Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the…
A carregar...

Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery (edição 2020)

por Agatha Christie (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
753277,248 (4.03)13
Membro:kaylajoy
Título:Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery
Autores:Agatha Christie (Autor)
Informação:William Morrow Paperbacks (2020), 320 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca, Para ler
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery por Agatha Christie

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 13 menções

Mostrando 3 de 3
‘’It was nearly dark. The house felt suddenly very quiet and empty. It was a lonely house, two miles from a village, two miles, as Molly put it, from anywhere. She had often been alone in the house before - but she had never before been so conscious of being alone in it.’’

Welcome to the wintry world of crime and mystery.

‘’The snow beat in a soft flurry against the window - panes. It made a whispery, uneasy sound.’’

Three Blind Mice: Utterly brilliant! The well-known Christie technique of using haunting childish rhymes that hide the essence of the mystery delivers an exciting story. A young couple decides to turn their estate into a guest house. The assembly of newcomers is very particular, not to the mention that they are in grave danger of being murdered. Two blind mice have already gone down. Who shall be the third?

‘’It was a wild night. Outside, the wind howled malevolently, and the rain beat against the windows in great gusts.’’

The Chocolate Box: Hercule Poirot and Captain Hastings discuss one of the unsuccessful cases of our beloved Belgian detective over a chocolate box.

‘’There was what I can only describe as a curiously eerie feeling in the air. There seemed to be something weighing on us all. A feeling of misfortune.’’

A Christmas Tragedy: Miss Marple narrates the chronicle of a murder foretold by the evil disposition of the killer. A Christmas tragedy indeed…

‘’A good night for ghosts to walk’’, said Portal with a reckless laugh. ‘All the devils in Hell are abroad tonight.’

The Coming of Mr Quin: On New Year’s Eve, a group of upper-class people find themselves involved in a crime of sadness and strange visitors. This one was rather perplexing, requiring my utmost attention. Brilliant!

The Clergyman’s Daughter: Tommy and Tuppence, our quirky duo, are called to investigate a poltergeist case that threatens the happiness of a charming girl. This was a wonderfully spirited story but quite predictable.

‘’They are so busy knocking that they do not notice that the door is open.’’

The Plymouth Express: The little grey cells of Poirot are called in to solve the murder of a woman found in a first-class compartment of the Plymouth Express.

Problem at Pollensa Bay: Majorca in the winter. What could be more enticing? Add a questionable social circle, a mother who behaves like a dictator, an oppressed young man and the suspicious behaviour of a potential gold digger. In my opinion, this story was rather boring and had nothing to offer to the collection.

Sanctuary: A man mortally wounded is discovered in a church by Miss Marple’s brightest goddaughter. Is it a suicide or a well-planned murder? The two women form the perfect dup and London hides all the answers.

The Mystery of Hunter’s Lodge: Captain Hastings replaces Poirot when a crime is committed in an isolated manor in the moors of Devonshire. But not even influenza can stand in the way of our Belgian genius.

The World’s End: An isolated village in Corsica hides the secret of a strange theft and a man who was wrongly accused. A very atmospheric story.

The Manhood of Edward Robinson: Yes, this story is as weird and melodramatic as its title. A brilliant example of social satire.

Christmas Adventure: A bunch of teenagers believe they are a match for Hercule Poirot.

Yeah, right.

Twelve stories to be read in the heart of winter, in the company of a hot cup of cocoa.

‘’After all, said Poirot reflectively, ‘it was an experience! I, who have undoubtedly the finest brain in Europe at present, can afford to be magnanimous!’’

Many thanks to William Morrow and Edelweiss for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

My reviews can also be found on https://theopinionatedreaderblog.wordpress.com/ ( )
  AmaliaGavea | Jan 13, 2021 |
Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery - Christie
Audio performance by Fenella Woolgar
3 stars

This is a collection of previously published Agatha Christie short stories. All of the stories are set around winter holidays or in severe winter weather. Two of the short stories were at some point expanded into, or extracted from, novels that I’d read before. (One of those was The Mystery of the Blue Train) Fenella Woolgar was great as a reader of Miss Marple and Tommy and Tuppence stories. I missed Hugh Fraser as she read the Poirot stories. ( )
  msjudy | Jan 9, 2021 |
For readers of Golden Age mysteries, and fans of the Queen of Mystery herself, this book presents a treasure trove of winter-themed mystery stories. Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple make their appearances to aid in solving some of these mysteries. The introduction features "Christmas at Abney Hall," which is a remembrance from Dame Agatha's own autobiography. Reader s will find much to enjoy in this volume of a dozen short stories that occur in the winter holiday season. From poisoned meals to snowstorms, dangerous gifts and mysterious guests, these stories are the perfect treat for a cold and blustery afternoon. They are sure to bring a spot of joy to long time Christie fans as well as those new to the genre. The bibliography provides detailed information on each selection, including date and location of first publication and any alternate titles under which the stories were published.

I received this book from the publisher and from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinions here are entirely my own. ( )
  LadyoftheLodge | Nov 27, 2020 |
Mostrando 3 de 3
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (4.03)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 2
4 6
4.5 1
5 5

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 157,969,612 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível