Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

They Wish They Were Us por Jessica Goodman
A carregar...

They Wish They Were Us (edição 2020)

por Jessica Goodman (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
1387157,687 (3.76)Nenhum(a)
Membro:spellbindingstories
Título:They Wish They Were Us
Autores:Jessica Goodman (Autor)
Informação:Razorbill (2020), 336 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

They Wish They Were Us por Jessica Goodman

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
They Wish They Were Us is about Jill Newman and her senior year at Gold Coast Prep. Though everything looks perfect, it's far from it. Three years ago, Jill's best friend Shaila Arnold was murdered. Her boyfriend Graham confessed, the police arrested him, case closed. Now, Jill is a senior member of the Players (a Gold Coast Prep exclusive, not-so-secret society) and she's ready to make a change. One night, she gets a text claiming Graham's innocence and her year begins to crumble. She needs to find out what really happened to her best friend, no matter the cost.

I enjoyed this book, but I think I enjoyed it most because of the character of Jill Newman. She's a badass, independent female character who knows what she wants. Her friends though, I absolutely hated them at the beginning - spoiled little rich kids who think the world owes them everything. But throughout the book, Jessica Goodman was able to drop hints here and there about why they are the way they are, and it made me hate them less. By the end of the book, I actually started rooting for them.

Towards the end of the book, I had a thought as to what the twist was, but still didn't know who the killer was, not until it was basically revealed. Goodman did an excellent job at keeping the suspense. The twist ended up being good - sometimes with murder mysteries, the killer/killing ends up being a bit out there, but this one added up.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and the mystery within. It kept me turning the pages to see what the end results were.

*Thank you Bookishfirst and Razorbill for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  oldandnewbooksmell | Sep 24, 2021 |
This was actually one of my most anticipated books of the year. As soon as I saw the cover and read the synopsis, I knew it was going to be a book that was right up my alley. When it finally arrived in the mail, I couldn't wait to begin the suspenseful mystery.

Surprisingly, I loved it even more than I anticipated. I listened to its audiobook while reading and absolutely fell in love with the narration. The story sent me falling into a sense of nostalgia, reminding me of some of my favorite series from when I was younger like Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars. I think fans of either series would really love this book, since its evokes the teenage mystery of PLL and the life of the rich, upper-class of Gossip Girl. While I do think the big reveal was a bit obvious throughout, I still really enjoyed the journey getting there!

So excited for what Jessica Goodman publishes next! ( )
  spellbindingstories | Jun 4, 2021 |
I absolutely loved this book. It's perfect for fans of Gossip Girl, or just mystery fans who like a high school setting. Jill Newman, the main character, is finally part of an exclusive group, but is nowhere near as excited as she should be, because during initiation three years ago, her best friend was killed and her boyfriend, Graham, confessed to doing it, serving his sentence in jail. Now, he claims he didn't kill her, and Jill doesn't know who to believe. Jill and her friends navigate the world of preppy high school while trying to solve the murder of her best friend. I really liked the focus on feminine friendship in this book, because that's not something commonly seen nowadays. This book is great at accurately conveying and portraying the thinking process of teenagers, with enough plot twists to keep it exciting, yet still fairly believable. I highly recommend this book! ( )
  gnatinthehat | Oct 23, 2020 |
Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive downtown shops to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems. Freshman year Jill's best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on. Now, it's Jill's senior year and she's determined to make it her best yet. After all, she's a senior and a Player--a member of Gold Coast Prep's exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill's year. She's sure of it. But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham's innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn't kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future, in jeopardy. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Oct 9, 2020 |
I am so over rich assholes having their way with the world. [I apologize for my language—that's just how disgusted I am.] We have too much of that garbage in our real lives right now. Why would I want to read about this type of scenario during my precious recreation time?

I gave this a try because of its comparison to One of Us Is Lying, which I expected to hate, but actually ended up liking. That was more about the mystery, and it had some diversity of characters. This (so far) is about a bunch of spoiled, selfish rich kids getting away with murder (literally and figuratively) because their parents' money can buy them into or out of any situation. Just no.
  joyblue | Aug 25, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.76)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 6
3.5 1
4 7
4.5 1
5 3

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,499,458 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível