Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

We Dream of Space (2020)

por Erin Entrada Kelly

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3811968,306 (4.12)12
Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Historical Fiction. HTML:

A Newbery Honor Book BookPage Best Books Chicago Public Library Best Fiction Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee Horn Book Fanfare New York Times Notable Children's Book School Library Journal Best Book Today Show Pick An ALA Notable Book

"A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space."Time for Kids

Newbery Medalist and New York Timesbestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn't understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA's first female shuttle commander, but feels like she's disappearing.

The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a projectthey are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers.

We Dream of Space is illustrated throughout by the author.

.
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 12 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 19 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Gr 4–6—Set against the Challenger launch in 1986, the novel features the changing Thomas family.Cash is in
seventh grade (again) with twin siblings Bird and Fitch. Cash is lost, Fitch is angry, and Bird nurtures aspirations far
beyond societal and familial expectations. Meanwhile, their parents fight—a lot. Kelly expertly articulates tween
experiences while discussing prevalent issues like gender inequality. In an engrossing 1980s setting, the Thomas
siblings navigate difficult situations that are likely to feel familiar to many.
  BackstoryBooks | Apr 2, 2024 |
I felt very uncomfortable with the parent's weird diet talk to her daughter, and while I understood it as showing a toxic environment, i was concerned it would never get addressed and the whole book was bumming me out, so I quit. ( )
  mslibrarynerd | Jan 13, 2024 |
"The only way for us to know what's out there is if we're out there, too. Yes, we are small. Yes, there are things we may never understand. But to be small is not to be inconsequential. Never mistake size for might."

"If the sand never moves, it never changes. And each of us should strive to change every single day. To be better explorers. To be better teachers and students. To be better humans. To just be better."

This book was exceptional. It completely took me by surprise. We Dream of Space takes place during the 1980s around the time of the Challenger space shuttle accident. I was not alive during the time of the explosion but I have heard of it and it was fascinating reading from the perspective of children who experienced the shock of such a tragic event. Siblings Cash, Bird, and Fitch have a stressful home life with their parents constantly arguing and they each find solace in their own ways. Cash enjoys watching sports and wants to be an athlete, but feels he's not good enough to actually make that happen. Bird is fascinated with machines and dreams of going to space one day. Fitch finds himself at the arcade every day after school, working to beat his previous high scores. Each sibling has their own struggles that they are dealing with and in the end, they all come together so beautifully. The growth of each of these characters was so profound. I could not recommend this book more. ( )
  Lacy_007 | Apr 15, 2023 |
Bird is not the member of her family who causes the most problems. She doesn't really cause any trouble at all. Her parents, with their constant loud fighting, her twin brother with his lightning quick temper, and her older brother with his failing grades cause enough trouble. She flies under the radar as much as she can, dreaming of becoming an astronaut and leaving all of this behind some day. Life's daily disappointments start to chip away at Bird's dreams, and just when it seems the whole family might be doomed to a lifetime of sadness, something terrible happens that shifts everything. We Dream of Space captures a lonely family dynamic so perfectly it hurts, but don't worry. This story turns out to be full of hope. ( )
  kamlibrarian | Dec 23, 2022 |
Siblings Cash, Fitch, and Bird navigate the difficulties of pre-teen life in the 1980s in We Dream of Space. Due to Cash being held back in the seventh grade, Fitch and Bird, who are twins, are now in the same grade as their elder brother. Bird is fascinated by space and aspires to become an astronaut. This book is great for middle school because it talks about family and friendships. I feel like middle schoolers will love reading this book and have fun learning about great lessons from the book. ( )
  Monica2001 | Nov 18, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 19 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Erin Entrada Kellyautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Ocampo, Ramon deNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"Pretty" isn't real, Bird. It's one person looking at another and saying yes or no, based on their own personal judgments. And it's transient. It's like the wind -- society says something is pretty one minute, then they decide it's not pretty anymore, and everyone moves where it takes them. Pretty is nothing. Pretty is invisible. Pretty is what you make it.
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Historical Fiction. HTML:

A Newbery Honor Book BookPage Best Books Chicago Public Library Best Fiction Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee Horn Book Fanfare New York Times Notable Children's Book School Library Journal Best Book Today Show Pick An ALA Notable Book

"A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space."Time for Kids

Newbery Medalist and New York Timesbestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn't understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA's first female shuttle commander, but feels like she's disappearing.

The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a projectthey are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers.

We Dream of Space is illustrated throughout by the author.

.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.12)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 4
3.5 2
4 17
4.5 4
5 19

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 208,309,548 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível