Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

One Jar of Magic por Corey Ann Haydu
A carregar...

One Jar of Magic (edição 2022)

por Corey Ann Haydu (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
713366,796 (3.45)Nenhum(a)
Fantasy. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets??perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special and magical as the most revered man in town??her father. The whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join them in their annual capturing of magic on New Year's Day and become the person she was born to be.

But when that special day finally comes, Rose barely captures one tiny jar of magic. Now Rose's dad won't talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong. So when Rose hears whispers that there are people who aren't meant for magic at all, she begins to wonder if that's who she belongs with.

Maybe if she's away from all the magic, away from her dad telling her who she's meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what's truly real in a world full of magic… (mais)

Membro:Inky_Fingers
Título:One Jar of Magic
Autores:Corey Ann Haydu (Autor)
Informação:Katherine Tegen Books (2022), 368 pages
Coleções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:***
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

One Jar of Magic por Corey Ann Haydu

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Mostrando 3 de 3
When I got this title from a Goodreads recommendation, I didn't realize it was middle-grade. I wonder if I would have liked it more if I'd read it at age 12. I'm just not the target age for this book.
  Tom_Wright | Oct 11, 2023 |
I was stolen away by the magic in this one, but not in the ways that you might initially think. Yes, it was FASCINATING to hear about the town's most magical family, their traditions, and how great it was going to be on the day of capturing. That was definitely a curiosity that kept pulling my interest...but the real draw, the real moments that stole the show for me, were when we see the relationships in their full glory. From the good to the bad, the ones built on superficial foundations and those that would stand the test of time...or a particularly hard twelfth birthday...THOSE were where my heart lingered. Her bond with her brother warmed my heart. The way that she connected with Stella had me smiling through the tough times she was experiencing. When she found her true self, I couldn't help but be proud. So while yes, the MAGIC was there, and abundant to those lucky enough to see it, it didn't mean the magic that those people were missing out on was any less AMAZING.

All in all, to me it was a realistic take on magic, if ever there could be one. It doesn't remove the sparkle and shine, but it does make it clear that you being YOU is more than enough. It's nice to have that little something extra, but that's exactly what it is...something EXTRA. Having loads is nice, but having just what you need is even better. Kind of like friends...


**copy received for review; opinions are my own ( )
  GRgenius | Jul 31, 2022 |
Rose Alice Anders lives in Belling Bright, the most magical place anywhere in the world. Every year on New Year's Day, the citizens of the town go to TooBlue Lake to collect jars of magic. Rose is anxious about her impending twelfth birthday and her first year collecting magic; ever since her birth, her father has been telling her that she is "Little Luck," the most magical. But when the day comes, Rose catches only one jar of magic, and that's with her older brother Lyle's help, and she's afraid to face her father - and equally afraid of facing the implications. If he was wrong about her, what else has he been wrong about?

In the aftermath of New Year's, Rose loses her best friend Ginger to their other friend, Maddy, but she discovers a new friend, Zelda, who lives with her family in the woods, who is Not Meant for Magic. (Readers may pick up on their true relationship before Rose does.) Rose wonders if she, too, is Not Meant for Magic. After all, if magic has the power to make everything beautiful and perfect, why is her family so broken?

Powerful themes of identity, magic and reality, and domestic violence; a true coming-of-age novel.

Quotes

Or if he doesn't know everything, he knows more than anyone else, and maybe that's the same as knowing everything. (3)

Important things have to be said over and over again. (19)

I want to be just like Ginger, and I want to be just like Dad, and I somehow want to be myself, too, but I'm not sure there's any room for me to be all three of us. (21)

...I am here wondering if he was wrong about me, and if that means he could be wrong about so many other things. (84)

It's not easy, following rules that no one's actually told you. (235)

"Mad isn't a forever thing. It's not even the most important thing. It's just a thing you feel sometimes, before you feel something else." (Zelda to Rose, 278)

It's funny, how easily the way things are can feel like the way things have to be. (286)

"There's no normal. Or if there is, we're not it. But there's okay and not okay." (Bennett, 276) ( )
  JennyArch | Feb 19, 2021 |
Mostrando 3 de 3
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fantasy. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets??perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special and magical as the most revered man in town??her father. The whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join them in their annual capturing of magic on New Year's Day and become the person she was born to be.

But when that special day finally comes, Rose barely captures one tiny jar of magic. Now Rose's dad won't talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong. So when Rose hears whispers that there are people who aren't meant for magic at all, she begins to wonder if that's who she belongs with.

Maybe if she's away from all the magic, away from her dad telling her who she's meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what's truly real in a world full of magic

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.45)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 1
4 4
4.5
5

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 197,674,258 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível