Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels…
A carregar...

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels (Dangerous Damsels) (edição 2021)

por India Holton (Autor)

Séries: Dangerous Damsels (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1006217,466 (3.8)9
Membro:Elizabeth.Petruy
Título:The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels (Dangerous Damsels)
Autores:India Holton (Autor)
Informação:Berkley (2021), 336 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Pormenores da obra

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels por India Holton

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 9 menções

Mostrando 5 de 5
Knowelden’s plummy accent, wry tone, and comedic timing perfectly match the language and style of Holton’s delightfully playful romance series debut. The Wisteria Society are a genteel group of Victorian ladies – who dabble in piracy, proper tea, and polite assassination – all while observing the rules of etiquette. Following the discovery of an ancient flight incantation for houses, the Society ladies prove to be better pilots and pirates than the Royal Army and Navy. Cecilia Bassingthwaite and her Society aunt’s quiet afternoon is interrupted by the arrival of an Italian assassin. Or is he a Queen’s spy? Or is he a hireling of Cecilia’s murderous father? Regardless, Ned Lightbourne’s arrival launches the over-the-top caper of manners and immorality. Knowelden deftly balances the serious tone of the intrigue, flirty word play, and outrageous situations. Each scene reveals sly humour which both parodies and respects Victorian romances stylings. Cecilia, Ned, and the Wisteria ladies dance on the edge of decorous conversation with wit as sharp as their rapiers. Knowleden drips villainy with every syllable spoken by Captain Morvath, whose terrible poetry is matched only by is misogyny. To save the Society, Queen Victoria, and all of England, Cecilia and Ned prove their scoundrelry. Fans of The Parasol Protectorate, The Princess Bride, and other rollicking romantic comedies will find themselves crying, Tally ho!, and begging for a sequel. ( )
  ktoonen | Jul 24, 2021 |
Historical romance? Really?!!

So I’m ok with Steampunk Victorian novels but I realize I’m not fully relating to this quasi-quirky Pirate Victorian romance more in the mode of a Lemony Snicket title, or maybe of Road Dahl gone rogue and let loose in Victorian England, with Quentin Blake illustrations naturally.
Is this a Victorian fantasy or something else? We have lady pirates trying to kill each other off, a would be assassin who’d rather write poetry, and escapades involving flying houses.
Have I strayed into a Baba Yaga alternate world, or is this simply a humorous alternative Victorian fantasy romance?
Celia Bassingwaite belongs to the Wisteria Society crime sorority. A thief who takes delight in seeking out treasures and obtaining them in less than approved ways.
Ned Lightbourne is an assassin working for the deranged Captain Morvath who’s decided to rid the land of forward thinking women, starting with the Wisteria ladies.
Not what I’d envisaged when I settled down to read a historical romance. No, this is somewhat more of a satirical /paradoxical romp—maybe!
I’m just going to have to do a re-read of this to really come to grips with it’s unorthodox departure from my expectations. At the moment I’m sitting just below the fence.

A Berkley Group ARC via NetGalley ( )
  eyes.2c | Jun 19, 2021 |
This book was delightful. I saw Kate Storhoff describe it as "if Terry Pratchett wrote a romance novel," and I think that description holds up. It also seems an effective mix of satire + societal commentary as in William Goldman's editorial notes of S. Morgenstern's The Princess Bride, tongue-in-cheek clinging to notions of prim and proper decorum as in the spunky heroines of L.M. Montgomery (sidenote: I am fairly sure Cecilia's aunt must have been inspired by Oscar Wilde's Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest), coming-of-age and coming-into-one's own, and a lovely romance of two utterly complementary persons.

I wanted to inhale the book as soon as my library delivered it to my digital holds on its release date, but made myself savor it as much as I could (and immediately procured myself my own print copy as soon as I finished it). I believe the writing style, story, and characters will stand up well to re-readings. I intend to reread works by the Bronte sisters and see if I find more easter egg references than were already obviously alluded to in the text, and then I shall reread it. ( )
  parlerodermime | Jun 15, 2021 |
Cecilia Bassingthwaite is the very definition of proper. And she's also a thief with a dark past. Being raised by her aunt, Cecelia longs for the day she'll be accepted into The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels. She thinks she has a good chance at getting in now that an assassin has been sent to kill her (a mark of a true pirate).

Besides being hired to kill Cecilia, Ned Lightbourne is immediately captivated by her. But he won't let that stand in the way of his job as hired by the dread Captain Morvath who plans to rid England of the Wisteria Society one bad poem at a time.

But Cecilia and the other women of the Society will not go quietly. If they go out it'll be with guns a-blazing.

Honestly, I cannot even begin to formulate how surprised I was by this book. I went in obviously knowing I was interested in reading the story, but I was not prepared for how much fun this book was! From the very first page when Cecilia first thwarts Ned's assassination plans, I was hooked. The banter and back-and-forth between all that characters was whip-smart and on point. It's one of those books that you have to get into the flow of the dialogue in order to really appreciate the subtleties and nuances of all that's taking place. Plus, the image in my mind of these Victorian houses flying around with their canon's firing is not something I'll soon forget.

Of course I loved every interaction between Cecilia and Ned. They are the perfect definition of enemies to well...maybe enemies who love each other? I love the fact that they are on such opposite sides from one another and don't stray from those sides, but still fall for one another. It's interesting and dare I say very piratical. Very full of delightful contradictions much like everything in the book including the ladies of the Wisteria Society themselves.

It's almost difficult to form a coherent review of this book because it was just so much fun, but at times it was bonkers as well - in a good way mind you. If you are looking for something on the lighter side, that's fast paced, and quick witted you will be extremely satisfied with this book.

I'm now waiting with bated breath for the next installment! ( )
  AmyM3317 | Jun 3, 2021 |
** 2.5 Stars **

The GoodReads blurb for this book made it sound like a fun, entertaining, lighthearted, witty, and exciting read. I could hardly wait to get my hands on either the purchased copy or an ARC – whichever came first. To say I was sorely disappointed would be putting it mildly. Please take this as just one person’s opinion because we all like different things and we all find different things humorous. I’m sure some of you will read the book and love it – I just did not. After reading it, I am of the belief that they need to invent a whole new genre just for this book. I think it was just too much – too much of everything – too busy – it reminded me of some of the descriptions I’ve read from people having LSD trips.

If you get rid of the chaff, you have a nice love story. I couldn’t bring myself to like the heroine, Cecilia, but I did like the hero Nate. He was actually the only person in the story I did like.

In this alternate/fantasy universe, the members of the Wisteria Society fly their houses from place to place, dislike and disrespect men, love nobody, hire assassins to murder their friends, poison their husbands (or stab them, or …), steal the possessions of others, well, you name it – I sort of thought they were worse than the mafia. Queen Victoria even flies Windsor Castle into battle.

I really, really wanted to love this book as much as I loved the book blurb, but I just couldn’t get there. The writing is well done, I loved the author’s way of turning a phrase and the way she handled the internal dialogue, etc. I just couldn’t get into the story or the characters. I am sorry to say that I won’t be looking for further books by this author.

I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. ( )
  BarbaraRogers | Jun 3, 2021 |
Mostrando 5 de 5
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Belongs to Series

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Amaya and Julie I love you to the edge of the universe and back
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
There was no possibility of walking to the library that day.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5 1
3 5
3.5 1
4 2
4.5 3
5 6

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 163,265,243 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível