Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Saving the Queen

por William F. Buckley, Jr.

Outros autores: David Niven (Prefácio)

Séries: Blackford Oakes (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
296767,135 (3.5)6
Blackford Oakes is Yale's answer to James Bond. In this Cold War thriller, Oakes is sent abroad to penetrate England's royal circle and save the new Queen, after the CIA traces the leak of vital military secrets directly to the Queen's chambers.
Nenhum(a)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 6 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Typical Buckley: many fancy words, too long. Story OK, but padded. ( )
  annbury | Jun 10, 2020 |
This is the first in William Buckley's series of spy novels, and it starts the series off with a bang. The evocation of time and place are brilliant, the characters are engaging, and the plot is compelling. Buckley was of course an extraordinary writer, but he also had CIA experience to bring to bear. Finding this novel was a treat for me -- there are ten more in the series! ( )
  annbury | Apr 27, 2020 |
Summary: The first of Buckley's Blackford Oakes espionage novels, covering his recruitment to the CIA and first mission, to ferret out the person high up in British government betraying atomic secrets to the Soviet Union.

Most people know William F. Buckley, Jr. as the founder of the National Review, for his witty and erudite conversations on Firing Line, and maybe for his God and Man at Yale. Inspired by Frederick Forsyth's The Day of the Jackal, he decided to try his hand at the spy novel, creating Blackford Oakes, a Yale graduate, World WW II fighter pilot, breaker of rules and conventions who is recruited into the CIA. Saving the Queen is the first of eleven novels that Buckley wrote in this genre. Now, thanks to a collaborative arrangement between Mysterious Press and Open Road Media, the whole series is once again available.

The novel is framed by Oakes being subpoened to testify about the Agency during a congressional witch hunt. Will he tell he truth and possibly betray national secrets and personal friends? Will he "take the Fifth" and bring suspicion down upon himself? Here, as in his life growing up and first mission, Oakes finds a way to go outside the rules.

It began at Greyburn, a British boys school where he lasted only weeks, before a humorous and belittling drawing of a teacher, and a beating by the headmaster in front of his friend, Anthony Trust, results in his willing departure from the school. A brief but successful flight career, studies at Yale, along with time in France and family in London make him an ideal CIA candidate, recruited by his old friend trust.

After his initial training, he learns of his assignment, to insinuate himself into the top circles of British royal life, to discover who it is around young Queen Caroline, who is betraying atomic secrets to the Russians. His cover is as an engineer working for an American foundation. He succeeds beyond his handlers' expectations, first getting invited to a reception where he meets the Queen, who is taken by his tongue in cheek repartee. An invitation to Windsor Castle follows, ostensibly to examine engineering drawings in Windsor's archives. Just how far he succeeds in achieving intimacy with the Queen and her circle, I will leave to the reader, but he discovers the source of the leaks, a relative close to the Queen, who uses her to gain access to the secrets he is passing along to the Russians.

One of his handlers is "Rufus," a legendary operative from the World War II era. As Rufus ponders Oakes intelligence, he recognizes the explosive potential of this revelation, which could bring down the Queen and the throne, unless a way could be found to eliminate the source. In the climax to the novel, Oakes, whose own cover may be compromised, is called upon to finish the job, possibly losing his own life in the process.

Bond, a Catholic and a conservative, is no prude. This is an adult novel, in the vein of Ian Fleming's, Bond. Oakes seems a kind of American counterpart, with perhaps a greater shrewdness and less gadgetry. I suspect their are future Blackford Oakes books in my life. At very least, there are a couple more on my Kindle! ( )
1 vote BobonBooks | Jan 23, 2018 |
We inherited several books in this series, and have had them on the teetering TBR Pile. I finally determined that this year, I'd at least read the 1st one and see if it was worth keeping the rest. I'm hooked. Blackford Oakes is a spoiled, wealthy, handsome, very bright Yale graduate with a chip on his shoulder. Recruited by the CIA at the height of the Cold war, his adventures saving the fictional British Queen Caroline from making a fool of herself is rather James Bondish, but high class nonetheless. Tightly plotted, it introduces a cast of characters I'm sure we're going to meet in the books ahead, and each of them is someone I look forward to seeing again.
Although they are dated, reading them as historical fiction is still enjoyable. ( )
1 vote tututhefirst | Dec 7, 2015 |
This was a fun and one of the best Blackford Oakes CIA operatives books. He is sent to Great Britain to track down a spy who is giving nuclear secrets to the Soviets this was a well written, fun and good character mysteries. I do wish it was still in print.

***I received this book in return for an honest review *** ( )
  druidgirl | Nov 20, 2015 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
William F. Buckley, Jr.autor principaltodas as ediçõescalculated
Niven, DavidPrefácioautor secundáriotodas as ediçõesconfirmado

Belongs to Series

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For F. Reid Buckley exculpa me quod minxi in formam quam magnifice perfecisti
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
His friends, his closest professional friends, were there at dinner in part because they weren't the type of people you have to tell it was time to leave.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (2)

Blackford Oakes is Yale's answer to James Bond. In this Cold War thriller, Oakes is sent abroad to penetrate England's royal circle and save the new Queen, after the CIA traces the leak of vital military secrets directly to the Queen's chambers.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.5)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 11
3.5 8
4 13
4.5 1
5 6

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 157,746,368 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível