Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Prom Queen

por Laura Wolfe

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões
812,156,989 (5)Nenhum(a)
"Twenty years ago, someone murdered my best friend the night she was crowned prom queen. Now I'm finally going to prove it... After Bailey died, I fled our small lakeside hometown and never returned. But now I'm forced back here and I can't avoid the constant whispers about our prom night, the suspicious looks of the people I grew up with. Then I bump into a woman in a coffee shop and my eyes are drawn to the silver locket around her neck, glinting in the sunlight. My blood runs cold. I know it's Bailey's-she never took it off. And it's been missing since the night she died. The shock of seeing it again jolts me back to that terrible night: Bailey under the glittering lights, blowing kisses to a crowd glaring furiously back at her. Bailey wasn't supposed to be prom queen-and someone made her pay for it. Officially her death was ruled a tragic accident, but I knew better. I've never seen this woman before, so why does she have my best friend's necklace? There has to be a reason, and this time I'll stop at nothing to find out what really happened to Bailey the night she died. Everyone in this town has secrets. But as I edge closer to the truth, I'm afraid of what lengths they'll go to protect them... A gripping psychological thriller with a twist that will make your jaw drop, perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, The Wife Between Us and Lisa Jewell."… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced reading copy of Prom Queen in exchange for an honest review.

Wow. What a mind bending read. There were so many things I loved about this book.

1. I loved our main character and narrator Brooke. She was incredibly relatable and hard not to like. She was the quirky, artsy, non-popular, girl-next-door that you may have been friends with or may have been yourself.

2. This was one book where a jumping timeline between past and present really worked wonders for the plot and kept me guessing over who had "murdered" (maybe? or was it really a suicide?) her ex-best friend from high school. You find out so much that happened by the older timeline, while current Brooke works to figure out a. if her friend was murdered in the first place, b. if she was, then who did it, and c. who is leaving her these creepy threatening notes. Along with worrying the a podcaster that came to town might blow up her life.

3. The podcaster section of the story. This is something I've seen in A LOT of books lately (and have gotten a little bored by), but Wolfe managed to make it both a central, yet more so supporting part of the mystery. It wasn't what the story was about, which was refreshing, and just added another investigative piece to the puzzle.

4. THE TWISTS. Can we talk about how this was a thriller in which I never saw the ending coming. There of course were hints along the way, and maybe some of you readers will see them more clearly than me....but I never predicted the ending at all. In fact, I had a thousand other ideas of who might have been the murderer. Never guessed it....and I like to think that as an English teacher, I have a knack for picking up on foreshadowing. Not this time.

10/10 this was a seriously fast read. I started it yesterday and managed to finish within 24 hours. I could not put it down, and could not stop wondering what happened. Highly recommend. ( )
  elinorrigby66 | Oct 8, 2023 |
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Twenty years ago, someone murdered my best friend the night she was crowned prom queen. Now I'm finally going to prove it... After Bailey died, I fled our small lakeside hometown and never returned. But now I'm forced back here and I can't avoid the constant whispers about our prom night, the suspicious looks of the people I grew up with. Then I bump into a woman in a coffee shop and my eyes are drawn to the silver locket around her neck, glinting in the sunlight. My blood runs cold. I know it's Bailey's-she never took it off. And it's been missing since the night she died. The shock of seeing it again jolts me back to that terrible night: Bailey under the glittering lights, blowing kisses to a crowd glaring furiously back at her. Bailey wasn't supposed to be prom queen-and someone made her pay for it. Officially her death was ruled a tragic accident, but I knew better. I've never seen this woman before, so why does she have my best friend's necklace? There has to be a reason, and this time I'll stop at nothing to find out what really happened to Bailey the night she died. Everyone in this town has secrets. But as I edge closer to the truth, I'm afraid of what lengths they'll go to protect them... A gripping psychological thriller with a twist that will make your jaw drop, perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, The Wife Between Us and Lisa Jewell."

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Autor LibraryThing

Laura Wolfe é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal no LibraryThing.

página de perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 204,197,821 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível