Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Punching the Air (2020)

por Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam

Outros autores: Omar T. Pasha (Ilustrador)

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
6151838,578 (4.4)3
Poetry. Suspense. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. A must-read for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn't start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. "Boys just being boys" turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

.
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 3 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 18 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Gr 8 Up—Amal is a Black teen incarcerated for assaulting a white teen. With spare but forceful words, this novel in
verse examines the dehumanization of young people caught in the school-to-prison pipeline. Through Amal's
experience, readers see how young people are left at the mercy of racist, broken educational and criminal justice
systems that stifle talents and silence voices.
  BackstoryBooks | Apr 2, 2024 |
It was a very powerful written piece. I understand his frustrations of being passionate about art but only white artist are being showcased in class. Although, I could never compare my situation to his. The "therapist" character ugh, I think I mentally blocked out her name was so frustrating. There's no way she couldn't tell her patient was slipping into depression and yet she refused to let him go to poetry/art classes until he went to the general ed ones because those were a privilege? Literally what. It is also so cool that Yusef is a prison reform activist. It gives more meaning to the book.
  sonorag | Jul 28, 2023 |
SO GOOD!!! ( )
  Reading_Vicariously | May 22, 2023 |
Amal Shahid is an aspiring artist and poet. Umi, his mother, is a fierce woman who is Amal’s strength during his trials. He is wrongfully convicted and expresses his experiences with the inequities of the judicial system. Anal documents the discrepancy between himself and his white counterpart.

Punching the Air is the story of a benevolent boy who fights for the truth through a system designed to suppress it. Because of Yusef Salaam’s similar experience with the judicial system; these poems are blunt, innovative, and powerful. Ethan and Ibi do an excellent job articulating the severity of the situation and depth of emotions. Punching the Air is a captivating young adult read that is reflective of current times. ( )
  RandyMorgan | Mar 8, 2023 |
Crikey, that was an incredibly well written and important verse novel.

The way the imagery of the stones, bricks, dust and butterflies is so cleverly woven into the story to symbolise Amal's shifting emotional state was just amazing and so poignant.

I thoroughly recommend reading the text copy of the book as the word placement on the page is part of the story telling. A must read for the significance and importance of the topic and also to enjoy the experience of reading an incredibly well crafted verse novel.

I remember that feeling
of being in a dream
or a nightmare
as if this life isn't mine
as if I've stepped into the flesh and bones
of someone else pretending to be me
and I'm waiting for an opening
in the universe to pull me out of
this dream state
this smoky haze
this ghost of a body
that is not me
( )
  Mrs_Tapsell_Bookzone | Feb 14, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 18 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Ibi Zoboiautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Salaam, Yusefautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Pasha, Omar T.Ilustradorautor secundáriotodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Herisse, EthanNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Prémios

Notable Lists

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Poetry. Suspense. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor * Walter Award Winner * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. A must-read for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn't start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. "Boys just being boys" turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 8
3.5 4
4 27
4.5 2
5 42

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 206,309,022 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível