kindle Edition, 32 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:picture-children-books, own-voices

Pormenores da obra

Rocket Says Look Up! por Nathan Bryon

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Mostrando 2 de 2
Rocket is a little girl who loves space, and looks up at the stars with her telescope every night. Rocket dreams of being an astronaut just like Mae Jemison. She is very excited to view an upcoming meteor shower. Rocket goes around town telling all of her friends facts about meteor showers. Her brother then takes her home, and rocket prepares for the shower that night. Later, rocket finds out that half the people she spoke with earlier that day show up at her door excited for the meteor shower. They all begin to make their way to the park. After waiting and waiting, folks begin to leave and rocket looses hope that the shower will still happen. Her brother puts down his phone and reassures her. At that moment the meteor shower begins, and they all look up at the stars together. Rocket proclaims that one day she will have a meteor shower named after herself.
Throughout the book, Rocket gives us plenty of factual information of space and past space travel. We also see how a group of people prepare to view a meteor shower. I like how this book shows a young, black female as the protagonist interested in space. Rocket is a perfect example of how anyone can love space, and aspire to work in the stem field. This would pair well with a science lesson on meteor showers or space in general. This is a good science book for kindergarten-second grade readers. ( )
  vviverito | Nov 19, 2019 |
Young would-be astronomer Rocket looks forward to the upcoming Phoenix Meteor Shower in this charming new picture book from British actor Nathan Bryon. Practically beside herself with excitement, she invites everyone in the neighborhood to join her at the local park on the evening in question. The only person who remains indifferent is her elder brother Jamal. Or does he? When it seems as if the meteor shower is a bust, he proves he has observed a few things, when not looking at his phone...

I'm not always that enthusiastic for celebrity-authored children's books. Too often, I feel that the authors of such books get a free pass because of their fame, producing work more notable for its creator's name, than for any quality inherent to it. That said, I found the story in Rocket Says Look Up! quite endearing, appreciating both the eponymous heroine's enthusiasm for astronomy, and the heartwarming conclusion in which Jamal's better nature reveals itself. The artwork from Dapo Adeola is cute, although I did find Rocket's glasses a little bit... much. Of course, I'm sure that they were a deliberate choice, and were meant to be endearingly geeky, but somehow my gaze was always being drawn to those round spectacles, making them more of a distraction than anything else. Leaving that one quibble aside, I found this a sweet, heartwarming little picture-book, one I would recommend to all young star-gazers and would-be astronomers. ( )
  AbigailAdams26 | Jun 26, 2019 |
Mostrando 2 de 2
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Nathan Bryonautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculated
Adeola, DapoIlustradorautor secundáriotodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book. Honored as a Chicago Public Library 2019 Best of the Best Book! A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science--Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity. Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.05)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 4
4.5
5 3

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,101,881 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível