Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

Replay (1986)

por Ken Grimwood

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaDiscussões / Menções
3,3221393,929 (4.13)1 / 124
A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd made before?" Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win-and lose-everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination.… (mais)
  1. 120
    Time and Again por Jack Finney (Kichererbse, browner56, sturlington)
    browner56: Both of these are well-written stories that deal with the concept of time travel in an interesting way.
  2. 133
    The Time Traveler's Wife por Audrey Niffenegger (hyper7, ahstrick, HoudeRat)
  3. 100
    11/22/63 por Stephen King (SJaneDoe, dltj, HoudeRat)
    dltj: Shares a similar plot line that covers part of the same time period, and "Replay" even includes a story fragment about November 22, 1963.
  4. 70
    The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August por Claire North (Alirob, BeckyJG)
    BeckyJG: A protagonist who lives his life over and over, remembering the entirety of it each time, with the opportunity to do things differently, as well.
  5. 30
    Life After Life por Kate Atkinson (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: Life after Life and Replay feature characters who live multiple lives against their wills; the complications of dying and coming back to life form the core of each novel and create moving, sometimes funny, always thought-provoking situations.… (mais)
  6. 42
    O dia do juízo final por Connie Willis (Kichererbse)
  7. 10
    Rollback por Robert J. Sawyer (anxovert)
  8. 10
    A Shortcut in Time por Charles Dickinson (GirlMisanthrope)
  9. 11
    The Post-Birthday World por Lionel Shriver (amysisson)
    amysisson: Another, very different examination on where our choices take us in life.
  10. 00
    Regression por Kathy Bell (infiniteletters)
  11. 00
    Flight por Sherman Alexie (PghDragonMan)
    PghDragonMan: Reincarnation to learn a Life Lesson joins these works
  12. 00
    Before I Fall por Lauren Oliver (jordil2)
  13. 12
    Job: A Comedy of Justice por Robert A. Heinlein (Kichererbse)
  14. 01
    Os Sonhos de Einstein por Alan Lightman (Daimyo)
  15. 03
    The Book of Skulls por Robert Silverberg (ostgut)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

» Ver também 124 menções

Inglês (133)  Francês (4)  Catalão (1)  Japonês (1)  Todas as línguas (139)
Mostrando 1-5 de 139 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Quick Review: THAT was not what I expected at all. Wow, what a ride! ( )
  CADesertReader | Mar 4, 2024 |
Really a 5.5/10. Well done and everything, but strikingly unoriginal. This type of story is part of modern culture, sufficiently similar to Slaughterhouse Five (1969), Groundhog's Day, and The Time-Traveler's Wife. This version is probably the weakest out of all of them, despite being the most different. For instance, the romance in The Time-Traveler's Wife was extremely potent, markedly distinguished from the matter-of-fact relationship in "Reply".
Not terribly recommended, except if you literally run out of all other books. Was surprised to see it included in the Fantasy Masterworks collection. ( )
  MXMLLN | Jan 12, 2024 |
Great premise. Starts off promising and chugs along nicely. But about 75% in it slows way down and meanders. It gets tangled in things that have nothing to do with the premise. The secondary character, Pam, is not as developed and fully flushed out. I didbt care at all about her. Jeff I Liked. The narrator was good, but needs a few more accents to improve the overall feel of the characters. He also needs to learn how to pronounce certain names. Its is not Joe Pepitonee. It is Joe Pepitone. Short e, not long ( )
  BenM2023 | Nov 22, 2023 |
Considered the original long form Groundhog day story before the Bill Murray/Harold Ramis movie. (there was a short story which predated it as well) A quick read, similar to All you Need is Kill. Enjoyable, though with a bit too much sexual content for my liking. But a nice focus on building authentic relationships. Interesting view. Some threads and ideas which are not developed. Apparently Grimwood was planning a sequel (an epilogue seems to give an opening for one), before he passed away. Wonder if somehow it would be published. I would probably read it.
  robkoechl | Oct 27, 2023 |
Despite being an early take on the now oversaturated reliving life genre, this was unexpectedly fresh. It doesn't make the mistake of getting bogged down in minutiae or trying to bullshit about the metaphysics of the scenario itself. In a Groundhog Day fashion that's not the point. Rather it's the meditation on the roads not travelled that shines; a plausible and very human set of reactions and counter reactions to having an opportunity to do it all again, starting with the usual responses to this hypothesis ("if I knew what was gonna happen I'd make millions on betting and the markets"), and letting that play out as the ultimately empty hedonistic fantasy it is. There's a lot of life philosophy at work behind the repeated lives, but not in a preachy way. ( )
  A.Godhelm | Oct 20, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 139 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

Pertence à Série da Editora

Tem um guia de estudo para estudantes

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For my mother and father
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Jeff Winston was on the phone with his wife when he died.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The future: hideous plagues, a revolution in sexual attitudes achieved and then reversed, triumph and tragedy in space, city streets haunted by null-eyed punks in leather and chains and spiked pink hair, death-beams in orbit around the polluted, choking earth...Christ, Jeff thought with a shudder, from this viewpoint his world sounded like the most nightmarish of science fiction.
"Chateaugay, at eleven-to-one odds.
He sold the Chevy, his books, stereo, and record collection....
...Now he had to place a bet, a large one. But how?"
All life includes loss. It's taken me many, many years to learn to deal with that, and I don't expect I'll ever be fully resigned to it. But that doesn't mean we have to turn away from the world, or stop striving for the best that we can do and be. We owe that much to ourselves, at least, and we deserve whatever measure of good may come of it.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Rowland Damaris is NOT the author of Replay, Ken Grimwood is.
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd made before?" Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win-and lose-everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.13)
0.5
1 8
1.5 2
2 31
2.5 14
3 166
3.5 69
4 334
4.5 67
5 418

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 204,127,466 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível