Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Inheritance Games

por Jennifer Lynn Barnes

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4,394882,654 (4.09)33
Mystery. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets??perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
/> Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why??or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House where every room bears the old man's touch??and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 33 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 86 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
I’ve read this book three times now and still can’t tell Jameson and Greyson apart.

——

I'm not sure about you but I love an intelligent read. I was glad that The Inheritance Games was such.

This book was overall a great read, almost perfect for any age. (see notes below) It was a fun and engaging story full of mystery and wonder. It sounds (and looks) like a fantasy but it is very much set during the modern day in the US. That was a pleasant surprise and I really enjoyed how The Inheritance Games showed the day-to-day life of Avery.

One massive complaint that I have though is Jamison and Greyson. I could not keep these two separate. They were completely indistinguishable and I finally realized why. Their names are too similar (neither used nicknames) and my brain just did not like that.

You can find me *trying* to patiently wait for book two that releases sometime in 2021.



Rating: 4/5

Language: d*** and a** a few times, words were substituted as to not use the actual words

Romance: a kiss or two

Spiritual: n/a

Violence: a death that happened in the past, gunshot wounds



*I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All thoughts are my own and a positive review was not required.



Favorite Quotes:

A second later, my phone rang. "Are you really okay?" Max asked when I answered.

I looked back down at the postcards in my lap, and the muscles in my throat tightened. I would make it through high school. I'd apply for every scholarship I qualified for. I'd get a marketable degree that allowed me to work remotely and paid me well.

I'd travel the world.

I let out a long, jagged breath, and then answered Max's question. "You know me, Maxine. I always land on my feet."



"The entire world's going to want a piece of you, Mystery Girl. This has the story of the century written all over it."

Story of the century. My brain kicked back into gear because there was every indication that this wasn't a joke. I wasn't delusional. I wasn't dreaming.

I was an heiress.



"I don't know how you did this." He cut me off, his voice dangerous and soft. "I don't know what hold you had over my grandfather or what kind of con you're running here."

"I'm not--"

"I'm talking right now, Ms. Grambs." He placed his hand flat on the door. I'd been wrong about his eyes. They weren't pools. They were ice. "I haven't a clue how you pulled this off, but I will find out. I see you now. I know what you are and what you're capable of, and there is nothing I wouldn't do to protect my family. Whatever game you're playing here, no matter how long this con--I will find the truth, and God help me when I do." ( )
  libraryofemma | Apr 18, 2024 |
The Inheritance Games was a fun twist and turning puzzle of a read. While not overly difficult to follow, and some of the mysteries easy to see coming, there were still a handful of other riddles that took me by surprise.

Barnes lays out a fun game that follows Avery, who mysteriously inherits a fortune from a man she has never met. Avery must try and navigate a very angry family to trust and help the four grandsons who believe their grandfather set out a game for them to play.

I must say, I love Xander! He added a much needed comic relief to the story that would have been missing. Also, his unknown part in the story that was revealed at the end... wonderful. I am not sure how I feel about the triangle, especially coupled in with Emily... I didn't really connect to it much and felt a bit forced. I understood the Emily connection more than Avery's. Now Nash, I hope he plays a larger part in the next few books. I want to know what he is doing with Libby, and more about his relationship with the attorney. For the most part, he just seemed kind of there for some added dialog. I want more from him later on.

As far as the puzzles go, I liked them overall. It was a fun read that kept me turning the pages. Barnes does leave a lot of questions that make me excited to pick up the next book in the series. So much that I want to follow up on that I hope is eventually addressed.

Overall, it was a fun story. Not difficult to read/follow, but also doesn't go too far into character building; I would have enjoyed a little more as far as that goes. Also, I would love for her to include a map of the Hawthorn House. I understand it is supposed to be this maze of a mansion, but a visual would really help the reader navigate when they explore. ( )
  kames04 | Apr 5, 2024 |
High school junior Avery Grambs gets the shock of her life when she finds out that multi-billionaire Tobias Hawthorne has died and left her nearly all his fortune. The weird thing is, she’s never even met the man. According to the will, in order for her to receive the inheritance, she must live in the mysterious Hawthorne mansion for at least a year, along with the four Hawthorne grandsons, all of whom expected to receive the inheritance, and harbor a serious distrust of Avery. As things progress, she learns the deceased billionaire had a love for puzzles and riddles, and somehow, she had now become a part of his last, and most dangerous, game.

What I liked: pretty much everything! The storyline was gripping. The characters were unique and likable. The mystery continued to become more complex and interesting as the story progressed.

What I didn’t like: nothing, really. The book had a satisfying ending, but did leave with a major teaser for book 2 which I am now dying to read.

A great read.

5 out of 5 stars ( )
  AlbaArango | Apr 4, 2024 |
I love myself some mysterious inheritance! It was a very easy read, YA type of mystery. It had some nice puzzles and I wish the focus was there for a longer time.

I liked the protagonist but I have the feeling that she started with more personality and the slowly became a bit more generic. The four boys have somewhat distinct personalities and Xander is the big MVP.

I think this has some plot twists that I wasn't expecting but I saw one of them coming (the big one). I'm going to continue reading the trilogy and let's see if the puzzles get better and better! ( )
  omseijas | Feb 3, 2024 |
Excellent! Can't wait for the sequel. Fast paced, good mystery. ( )
  freshmenarerats | Jan 22, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 86 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Pertence a Série

Prémios

Notable Lists

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Samuel
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
When I was a kid, my mom constantly invented games.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Mystery. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets??perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why??or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House where every room bears the old man's touch??and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.09)
0.5 1
1 4
1.5
2 17
2.5 5
3 80
3.5 27
4 243
4.5 35
5 187

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 205,801,075 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível