Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

School Trip (2023)

por Jerry Craft

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: New Kid (3)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
18815147,462 (3.81)2
Comic and Graphic Books. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft is back with the newest adventures of Jordan, Drew, Liam, and all the characters that fans first met in New Kid, winner of the Newbery Award and the Coretta Scott King Author Award! In this full-color contemporary graphic novel, the gang from Riverdale Academy Day is heading to Paris, for an international education like you've never seen before...

Jordan, Drew, Liam, Maury, and their friends from Riverdale Academy Day School are heading out on a school trip to Paris. As an aspiring artist himself, Jordan can't wait to see all the amazing art in the famous City of Lights.

But when their trusted faculty guides are replaced at the last minute, the school trip takes an unexpected??and hilarious??turn. Especially when trying to find their way around a foreign city ends up being almost as tricky as navigating the same friendships, fears, and differences that they struggle with at home.

Will Jordan and his friends embrace being exposed to a new language, unfamiliar food, and a different culture? Or will they all end up feeling like the "new kid"?

Don't miss the two hilarious and powerful companion novels by Jerry Craft, New Kid and Class Act!… (mais)

Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 2 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 15 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Gr 4–8—As Jordan enters his last year of middle school, he receives an acceptance letter from an art school. Does
he really want to be the new kid again? This heartfelt, must-read conclusion perfectly complements Craft’s previous
titles. Readers will be reluctant to let these characters go.
  BackstoryBooks | Apr 1, 2024 |
I loved the first 2 books in the New Kid graphic novel series and I am a big fan of Jerry Craft (yeah for winning the Newbery with a graphic novel).

The kids from Riverdale Academy go to Paris. The trip doesn't go as planned and the kids struggle at times to foreign food, culture, and language. And they all can't leave friendship struggles back at school. Some of the antics are funny while others provide important lessons for the characters as well as the reader.

Some of the plot points in the story were disjointed and seemed to be included to make a point rather than add to the characters or pace of the book. ( )
  AnnesLibrary | Jan 28, 2024 |
Representation: Black, Latino and Asian characters
Trigger warnings: N/A?
Score: Six points out of ten.
This review can also be found on The StoryGraph.

This book has been circling my recommendations for a while and when my library purchased this I got my hands on this and finally read it, oh and this is the third book in the series, the first two were New Kid and Class Act and I enjoyed them both. This one? Not so much, only because there were so many flaws. It starts with the main characters Jordan, Drew and Liam (I don't know their last names; it's been a while since I've read the last two books) living their lives which includes going to the school known as Riverdale Academy Day or RAD for short. After a few pages of that (kidding, it's like a full third or even half of the book. A true testament to its pacing,) RAD somehow has enough funds to afford a school trip to go to Paris (to be fair, it is privileged after all) for a significant section of the novel. I did like seeing all the characters I knew beforehand acclimatising to their new surroundings but I didn't like the pacing, it was too slow and sometimes I felt like nothing significant happened during some parts of the book. Also the mood of this story felt different to the previous two since they were a lot more lighthearted and even faster paced than this installment. Worst of all was that one message where the book said thumbs down are bad but you can do a thumbs down if something is wrong? So confusing. Why did the novel contradict itself? I'm not sure if this is the final book in the series or another book coming soon, if it's the former, that left a sour taste but if it's the latter which I'm hoping for maybe the author can redeem himself. The cameos made me do a double take. They're not as funny as the cameos in the second book though. ( )
  Law_Books600 | Dec 29, 2023 |
The middle schoolers of Riverdale Academy School get an amazing opportunity to travel in small groups, with many of the tweens taking off for Paris, France. There they notice cultural differences, not only between themselves and the French people but also among themselves.

This third book in the New Kid series is another hit. As with the previous titles, it balances difficult topics (such as bullying, racism, and more) with humor (such as zingy one-liners, visual gags, and more) so that it always manages to stay lighthearted while providing positive messages about doing the right thing, being a true friend, learning to cross cultural boundaries correctly, and so on. ( )
  sweetiegherkin | Aug 21, 2023 |
Jordan and his classmates are off on a school trip to Paris. In this third of the New Kid series, we see the nerdy Maury flourish as the group's guide and financial fixer; he's very familiar with Paris and his credit card buys the kids' meals when their teachers' cards are declined. The kids finally call out Andy on his jokester ways and potentially set him straight. Jordan continues to bond with his buddies Liam and Drew. And the trip is a revelation of possibilities for everyone. There are Easter eggs galore in this volume, including plays on famous store names, references to the first two books, digs at book banning, and a drawn-out book-ending tribute to Raina Telgemeier (but also see Alexandra's t-shirt). I suspect there are a number of inside-joke Easter eggs, too! Fans of New Kid and Class Act will be on board for this final adventure of the RAD kids. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Jun 23, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 15 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Jerry Craftautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Bittner, DanNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Bullock, NileNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Butler, RonNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Guest, Kim MaiNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Harvey, MilesNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
LaVoy, JanuaryNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Lilien, KaianNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Lockard, GuyNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Miles, RobinNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Soler, RebeccaNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Strole, PhoebeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Tarrant, DerejeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Thompson, MarcNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence a Série

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Don't be a thumbs-downer!
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
As the final chapter of my junior high school life comes to an end, there's much that I'm hoping for . . . or AM I?
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Comic and Graphic Books. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Humor (Fiction.) HTML:

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft is back with the newest adventures of Jordan, Drew, Liam, and all the characters that fans first met in New Kid, winner of the Newbery Award and the Coretta Scott King Author Award! In this full-color contemporary graphic novel, the gang from Riverdale Academy Day is heading to Paris, for an international education like you've never seen before...

Jordan, Drew, Liam, Maury, and their friends from Riverdale Academy Day School are heading out on a school trip to Paris. As an aspiring artist himself, Jordan can't wait to see all the amazing art in the famous City of Lights.

But when their trusted faculty guides are replaced at the last minute, the school trip takes an unexpected??and hilarious??turn. Especially when trying to find their way around a foreign city ends up being almost as tricky as navigating the same friendships, fears, and differences that they struggle with at home.

Will Jordan and his friends embrace being exposed to a new language, unfamiliar food, and a different culture? Or will they all end up feeling like the "new kid"?

Don't miss the two hilarious and powerful companion novels by Jerry Craft, New Kid and Class Act!

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5
3 4
3.5 2
4 7
4.5 2
5 7

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 208,393,081 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível