Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Wife Upstairs

por Rachel Hawkins

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,6338110,893 (3.56)15
Fiction. Literature. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

"Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." EW

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN

  • Newsweek
    • Vulture
    • PopSugar
    • Parade
    • BuzzFeed
    • E!Online
    • TimeOut
    • Woman's Day
    • Goodreads
    • She Reads
    • Good Housekeeping
    • CrimeReads
    • Frolic
    • Hello!
    • Mystery and Suspense
      January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick
      A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.
      Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estatesa gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.
      But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddienot only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.
      Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her pastor hiscatches up to her?
      With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?
      A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press
      "A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre on its head...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." EW
  • .
    … (mais)
    A carregar...

    Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

    Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

    » Ver também 15 menções

    Mostrando 1-5 de 78 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
    "There is a trick to spinning lies...you have to embed the truth in there."
    Jane Eyre rewritten: Jane as a cynical envious, devious kleptomaniac, Mr. Rochester as Eddie, the contractor with a mysterious past/possible murderer, and Mrs Rochester as a southern belle/mogul. While it sometimes reads like a Harlequin Romance, it held my attention. The last 10% had a bit of a convoluted twist. Therefore, 4 out of 5 stars. ( )
      Chrissylou62 | Apr 11, 2024 |
    I didn’t give it a four because I didn’t feel it was a retelling but more so a good story using elements of a great story. While I understand this to be a contemporary retelling, some stories are not meant to be brought into a contemporary setting and can lose luster by uber fans of the originals. I decided to restart the story after 7 chapters and remove Jane Eyre from my thinking all together. If I didn’t, this would have been 2 stars.

    That said, I enjoyed this story. It was a story I did not want to put down. There were a few plot twist, some I should have known were coming and some I absolutely had no clue would take place. I could have done without all the F bombs and wish authors would understand an F bomb doesn’t make you an adult writer.

    After discussing the book with friends I wanted to look at what could cast similarities between stories. I look back at the literature study I did back in my forst round of college.

    To me, Jane is two totally different people in each story. The only similarity being the name and having a rough upbringing. I find the original Jane much stronger.

    I don’t feel John is represented in the same way and is just a way to smug the Christian view as a lot of books are doing now a days. I do think the original St John is a little grimy and off, not as saint like as many try to make the would be missionary out to be. In this “retelling”, John is made to be thought of someone who would harm or sexually advance on Jane without her permission when in the original, St John’s morals would not allow him to do such things. This all said, the character could surround the grimy cousin John Reed, in which suit would fit the grim he portrayed towards a young Jane. But it feels like they are trying to mix the two.

    Making Adele a dog made me laugh ...

    As you can see, I am a fan of the original much more than the new story but enjoyed The Wife Upstairs enough to keep it on my shelves and reread it at some point. ( )
      mybookloveobsession | Mar 12, 2024 |
    Sorta surprising but the ending was only ok ( )
      hellokirsti | Jan 3, 2024 |
    I liked the twisty and turny mystery. I also really found how this story was loosely inspired by jane erye it also a gothic elements that i enjoyed. I also really enjoyed the various POV that we got and thought it was thriller that i did not not see the ending or twists coming. It was super fast pace story, but all of the characters were super unlikeable and that did hinder my enjoyment, but it reminded of the a list but with murder!! Really liked listening to this book as well! ( )
      lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
    I liked the twisty and turny mystery. I also really found how this story was loosely inspired by jane erye it also a gothic elements that i enjoyed. I also really enjoyed the various POV that we got and thought it was thriller that i did not not see the ending or twists coming. It was super fast pace story, but all of the characters were super unlikeable and that did hinder my enjoyment, but it reminded of the a list but with murder!! Really liked listening to this book as well! ( )
      lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
    Mostrando 1-5 de 78 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
    sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
    Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
    Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
    Título canónico
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    Título original
    Títulos alternativos
    Data da publicação original
    Pessoas/Personagens
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    Locais importantes
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    Acontecimentos importantes
    Filmes relacionados
    Epígrafe
    Dedicatória
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    For Mama, who is thankfully nothing like the mothers in this book
    Primeiras palavras
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    It is the absolute shittiest day for a walk.
    Citações
    Últimas palavras
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    Nota de desambiguação
    Editores da Editora
    Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
    Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
    Língua original
    DDC/MDS canónico
    LCC Canónico

    Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

    Wikipédia em inglês

    Nenhum(a)

    Fiction. Literature. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

    Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

    "Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." EW

    One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN

    Newsweek Vulture PopSugar Parade BuzzFeed E!Online TimeOut Woman's Day Goodreads She Reads Good Housekeeping CrimeReads Frolic Hello! Mystery and Suspense
    January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick
    A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.
    Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estatesa gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.
    But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddienot only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.
    Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her pastor hiscatches up to her?
    With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?
    A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press
    "A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre on its head...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." EW .

    Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

    Descrição do livro
    Resumo Haiku

    Current Discussions

    Nenhum(a)

    Capas populares

    Ligações Rápidas

    Avaliação

    Média: (3.56)
    0.5 1
    1 6
    1.5 3
    2 19
    2.5 5
    3 98
    3.5 22
    4 124
    4.5 9
    5 36

    É você?

    Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

     

    Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 206,400,013 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível