Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Angels of the Resistance (2022)

por Noelle Salazar

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
708373,959 (4.46)1
Fiction. Literature. Romance. Historical Fiction. HTML:"Angels of the Resistance brings to life a deadly-effective and deeply moving sisterhood." ??Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code
From the bestselling author of The Flight Girls comes a story inspired by true events, about courageous women who risked everything for country, for family, and for each other.

Netherlands, 1940
As bombs fall across Europe, fourteen-year-old Lien Vinke fears that the reality of war is inescapable. Though she lives a quiet life with her mother and older sister, Elif, in their small town of Haarlem, they are no strangers to heartache, having recently suffered an immeasurable loss. And when the Nazis invade the Netherlands, joining the Dutch resistance with Elif offers just the atonement Lien craves.
Trained to shoot by their late father, the sisters are deadly wolves in sheep's clothing. They soon find themselves entrenched in the underground movement, forging friendships with the other young recruits, and Lien even discovers a kindred spirit in a boy named Charlie. But in wartime, emotional attachments are a liability she can't afford, especially when a deeply personal mission jeopardizes everything she holds dear??her friendships, her family, and her one shot at redemption.
"This story of two teenage sisters who risk everything to join the Dutch Resistance is a dazzling tour-de-force." ??Karen Robards, bestselling author of The Black Swan of Paris… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Two young sister lived with their mother in the Netherlands. Life has been very normal for them in Haarlem even though the rumors of war are getting stronger. In 1940, the Nazis invaded their country and life changed dramatically. Lien is 14 and wants to be part of the Resistance like her older sister. She believes that she's much braver than Elif and she desperately wants to do her part to rid her beloved country of the Germans. The resistance leaders soon realize that Lien would be a perfect courier. Because of her young age, the Nazis won't suspect her. Once the leaders find out that both sisters had been taught to shoot by their late father, their involvement becomes even more dangerous. The author goes into great detail about some of the brave missions that the sisters were part of. One of the parts of the book that I enjoyed the most was the loving relationship between the two sisters. They always tried to take care of each other no matter what was going on.

I learned in the author's notes that this book was based on two young sisters who were part of the resistance - Truus and Freddie Oversteegen. The author also added other real people to the story such as Carrie Ten Boom who lived near the sisters. This book is a beautifully written and well researched book that looks at the true exploits of two young sisters who made a difference and put their lives in danger to bring freedom to their country. ( )
  susan0316 | Jul 28, 2023 |
I have learned that evil cannot be bargained with - to destroy it, one must almost become it. Where will I be when this is all over? Will I even know who I am? — thoughts from Lien as she becomes more and more involved in the resistance.

Taken from true events, this novel will keep you awake and very observant of what is going on around you even at this time. Learning who could be trusted, how to hide in the shadows while making a difference and more importantly how to survive were lessons no parent wanted for a young lady. But during wartime, they were so very important. I found myself needing to set this story aside until the morning as the shadows started to fall around me and even the smallest noise became a distraction. What an incredible thing to have survived! War truly provides a devastating education.

This ebook was received through Harlequin and NetGalley. These thoughts and impressions are my own and were in no way solicited. ( )
  Eamace | Dec 22, 2022 |
Thank you to the author for this book. I loved the cover and can picture the sisters looking like this.

I don't give out 5 stars lightly so you know I absolutely loved this book about sisters Lien and Elif during the war in the Netherlands.

These sisters, barely in their teens, doing what they did was unbelievably brave but they wanted to do it. The missions they did and the risks they took were undeniably brave and much more more.

Now I see that they were really angels and the other characters involved too.

I love epilogues and this one was longer than the usual ones I've read in other books and it was what I hoped and expected from these now adults in their 20's I think. ( )
  sweetbabyjane58 | Dec 11, 2022 |
This is the first book I have read by Noelle Salazar, and I was blown away. It was beautifully written with wonderful characters.

Set in the Netherlands during WWII, it follows teenage sisters Elif and Lien Vinke as repressive changes come to their homeland. Their family has a history of standing up for what is right, so it is natural that the sisters become part of the Dutch Resistance. Lien also feels guilty for a tragedy that took the life of her baby sister and feels she has to help save lives now. The training they went through was grueling. They began by passing messages and forging identity cards. But they soon moved up to killing Nazi soldiers and their collaborators, blowing up railroads, and helping transport Jews and downed pilots to freedom.

Elif and Lien have an innocent look that makes them appear much younger than they really are. Their now-deceased father always called them his “angels.” Because of their appearance, they are often overlooked which aids them in their mission.

I was astounded by the courage and fortitude the Dutch Resistance members had and their loyalty to each other. It is hard to even contemplate the changes these innocent teens went through to become the brave young men and women of the Resistance. So many completely lost their childhoods, forced to grow up much too quickly.

This riveting and suspenseful book is the result of a newspaper article about the real-life Dutch sisters Truus and Freddie Oversteegen who were courageous and played a vital role in the Resistance. It is obvious that Salazar did extensive research in creating this powerful novel. She even included the Ten Boom family of whom much has been written about.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Harmel and Pam Jenoff. I highly recommend this book. ( )
  BettyTaylor56 | Dec 11, 2022 |
Lien and her older sister, Elif, are recruited to be in the Dutch resistance. Both are very young, so they are perfect for passing messages and other various forms of espionage. But, Lien struggles with the death of her young sister. She feels it is her fault so she tends to take unnecessary risks. This invariably puts everyone’s lives at stake.

I really enjoyed the setting of the Netherlands during WWII. Now, I did feel there are a good many day to day, unimportant details in this story. But, that is a minor issue. The characters and the setting kept this novel moving for me.

I loved Lien. She is one tough young lady. And her struggles just enhance the story and create a bond with the reader. She and her sister make a great team. And these two young ladies grew up on the pages of this book.

Need a unique WWII novel…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review. ( )
  fredreeca | Nov 30, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Sunlight dappled through the green leaves, scattering golden light across the blanket where I sat, my back against the trunk of a tall birch tree, while I kept watch over the Aberman children.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Literature. Romance. Historical Fiction. HTML:"Angels of the Resistance brings to life a deadly-effective and deeply moving sisterhood." ??Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code
From the bestselling author of The Flight Girls comes a story inspired by true events, about courageous women who risked everything for country, for family, and for each other.

Netherlands, 1940
As bombs fall across Europe, fourteen-year-old Lien Vinke fears that the reality of war is inescapable. Though she lives a quiet life with her mother and older sister, Elif, in their small town of Haarlem, they are no strangers to heartache, having recently suffered an immeasurable loss. And when the Nazis invade the Netherlands, joining the Dutch resistance with Elif offers just the atonement Lien craves.
Trained to shoot by their late father, the sisters are deadly wolves in sheep's clothing. They soon find themselves entrenched in the underground movement, forging friendships with the other young recruits, and Lien even discovers a kindred spirit in a boy named Charlie. But in wartime, emotional attachments are a liability she can't afford, especially when a deeply personal mission jeopardizes everything she holds dear??her friendships, her family, and her one shot at redemption.
"This story of two teenage sisters who risk everything to join the Dutch Resistance is a dazzling tour-de-force." ??Karen Robards, bestselling author of The Black Swan of Paris

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.46)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 6
4.5 2
5 5

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 201,902,122 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível