Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

One Second After

por William R. Forstchen

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

Séries: John Matherson (1)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,3621396,399 (3.61)78
Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon??the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)??which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end… (mais)

  1. 00
    Life as We Knew It por Susan Beth Pfeffer (deslivres5)
    deslivres5: YA novel details family life from a teenagers perspective after a comet throws the moon off its axis.
  2. 00
    Alas, Babylon por Pat Frank (sturlington)
    sturlington: Alas, Babylon influenced One Second After.
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 78 menções

Inglês (137)  Alemão (1)  Sueco (1)  Todas as línguas (139)
Mostrando 1-5 de 139 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
Geez, that darn ending... ( )
  atrillox | Nov 27, 2023 |
This book grabbed on and didn't let go until I closed it. If you think you are ready for whatever may come down the pike at you, reading this book will make you re-evaluate your preparedness.

The characters are well written, and the subject matter well researched.

I'm not sure if I will read the other 2 in the trilogy, mainly because I don't want to be disappointed. ( )
  Melline | Oct 24, 2023 |
Riveting. Spine-chilling and sobering tale of just how fragile our technology based civilization has become. ( )
  eric.maynard | May 21, 2023 |
So realistic, scary, hopeful, outstanding! Highly recommended! Have tissues handy! Everyone should read! I want the entire series.

FROM BARNES & NOBLE: A post-apocalyptic thriller of the after effects in the United States after a terrifying terrorist attack using electromagnetic pulse weapons.

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end. ( )
  Gmomaj | Dec 15, 2022 |
Absolutely fantastic book about what might happen in the wake of an EMP strike. Compelling, fast-paced, and heart-wrenching. ( )
  silva_44 | Dec 12, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 139 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
William R. Forstchenautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Barrett, JoeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Gingrich, NewtPrefácioautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Sanders, William D.Posfácioautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence a Série

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For my daughter, Megan Marie Forstchen...and for those who protect her, that she may grow up in peace. And for my father, John Joseph Forstchen, who taught me what should truly be valued in life.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
John Matherson lifted the plastic bag off the counter.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon??the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)??which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (3.61)
0.5 3
1 33
1.5 4
2 68
2.5 13
3 135
3.5 42
4 256
4.5 12
5 148

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 201,927,409 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível