Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

Ga als een rivier por Shelley Read
A carregar...

Ga als een rivier (edição 2023)

por Shelley Read (Autor), Mieke Trouw-Luyckx (Tradutor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
23120112,292 (4.2)6
Fiction. Literature. HTML:

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Set amid Colorado's wild beauty, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story of a resilient young woman whose life is changed forever by one chance encounter. A tragic and uplifting novel of love and loss, family and survival??and hope??for readers of Great Circle, The Four Winds, and Where the Crawdads Sing.

"Beautiful . . . A striking first novel of love and strength and growth, set against the forests and rivers of Colorado's high country. Read is a gifted writer, and the book is a literary triumph."??Denver Post

"With gorgeous descriptions of the great outdoors, an illicit love story, and an unforgettable protagonist, Go as a River offers something for everyone."??Real Simple

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family's peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado??the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses.

Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland??its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations.

Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home??where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river??gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when… (mais)

Membro:janpietwijn
Título:Ga als een rivier
Autores:Shelley Read (Autor)
Outros autores:Mieke Trouw-Luyckx (Tradutor)
Informação:Amsterdam Uitgeverij Luitingh-Sijthoff © 2023
Coleções:A sua biblioteca, Lidos mas não possuídos
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:Roman

Informação Sobre a Obra

Go as a River por Shelley Read

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 6 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 20 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
A young woman meets a man on the road, dirty and a runaway, and chooses him over her previous life. Victoria had lived with men since her mother died, a brother Seth who was born angry and short-tempered, her father a man of few words and an uncle who enjoyed stirring things up and watching what happened.

It is a story that has been told time and time again. A young woman becomes pregnant, leaves home to have the baby, has to give her baby up and then spends the rest of her life dreaming and thinking of him and what he is like. It's a simple story but one made different through the context it is told in. The context for Baby Love by Jacqueline Wilson is the age of the mother, too young, I Couldn't Love you More by Esther Freud that involves the Magdalena laundries of Ireland and Claire Keegan's Small Things Like These where a man who delivers coal is surprised to find unwanted girls, one of whom is pregnant, living in a coal cellar, placed there by the nuns, and links it to his own childhood and his mother.

No matter how it is told, this is always a sad, sad story and in Go As A River it is no different. The context for this book is Colarado, the rivers, mountains and forests and the 40s and 50s where skin colour matters, particularly when the young man is Native American. It is the story of how Victoria endures all that is thrown at her and how the peach trees help her put down roots in a new place and create a new life, still with elements of the old life never forgotten.

There were parts of the book that were short on detail, for instance the birth of the child up in a mountain hut on her own and other parts that we were able to see clearly - the land, rivers and local people. It is well-written and it did make me cry towards the end but it isn't a book with any surprises. ( )
  allthegoodbooks | Nov 22, 2023 |
A beautifully written book that is perfect for end of summer season reading. The characters were complicated and thoroughly developed and the scenery was lush and I found myself craving peaches over and over again (which I realize isn’t the point of the book, but a lovely side effect for this peach loving Southerner.). ( )
  mrsgrits | Oct 19, 2023 |
Barely any dialog. Flat characters are based around a love for a man we barely know. Reads like a historical timeline. I only finished in hopes of finding out what happened. Nothing, nothing happened. Don't waste your time. ( )
  sarah_mcd | Oct 9, 2023 |
This is a lovely book that is based on some difficult and ugly themes - racism, sexism, the loss of a parent at an early age, and the literal loss of home. It is a debut novel, written with the grace and beauty of a mature writer and set around the true events of the flooding of the Gunnison River in Colorado: https://coloradosun.com/2018/12/10/iola-blue-mesa-reservoir-drought/ More about the author here: https://www.shelleyread.com/ ( )
  phyllis.shepherd | Sep 26, 2023 |
Ehdottomasti lukemisen arvoinen teos, joka tuo viime vuosilta mieleen kaksikin Yhdysvaltoihin sijoittuvaa menestyskirjaa: Suon villi laulu ja Opintiellä. Pidin kirjasta paljon aina loppulukuihin saakka, jotka kuitenkin latistivat hienoa tarinaa ja tuntuivat turhan satumaisilta ja siirappisilta tarjotessaan liian auvoisen loppuratkaisun. S. 133: "Niin jatkoin, päivän toisensa jälkeen, ja vähitellen oloni alkoi helpottaa, kun pelko väistyi jonkinlaisen luottavaisuuden tieltä. Se ei tosiaankaan tapahtunut hetkessä, ja usein kävi niin, että saatuani juuri kiinni rauhallisesta olosta pelästyin jotain outoa ääntä tai uutta myrskyä ja taannuin takaisin entiseen. Ymmärsin kuitenkin pian, että vihannesmaan laittamista, käymälän kaivamista tai päivärytmin vakiinnuttamista tärkeämpää oli oman mieleni hiljentäminen. Huolet ja pelko eivät muuttaisi tulevaisuuttani ja kohtaloani. Taivaanranta ei ehkä ollut koti, mutta olin keksinyt, miten siellä asutaan."
  TarjaRi | Sep 26, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 20 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Voor Richard en Kathryn,
mijn ouders en leidende sterren

Voor Avery en Owen,
mijn inspiratie

En voor Eric, mijn altijd
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Proloog
Stel je eens voor wat er allemaal wegkwijnt op de zwarte bodem van een meer.
Hoofstuk 1
Hij zag er niet erg aantrekkelijk uit.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Op een bepaald moment zeg je tegen de bossen,
de zee, de bergen, de wereld,
nu ben ik er klaar voor.
- Annie Dillard
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Literature. HTML:

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Set amid Colorado's wild beauty, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story of a resilient young woman whose life is changed forever by one chance encounter. A tragic and uplifting novel of love and loss, family and survival??and hope??for readers of Great Circle, The Four Winds, and Where the Crawdads Sing.

"Beautiful . . . A striking first novel of love and strength and growth, set against the forests and rivers of Colorado's high country. Read is a gifted writer, and the book is a literary triumph."??Denver Post

"With gorgeous descriptions of the great outdoors, an illicit love story, and an unforgettable protagonist, Go as a River offers something for everyone."??Real Simple

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Nash runs the household on her family's peach farm in the small ranch town of Iola, Colorado??the sole surviving female in a family of troubled men. Wilson Moon is a young drifter with a mysterious past, displaced from his tribal land and determined to live as he chooses.

Victoria encounters Wil by chance on a street corner, a meeting that profoundly alters both of their young lives, unknowingly igniting as much passion as danger. When tragedy strikes, Victoria leaves the only life she has ever known. She flees into the surrounding mountains where she struggles to survive in the wilderness with no clear notion of what her future will bring. As the seasons change, she also charts the changes in herself, finding in the beautiful but harsh landscape the meaning and strength to move forward and rebuild all that she has lost, even as the Gunnison River threatens to submerge her homeland??its ranches, farms, and the beloved peach orchard that has been in her family for generations.

Inspired by true events surrounding the destruction of the town of Iola in the 1960s, Go as a River is a story of deeply held love in the face of hardship and loss, but also of finding courage, resilience, friendship, and, finally, home??where least expected. This stunning debut explores what it means to lead your life as if it were a river??gathering and flowing, finding a way forward even when

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.2)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 7
3.5 3
4 20
4.5 5
5 22

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 197,716,892 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível