Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

City on Fire por Don Winslow
A carregar...

City on Fire (edição 2023)

por Don Winslow (Auteur)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4542453,999 (3.97)6
Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:

New York Times Bestseller!

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of the Cartel Trilogy (The Power of the Dog, The Cartel, and The Border), The Force, and Broken comes the first novel in an epic new trilogy.

"Superb. City on Fire is exhilarating." ?? Stephen King

"Epic, ambitious, majestic, City on Fire is The Godfather for our generation." ?? Adrian McKinty, New York Times bestselling author of The Chain

Two criminal empires together control all of New England.

Until a beautiful woman comes between the Irish and the Italians, launching a war that will see them kill each other, destroy an alliance, and set a city on fire.

Danny Ryan yearns for a more "legit" life and a place in the sun. But as the bloody conflict stacks body on body and brother turns against brother, Danny has to rise above himself. To save the friends he loves like family and the family he has sworn to protect, he becomes a leader, a ruthless strategist, and a master of a treacherous game in which the winners live and the losers die.

From the gritty streets of Providence to the glittering screens of Hollywood to the golden casinos of Las Vegas, two rival crime families ignite a war that will leave only one standing. The winner will forge a dynasty.

Exploring the classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, and honor, City on Fire is a contemporary masterpiece in the tradition of The Godfather, Casino, and Goodfellas??a thrilling saga from Don Winslow, "America's greatest living crime writer" (Jon Land, Providence Journ… (mais)

Membro:nashjmf
Título:City on Fire
Autores:Don Winslow (Auteur)
Informação:HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2023), Edition: 1, 384 pages
Coleções:A sua biblioteca, Para ler
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

City on Fire por Don Winslow

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 6 menções

Inglês (19)  Francês (1)  Espanhol (1)  Catalão (1)  Todas as línguas (22)
Mostrando 1-5 de 22 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
I've been a fan of Don Winslow ever since, intrigued by the title, I picked a paperback of [California Fire and Life] off a library-sale table a couple of decades ago. [City on Fire] isn't his best work, but even an average outing with Winslow is an enormously entertaining roller-coaster ride. The plot whizzes along, the characters are more complex and vividly drawn than a lesser writer would bother to make them, and the setting -- Rhode Island in in the mid-80s, a time and a place I experienced first-hand -- is evoked with pitch-perfect accuracy. Winslow is better known for his novels about California and the desert Southwest, but he made me feel the fog rolling in off Narragansett Bay all over again, as if it were yesterday rather than 40 years ago.

The plot -- a riff on the origins of the Trojan War, played out among the rival Irish and Italian mobs in mid-eighties Providence -- is standard crime-fiction stuff. There are ethnic tensions, generational conflicts, and complicated family loyalties. The working-class social milieu is also familiar. You can feel Winslow, on both fronts, working what's usually Dennis Lehane's corner. In [City on Fire], though, Winslow takes a different path through the material than either Lehane or (for that matter) Mario Puzo. His hero, Danny Ryan, is anything but a young man with a pedigree, destined for great things. He's a modestly talented, modestly accomplished, modestly ambitious gangster who longs for more respect and responsibility than he gets from those he serves.

When a slight at an end-of-summer clambake spirals into open warfare between rival ethnic mobs, Danny gets a far bigger shot than he ever dreamed of: a chance to establish himself as a great leader or die in the process. Winslow makes it clear, however, that Danny isn't a Rhode Island version of Joe Coughlin, let alone Michael Corleone. He alternates between brilliant improvisations and disastrous miscalculations, sometimes supported by those closest to him and other times undermined by them for their own purposes. The book -- first in a trilogy -- ends with him achieving one of his dearest wishes, but at a terrible cost. Danny is, throughout the story, plausibly and refreshingly imperfect.

[City on Fire] is a crime story, not an extended contemplation of the human condition, but it has more going on, I think, than many reviewers on LibraryThing have given it credit for. "Loyalty" and "respect" are old, old tropes in crime stories, but Winslow finds interesting things to do with them, using them in more complicated ways than he seems to be doing at first. Danny's complicated family life, particularly his relationships with his estranged mother and quasi-adopted parents, also turn out to be more intriguing than it appears at first glance.

One of the running themes of the story is how the weight of history (personal, family, community) and the push and pull of old obligations (real or imagined) steers our lives in directions other than the ones we might choose for ourselves, given the chance. In this, as in his evocation of the Narragansett Bay fog, Winslow gets the ineffable nature of the thing perfectly right. ( )
  ABVR | Feb 17, 2024 |
This book was such an easy read for me. I love Danny's mom! What a bad ass ( )
  Krista0211 | Dec 9, 2023 |
I can imagine a reader with no familiarity with Homer and Virgil finding this a twisty and fresh take on the mob thriller--in one of the last places we haven't seen them done over and over again. Sadly, I'm not that reader. Once one is familiar with the events of Homer's Iliad and the subsequent tales of Aeneas, there is nothing surprising about anything that takes place here. All the thrills and unexpected are entirely absent. Being rewarded for being well read is not enough to ultimately save this derivative mobster tale. ( )
  JohnLocke84 | Jun 29, 2023 |
Ce roman de Don Winslow, le premier d'une trilogie, brille par son efficacité mais manque un peu de profondeur d'intrigue, surtout si on le compare à La griffe du chien, autre premier roman d'une trilogie de l'auteur. On passe néanmoins un bon moment à cette lecture qui nous plonge dans une famille mafieuse qui, par certains côté voire par certains travers, rappelle la famille Soprano, dans la série télévisée du même nom. Et, une fois le livre terminé, on a envie d'en savoir plus sur la nouvelle vie de Danny Ryan. ( )
  Patangel | May 16, 2023 |
My first book by this author. I thought the book was very good, moved along, plausible plot. I’m looking forward to the second book in the series. ( )
  highlander6022 | May 9, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 22 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Pertence a Série

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Et enfin
je vis Ilium sombrer dans ses cendres…

VIRGILE, L'Énéide Livre II
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aux victimes de la pandémie
Requiescat in pace.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Danny Ryan regarde la femme sortir de l'eau telle une vision émergeant de ses rêves d'océan.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em francês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:

New York Times Bestseller!

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of the Cartel Trilogy (The Power of the Dog, The Cartel, and The Border), The Force, and Broken comes the first novel in an epic new trilogy.

"Superb. City on Fire is exhilarating." ?? Stephen King

"Epic, ambitious, majestic, City on Fire is The Godfather for our generation." ?? Adrian McKinty, New York Times bestselling author of The Chain

Two criminal empires together control all of New England.

Until a beautiful woman comes between the Irish and the Italians, launching a war that will see them kill each other, destroy an alliance, and set a city on fire.

Danny Ryan yearns for a more "legit" life and a place in the sun. But as the bloody conflict stacks body on body and brother turns against brother, Danny has to rise above himself. To save the friends he loves like family and the family he has sworn to protect, he becomes a leader, a ruthless strategist, and a master of a treacherous game in which the winners live and the losers die.

From the gritty streets of Providence to the glittering screens of Hollywood to the golden casinos of Las Vegas, two rival crime families ignite a war that will leave only one standing. The winner will forge a dynasty.

Exploring the classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, and honor, City on Fire is a contemporary masterpiece in the tradition of The Godfather, Casino, and Goodfellas??a thrilling saga from Don Winslow, "America's greatest living crime writer" (Jon Land, Providence Journ

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Autor LibraryThing

Don Winslow é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal no LibraryThing.

página de perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.97)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 2
2.5 3
3 16
3.5 10
4 61
4.5 4
5 32

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 202,002,312 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível