Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School por…
A carregar...

The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School (original 2022; edição 2022)

por Sonora Reyes (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3491174,419 (4.21)3
Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

National Book Award Finalist * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Walter Honor Award Winner * Pura Belpré Honor Book * Lambda Literary Award Winner for LGBTQ+ Young Adult

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. Perfect for fans of Erika L. Sánchez, Leah Johnson, and Gabby Rivera.

Sixteen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very rich Catholic school. But at least here no one knows she's gay, and Yami intends to keep it that way.

After being outed by her crush and ex-best friend before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami has new priorities: keep her brother out of trouble, make her mom proud, and, most importantly, don't fall in love. Granted, she's never been great at any of those things, but that's a problem for Future Yami.

The thing is, it's hard to fake being straight when Bo, the only openly queer girl at school, is so annoyingly perfect. And smart. And talented. And cute. So cute. Either way, Yami isn't going to make the same mistake again. If word got back to her mom, she could face a lot worse than rejection. So she'll have to start asking, WWSGD: What would a straight girl do?

Told in a captivating voice that is by turns hilarious, vulnerable, and searingly honest, The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School explores the joys and heartaches of living your full truth out loud.<… (mais)

Membro:xflores731
Título:The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School
Autores:Sonora Reyes (Autor)
Informação:HarperAudio (2022)
Coleções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informação Sobre a Obra

The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School por Sonora Reyes (2022)

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 3 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Loved this! Favorite of the year! Check out the Diversity is Lit bookclub discussion to hear more of my thoughts: https://youtu.be/e2FEOXsLvuI ( )
  VanessaMarieBooks | Dec 10, 2023 |
Yamilet is a gay, Mexican American 16-year-old who’s about to start Catholic school.

She tells herself it has more to do with being there for Cesar, her genius brother one year her junior who skipped a grade and earned a scholarship, but there’s more to it. She’s also glad to start over away from ex–best friend Bianca, who outed her to their social circle. It’s not easy for Yami to lose someone she trusted as much as Bianca, especially when she feels alone and is still nursing the heartbreak of her dad’s being deported to Mexico 6 years ago. She loves her busy, hardworking, very Catholic mom, but that doesn’t mean Mami would accept her sexuality if she knew the truth. In her new, wealthy, and mostly White school, Yami immediately faces casual racism, but it’s not all bad. She also meets Bo, a Chinese American girl who has chosen the school uniform’s trousers over skirts—paired with rainbow Vans, no less—and they immediately get along. Yami likes how outspoken and confident Bo is, but she’s also intimidated by her new friend’s being an out lesbian. As their friendship blossoms into more, so do the problems with keeping who she is a secret from the world. The portrayal of found family and the threads of love and acceptance woven into this story make it a satisfying read with a hopeful ending.

A textured and gratifying novel. (author’s note) (Fiction. 13-18)
(Kirkus Reviews)
  CDJLibrary | Sep 7, 2023 |
Yamilet is transferring high schools to look out for her brother, Cesar, but to also escape her ex-best friend who outed her. He's got a scholarship. She's got to raise the money for private school tuition. She identifies as lesbian, but she isn't out and the trauma from losing her best friend and her parent's frequent homophobic comments keep her closeted. At the new school she meets Bo, and she falls in love.
The relationship between Yami and Cesar is a great sibling bond and learning to trust each other. Humor, heartbreak, and exploration of identity. ( )
  ewyatt | Jun 4, 2023 |
3.5 ( )
  Ellennewa | Jun 1, 2023 |
Sharing your love for someone is hard, sharing it with your family and the world is even harder, especially if your mom is super religious & you have to attend a Catholic HS and you have to hide that you are queer from the world. That’s what Yami has to contend with when she is sent to Slayton catholic school, where she meets Bo and falls hard, but has to pretend to be straight, after being outed by her former bff/crush. There Yami meets Bo, who is out and proud, and she must come to terms with her feelings for Bo, dealing with her brother Cesar, who had to attend Slayton for issues he had at his former school and coming to terms with her identity.

I really enjoyed this book a lot. A lot of laughs, a lot of tears, a lot of rooting for both Yami & Cesar. The book helps the reader see that Queer folk have the same issues as straight folk: falling in love, learning who your true friends are, family problems, depression…you name it. The author is sensitive to the suicidal thoughts/issues that Cesar has and warns the reader that the book deals with “racism, homophobia, the suicidal ideation and hospitalization of a character”. The scenes with Cesar, Yami and their mom after Cesar were carefully crafted in a way that the reader can feel the pain that the family goes through as they each come to terms with his attempted suicide. Thank you NetGalley for the Arc and for Ms. Reyes for an amazing book! ( )
  Z_Brarian | Dec 12, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 11 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

National Book Award Finalist * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Walter Honor Award Winner * Pura Belpré Honor Book * Lambda Literary Award Winner for LGBTQ+ Young Adult

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. Perfect for fans of Erika L. Sánchez, Leah Johnson, and Gabby Rivera.

Sixteen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very rich Catholic school. But at least here no one knows she's gay, and Yami intends to keep it that way.

After being outed by her crush and ex-best friend before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami has new priorities: keep her brother out of trouble, make her mom proud, and, most importantly, don't fall in love. Granted, she's never been great at any of those things, but that's a problem for Future Yami.

The thing is, it's hard to fake being straight when Bo, the only openly queer girl at school, is so annoyingly perfect. And smart. And talented. And cute. So cute. Either way, Yami isn't going to make the same mistake again. If word got back to her mom, she could face a lot worse than rejection. So she'll have to start asking, WWSGD: What would a straight girl do?

Told in a captivating voice that is by turns hilarious, vulnerable, and searingly honest, The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School explores the joys and heartaches of living your full truth out loud.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.21)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5 2
4 14
4.5 4
5 10

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 205,748,803 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível